2000 Vauxhall Zafira Reviews

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Club 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2014
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired111265 miles
Most recent distance111863 miles

Summary:

I will never buy one again

Faults:

I bought the car a week ago, very comfortable and spacious. When I used it one day on the motorway, it starting showing oil light on, then going up a hill (not very big though) it started losing power and still does now. Tried the ECU, cam sensor and still don't know what's wrong with it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2014

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A pile of crap that should be scrapped

Faults:

Cutting out at junctions and roundabouts.

Kangarooing while driving.

Cylinders going.

General Comments:

It appears I'm not alone with my problem car (Zafira). I cannot afford to repair or replace the faulty parts

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd March, 2009

20th Apr 2009, 14:49

I couldn't agree more! We've had ours for 4.5 years and ended up spending close to £4000 in repairs! Worst car I've ever owned.

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles

Faults:

Timing chain has just gone.

General Comments:

We have had this car from new with regular services, and have always used the local Vauxhall garage. It was only serviced two months ago, and luckily we were stationary when the timing belt went.

We will fight this with Vauxhall - quoted £1400 to repair. If we had been traveling rather than stationary at the time, it would meant a new engine.

Look at the Telegraph Honest John web site. Vauxhall Zafira 2.2 litre engine was modified in 2002 as there was a timing chain lubrication problem. I am sure Vauxhall garages are aware of this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2008

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Vauxhall!!

Faults:

Having read all the comments elsewhere on this site, I am planning on selling my car that I have only owed for 2 months.

Main reason for this is not only the fuel gauge that is "RANDOM" again around the 1/4 mark, but after having this car for two weeks, I've ended up with the dreaded ECU light on all the time, and the car running rough and stalling.

After a trip to the garage, I was told the airflow meter had shot it. After buying one new off ebay "no good", then one second hand from a breaker "no good", I did a bit of googling and after about 2 hours found someone with same fault; if you get fault P0100 and p0110 (air flow meter & air temp sensor), before buying any parts, try running a new earth wire to the yellow wire on the plug to the air flow meter. After doing this it ran fine.

Hope this helps someone solve a problem cause it did my head in for about two weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2008

2nd Jun 2008, 11:41

Hiya, we had our Zafira for a diagnostic test and it came back with a number of codes. They did mention the EGR valve, and the cheapest I've seen it for is about £55 in p+p from shops on eBay. However a friend of the family works for Vauxhall Evans Halshaw, and told us that we needed to buy a BLANKING GASKET, this tells the computer that there is no EGR valve and the resets the system and the car runs perfect. It cost us £30 and the car is mint, all the warning lights have gone off, no more loss of power at junctions, no kangaroo jumps.

I'm now a proud owner of a ZAFIRA. It's an ongoing fault with Zafiras, and by doing this it'll save you hundreds.

Good luck all.

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFiat Ulysse

Summary:

Frustrating - could have been so good

Faults:

(2004) Power Sounder failed not long after we purchased the car (2003), replaced under extended warranty.

Failed window motor, replaced under extended warranty (2004)

2005 - Total failure of central locking (caused by the wiring harness into rear offside passenger door fraying). This caused the Control Unit and 3 door actuator motors to burn out. Cost £650 to repair.

2006 - Powersounder has failed again (after a further 18 months) causes a real nuisance with intermittent alarms. I now have to disconnect the car battery when the car is parked at home e.g. overnight.

General Comments:

Roomy, clever design, well-equipped, pleasant to drive... but an electrical nightmare.

Currently, the one-shot window feature works intermittently, so I suspect another wiring loom fault. Clearly bad quality control or poor manufacture of components.

This is rapidly turning into the worst car that we have EVER owned (and we've had a few). The Fiat Ulysse (N Reg) was built like a Rolls in comparison.

Thankfully, my other car is a BMW which just keeps going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2006

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews