2002 Vauxhall Vectra LS 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great motor. Well done Vauxhall!!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I've ever owned.

Standard equipment is good. Air Conditioning, CD Player etc.

It is a far more comfortable car to drive in comparison to my 1.4 Escort I had previously.

No complaints what so ever!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2003

7th Dec 2009, 17:13

I am just about to buy the 2004 Vectra 1.8 16V LS.

Just wondered how long did you own the car? Since you are not complaining??? :)

Quite a few people are not happy with Vectra, and the famous hand brake...

2002 Vauxhall Vectra 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Average car for an average price tag

Faults:

The electronic system is a bit screwy. The engine light will come on and go off for no apparent reason. The dealer can't seem to find the fault.

General Comments:

The heating system it terrible on the car. It takes about 10 minutes before the heater will blow warm air. The heated seats also take forever to warm.

The car is underpowered and seems to hesitate when the throttle is pushed to the floor.

Average gas mileage.

Lots or room which is why I turned this car over to my wife. Its easy to get the kids in and out. I've gone back to my old Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2003

2002 Vauxhall Vectra LS (old model estate) 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

V6 style power and smoothness

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

This car is amazingly powerful, it feels like a 2.3-litre. Very smooth and quiet for a repmobile.

I like:

Quietness, power, sound system, wing-mirrors.

I dislike:

Repmobile image, fuel economy when pushed, seats, when car is stationery and running, the engine is noisy and vibrates, so-so heating system, dull.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

2002 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 130 Dual fuel 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not to be touched with a barge pole!

Faults:

Pully V belt and pulley have been replaced; faulty and causing noise.

Cam belt and tensioner replaced; faulty and causing noise.

Lumbar support replaced; faulty and causing noise.

Seat base replaced; faulty and causing noise.

Seat runners lubricated; causing noise.

Indicator stalk replaced - broken.

Front section of exhaust, blowing and replaced.

LPG electronic control unit re-mapped.

Main electronic control unit replaced.

Crank shaft sensor replaced.

Old style spark plugs replaced.

Driver's side electric window faulty. Repaired four times - still faulty.

Continual misfire on number 2 cylinder - investigation still being carried out.

Cutting out on LPG.

New style injectors fitted.

General Comments:

This is a lease vehicle and has a full warranty so luckily It does not cost me anything.

I would never, ever, EVER buy another car from this manufacturer.

The car is absolutely terrible. Sluggish and underpowered.

The interior is comfortable and there is a good general specification.

However, it has been in the garage more times than it has been on the road and I am currently in negotiations with the lease company to replace the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

28th Dec 2002, 12:03

Oh dear, I was about to purchase a dual fuel Vectra until I read this! Perhaps someone could direct me to a dedicated website where current owners/drivers of these vehicles can contact each other. Alan.

16th Jan 2004, 08:00

Don't be put off by one bad review - my Dad has been driving a 2001 Vectra SRi 150 for 3 years and 50,000 miles and it's been very reliable with no major faults.

26th Mar 2008, 01:57

My 2004 vectra duel fuel failed me yesterday. The dealer said that the fuel pump has farted (failed?) and will need to be replaced. I will report back on the cost later. I'm bracing myself!

20th Jul 2008, 10:24

I have a 1997 1.7 vauxall vectra diesel window on off side is dangerous it keeps going wrong it costs £120 each time any ideas roger.