2000 Vauxhall Zafira Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 1.8 16v petrol from Azerbaijan

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Practical, economical, versatile

Faults:

Starter motor died @ 86K.

All brake disks needed replacing @ 88K.

Has always had intermittent EML flashing.

General Comments:

I'm used to Omegas, so the driver's seat feels too small, like a deckchair.

Low gearing makes for decent acceleration considering engine size, but rather noisy motorway cruising @ 80.

All black interior rather gloomy; but 'flex 7' seating design very good.

Good economy for a car of this weight- 40 mpg plus on a run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

2000 Vauxhall Zafira club ltd edition 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

As above

Faults:

None, picked up on Friday morning fitted a roof box and drove to Brittany on Tuesday. decent fuel consumption. 4 adults and 1 child in good comfort for a 2000 mile round trip.

General Comments:

Very good family car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 2.0 Tdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Tdi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Zafira

Summary:

I love it, but not again

Faults:

Wiring loom problem where the interior lights would not go out. The light problem was rectified, but a permanent radio interference is audible.

The turbo has stopped working four times due to engine management system defects.

Excessive oil usage, one litre per 1000 miles and difficult to check as it takes a good while for the oil to settle in the sump which can lead to overfilling if caught unawares.

Intermittent starting problem still not diagnosed, but recorded over the last 30000 miles.

Absolute loss of power, the engine runs, but will not pull the vehicle in third gear. Not yet diagnosed after two weeks.

General Comments:

One of the best MPV layouts for a family.

Vauxhall need to pull their mechanical side up - this is one of their fleet hire vehicles on a full maintenance contract.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

28th Nov 2003, 07:25

General opinion on the 'net and elsewhere is that this engine has to be run in 'properly' or they burn lots of oil for ever. By 'properly' I mean given the full rev. range regularly after the first few hundred miles.

19th Jun 2006, 05:40

My petrol Zafira guzzles OIL. It is hard to check it also, our driveway steep is on a hill. Ours' uses about half a litre approx' every 1000 miles, sometimes more. It is really poor.

I would not like to think I had to drive over to the continent, it would probably seize on-route.

4th Jul 2006, 20:10

I've read many similar comments about excessive oil use, but my experience is that I've barely had to top my 2001 petrol model up at all in over two years of ownership. My old Mondeo used far more.

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Very flexible, perfect if you have kids, buy the 1.8 or 2.0

Faults:

At 5000 miles I had to top the oil up with 2Ltr of Oil.

Fan switch burnt out.

Back seat latch very hard to operate.

At 36000 I have a very loud rumble from the front end.

Carpets are in-possible to keep clean.

General Comments:

Putting the faults aside it is a very versatile car. At the Minute I would struggle to replace it with another Make that is as flexible. Loads of space when required, or 7 seats when required.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

2000 Vauxhall Zafira 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance38750 miles
Previous carRenault Megane

Summary:

Fantastic family car

Faults:

So far nothing major (in 3 months of ownership). The central locking on both keys was not working when purchased, but I was assured they would be on collection. They were, but have failed twice.

I have run out of petrol and had a couple of near misses due to the petrol indicator suddenly going from a quarter of a tank to empty.

Compartments poor quality eg first aid cover falls off frequently.

General Comments:

I love the car though, and so do the kids. My husband doesn't like the look of it though I think the practicality makes up for its boring look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2003

2000 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Faults:

Doors started to rattle, but were easily cured by a squirt of oil in the lock mechanism.

Wipers did not fully cover the screen, but were cured by fitting new type linkage under warranty.

General Comments:

For a 1.6 in such a large car, the performance is excellent.

Versatility of the space is just what I needed to carry large model aircraft one day, then passengers the next.

Nothing has gone wrong and no spares yet required. Only one service at 20000 miles.

Gives about 32 miles per gallon locally and 40 on long runs at 70 mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

15th Mar 2005, 21:50

I also have a Zafira and have similar problem with wipers not covering all of the windscreen.

However my dealership has said that there is nothing that can be done to rectify this, and that it as a result of left-hand drive design.

Any more information on this 'new linkage' would be greatly appreciated.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews