2002 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

It does everything well

Faults:

Rear brakes made a noise when applied during reversing.

General Comments:

For the size of the car, and considering the higher than normal centre of gravity, it drives astonishingly fast, can cope with all road surfaces, and is amazingly flexible with the seating / load area.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

2002 Vauxhall Zafira Club 2.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A very good adaptable family car

Faults:

Calipers on rear brakes required adjusting.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable. The flex 7 seating arrangement is excellent. The 2.0 litre diesel engine is very economical and pulls well with a full load. The internal and external finish on the Club version is perfectly adequate. This vehicle is a very good family car. It is also a good workhorse for carrying heavy and awkward items due to the very large boot. I have no complaints about the running of the car or the dealership from where I bought it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2003

3rd Jul 2009, 21:05

I purchased my 2002 Zafira 20ltr TDi at six months old with 10,000 miles on the clock, It has been a great work horse, tow car, dustbin, removal van, overnight hotel, Now seven years later and 119000 miles on the clock, I can say honestly the only things that required attention was two sets of tyres and two sets of brakes. regular servicing of the engine oil and filter every ten thousand one fuel filter and one cabin filter would I have another "you bet you life I would"

2002 Vauxhall Zafira Club 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An excellent family car, don't expect more

Faults:

There is no where to keep the storage cover when the rear 2 seats are up.

Limited space when the seats are up.

General Comments:

Coming down in engine size from a 2.5V6 Omega, fuel economy is great. You still get good pick up for a 1.6, even when its full.

Air-conditioning is excellent and standard on all versions.

Raised seating is brilliant and more than makes up for the blind spot the front triangular windows create.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2002

5th Jun 2003, 14:27

The reviewer states:

"There is no where to keep the storage cover when the rear 2 seats are up."

Oh, but there is! Just remove one of the side covers to the rear side compartments, and then one end of the rear cover will slot into that 'hole' allowing the whole thing to stand at an angle. It works, I've done it.

Tim.

25th Mar 2005, 01:37

Load cover... thank you, we have struggled with the thing up until reading your review.

Problem solved, we have had it stuck down the middle of the rear most seats, not very comfortable for those traveling in the 'gods'.

2002 Vauxhall Zafira Club 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A squeaky old crock

Faults:

Squealing brakes which make a noise as you pull away after braking. In the first two months of owning the car it has been in the service bay 5 times for the same problem and they still haven't fixed it. The pads have been changed 3 times, the calipers once, the brake disks once and the handbrake adjusted once.

The glove box also falls open for no apparent reason, fortunately its design prevents things from falling out.

I would not recommend this car to anyone.

General Comments:

I like the high seating position which makes it easy for people with a disability or general mobility problems to get in and out of.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

11th Oct 2002, 01:38

How can you give 9.10 for reliability when you have been back to garage 5 times.

2002 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An excellent mid range buy for those who want a comfortable car with loads of room

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

After a great deal of discussion, following the birth of our daughter my wife and I decided to move into the MPV market. While we were more than happy with my previous car (Ford Focus estate - my wife has a Ford Ka) we found that babies do not travel lightly and the Focus was stretched to accommodate the various paraphernalia she required on our travels.

We spent a couple of months exploring the market by visiting car show rooms, websites and reading reviews. The indications all pointed to the Zafira as our best option. After test driving a Comfort, we decided to go for the Zafira, but were not overly impressed with the equipment levels in the basic Club or middle range Comfort models. However, the higher spec Elegance with the options we wanted (metallic paint, tinted windows and cruise control) came in at about £18.5k - a bit more than we wanted to spend.

The solution turned out to be buying the car through an internet based company rather than a dealership. This was much easier than I thought; it gave us the car and spec we wanted while saving us almost £4k.

After two months of ownership, and driving the car under a variety of conditions from rural roads to urban motorways, I can say that we are pleased with the car's performance, economy, versatility and comfort levels.

The 1.8 engine is responsive and more than adequate for the loads we lug around. It is a bit noisier at speed, but not as noisy as the Focus under similar conditions.

Fuel use appears to be about the same as the Focus, but the tank is bigger and so I fill up less often.

In terms of versatility, the Zafira is far ahead of any car I have had previously. We have fitted six people in the car comfortably, though luggage space was limited in these circumstances. We have managed to fit in luggage, buggy, travel carry cot and high chair plus a few smaller bits and pieces while still retaining 5 seats. Finally, we have helped friends clear out their house, using the Zafira like a van.

On comfort levels, I like the driving position, but find the seats less comfortable than the Focus, though certainly not uncomfortable. The interior finish is a little dated and could easily be improved by Vauxhall/Opel with a little imagination. I have to say that getting tinted windows and cruise control as options were, for me, well worth the extra expense and both add significantly to comfort.

All in all, a sound car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002