1972 Volkswagen Beetle wunderbug from North America

Summary:

Wunderful!

General Comments:

The car is very dear to me, everyone notices the 37' front end. (Installed at the dealer) Unfortunately I am missing one piece of chrome.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2006

1972 Volkswagen Beetle Formula Vee Standard from North America

Summary:

Practical and indestructible

Faults:

Alternator - the ONLY major problem I ever had. $30 to replace.

General Comments:

Not fast, but very adequate, indestructible, and gets 30 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

29th Dec 2007, 17:22

Good car I have one.

16th Nov 2009, 22:21

I had a '72 Bug once back in the 90's. Loved that car. Took it everywhere, to Canada and back. Didn't miss a beat.

Loved the sound it made, that Bug smell, feeling like you were going fast, but really not.

Although it had been mistreated and sold to me in shoddy condition (our mechanic was going senile, but we didn't know it then when he checked it out when I got it) and he basically put the engine in wrong/backwards -- once I finally got it fixed by someone who knew what they were doing, there was no stopping me and that Beetle.

Simple, fun, cute car.

1972 Volkswagen Beetle 1303 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The People's Car

Faults:

Driver's side door handle broke at 56,000 miles.

Brake pads had to be replaced at 58,000 miles.

Heater failed at 59,000 miles.

General Comments:

A very reliable and economical small car.

Fuel bills were low.

Cheap to buy and to run.

Was a bargain buy at £350 for a seven year old small car.

Space and comfort were good except for the lack of rear passenger doors.

An ideal car for young drivers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

1972 Volkswagen Beetle SUPER BEETLE from North America

Summary:

Drove great, but was hot as hell down south in the summer. looked great also

Faults:

Burned up the engine one month after I bought the car. didn't know valves needed adjustment.

General Comments:

Car refused to run on any rainy day. what a pain!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

19th Mar 2006, 12:29

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with your Beetle. However, when buying an older car, doing a bit of research ahead of time is important. Valve adjustments, as you learned, are vital! And yes, if you're looking for air-conditioning, then maybe an old Beetle as regular transportation isn't for you. The air-cooled engine works very hard in the heat, and an air conditioner only aggravates that. The stalling in the rain is a common problem that a new distibutor cap and points should fix. Better yet, upgrading to electronic (pointless) ignition is inexpensive and will boost reliability.

All said, I've had a number of Beetles over the years and have fully enjoyed them. They don't have all the amenities of modern cars, however, they have a lot of character. They are simple, and because they're the best-selling car of all time, parts are plentiful and inexpensive. However, generally they are an older vehicle, so before you buy, do a bit of research. Having some mechanical ability (or being willing to learn) is also not a bad idea.

1972 Volkswagen Beetle from North America

Summary:

Best car ever in snow and great on gas!

Faults:

Had to do minor repairs, tune ups, etc.

Had a little bit of rust on the body.

General Comments:

I loved the way it handled in the snow. In Colorado, there were several big snow storms that my car would perform in so well. Once, as I climbed a very steep hill, passing by all the other 4X4's and big rigs, that were supposed to be so superior in the snow, I kept patting the dash board of my little bug, congratulating it for passing all of them on our way up the hill! It was the best car I've ever had for bad road conditions!

Once, after a very bad snow, a tree branch fell on the hood of my bug, and put a large dent in it. I opened the trunk, and pushed hard, and the whole dent popped right out, just like new! Not many cars are able to "un-dent" themselves!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2006

12th Mar 2006, 20:57

Sure its good in the snow, sure. Chains or spikes on your tires?

15th Feb 2007, 20:02

Actually, it handles so well in ice and snow, because the engine is above the back tires, and it is rear wheel drive. So... that gives it good traction for obvious reasons.

17th Feb 2007, 12:38

Re the above comment: wow, the engine over the drive wheels, why hasn't somebody else thought of that? Just think, if most cars had the engine over the drive wheels, nobody would need snow tires because of all the good traction.

Now, where can I find a car like that...

17th Feb 2007, 14:51

Buy a new Porche...

25th Feb 2007, 17:58

Regardless of the drivetrain layout, the weight of the vehicle is always tranferred to the rear upon acceleration. In an FF layout, the weight of the engine may be above the drive wheels, but some is "lifted off" when accelerating.

RR cars like the Beetle, Porsche, and Corvair already have the engine in the back so upon acceleration, it's like adding more weight to your drive wheels. Just look up "1960 Corvair" on Youtube for some amazing demonstrations of rear engine traction. All done on bias ply tires too.

11th Jan 2008, 20:02

Volkswagen bugs/beetles were always excellent in winter conditions and I drove one through the monster blizzards of the mid-70's in the midwest to know. They work so well because the narrow tires dig into snow without floating, they have very high ground clearance for a car, and they don't have enough horsepower to cause the tires to lose traction. The wind will blow them around pretty badly, but on snow, they really are great. The lack of heat and weak defrosts are another story.