2008 Vauxhall Zafira Life 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The Easytronic version is a step back in time

Faults:

In automatic the gear change is appallingly jolting.

On a hill in a traffic queue recently, the car rolled backwards when I tried to move forward! The car behind was startled to say the least!

This happened each time I tried to move forward (twice).

I had to use both feet to hold the brake and gas pedals to move the car forward, as I had tried everything else!

General Comments:

Having owned an automatic for 12 years before the 'Zafira Easytronic', and having never been let down once, I would never buy an 'Easytronic' again.

In every other respect I like the car very much. It's super comfy, spacious, and a nice ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd June, 2011

24th Jun 2011, 14:08

Use the handbrake, that's what it's for - to stop the car from rolling back on a hill.

2008 Vauxhall Zafira 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

After the car had its first service, we started having problems with a loss of power about 2 minutes after it's started up. This would continue for a couple of miles, then improve and car drove normally. It also began stalling at junctions, which hadn't happened before the service.

Whilst we were on holiday abroad, the car exhaust emission light came on and stayed on. The explanation in the car manual said to take the car to a Vauxhall dealer/garage immediately, otherwise it could damage the catalytic converter.

We are now facing a bill of £2,700 on a car that has only 24,000 miles on the clock.

We're buying a Toyota next time. We need reliability.

General Comments:

We were happy with the car until faced with this massive problem.

The shape of the front isn't too great for viewing and safety, but otherwise it was OK. If only it was reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th October, 2009

2008 Vauxhall Zafira from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Dangerous

Faults:

Handbrake failed.

Had car as hire car from AVIS - appeared to be in good condition.

With the handbrake on, the car rolled 50 metres across a main road and fortunately missed all traffic/pedestrians.

Looking on google; Vauxhalls appear to have handbrake problems - how many others have experienced similar?

General Comments:

Car performs well, is comfortable and would make a good family car - the handbrake issue is very alarming though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2009

16th Feb 2009, 14:25

If your Zafira is Auto, why not just put it in park and not use the handbrake? I never use mine on my Lexus.

14th Feb 2010, 12:46

My brother had a 2008 Nissan Note 1.6i Auto from Avis, and after a few days the engine was making an awful squeaking noise.

6th May 2011, 07:14

In fact, it won't let you take the key out until you put it into park. So this story seems very fishy to me. Or maybe it wasn't an auto?

2008 Vauxhall Zafira Exclusiv 2.2i 16v Direct from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great car let down by the pre-delivery inspection

Faults:

Delivery faults.

The opening glass on all 4 doors had deep scratches on the outside surface. All opening glass is being replaced under warranty. The dealer can offer no reason for the scratches, other than they should not be there. All other glass on the car seems fine.

The paint finish seems a bit rough (Black Sapphire - Pearlescent), The bonnet, roof and tailgate are smooth, yet the rest seems rough as if there was some over spray on them.

General Comments:

The 2.2 16v petrol engine pulls well.

25mpg so far.

4 speed auto box is as sweet as ever.

Cabin seems well put together.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd June, 2008

28th Jun 2008, 15:35

Trip Computer For Free!

Only the top end versions of the Zafira come with trip computers now and it is no longer listed as an option on the other lower versions. However on the Exclusive model all the components are fitted and all that is needed is for the dealer to enter a code and turn it on. So a car with out a trip computer then has one. At no cost!

Should the trip computer fail it would not be covered under warranty, for as far as Vauxhall are concerned it never had one!

It seems the Zafira must have the large display screen for this to work.

Fuel consumption remains around 25 mpg the paint problem was fixed by washing then cleaning the car with Meguries three step system with their Scratch X used between steps 1 and 2.

The car now looks better than it did when it was handed over by the dealer. Still awaiting the door glass to be fixed.

8th Sep 2008, 18:17

Door glass now fixed. Great job by the dealer. I checked every door and could not tell the glass had been changed, other than all the scratches had gone.

2400 miles now covered and petrol consumption is now around 27 mpg, on a full tank the computer says we have a range of 340 miles.

0 to 60 mph is around 11 seconds, book says 10.8 seconds.

Tires fitted are 16in 205/55R rated to 130mph, same as the ones fitted to the 6 speed manual.

Ride remains good, the esp+plus system seems worth every penny, as we hit some diesel fuel on a fast corner, the car started to understeer, the esp+plus activated, and we got round the corner without any problem.

12th Nov 2011, 09:18

What's the cost to have it done, any idea?