1972 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1972 Volkswagen Beetle from North America

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance252000 miles

Summary:

Very reliable car, lasts forever

Faults:

Had to have the transmission rebuilt in 1993.

Had to have the engine rebuilt in 1995.

The seats are badly worn.

General Comments:

Very reliable car. I had it for 16 years, maintenance was inexpensive.

I would still have it now, but some punks stole it, drove it into a ditch, and set it on fire.

I will probably buy another 1970's Volkswagen Beetle if I find one in good condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2001

27th Oct 2002, 20:57

I would have killed those punks if I found out who they were. Or their cars would have looked a lot different when I was finished with them! Sorry to hear of your loss! I hope you get another Bug!

1972 Volkswagen Beetle 1300 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired198792 miles
Most recent distance265344 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Sportrak

Summary:

A challenging car, but with a huge reward

Faults:

Gear-box failed after 800 miles.

Engine failed after 30,000 miles.

Second engine (a second-hand unit for £70) failed after 120 miles!

Third engine (a re-conditioned 1641cc unit from Volkspares) failed after two months. It was repaired under warranty only to fail again a month later. After this I demanded my money back which took a further two months of phoning.

General Comments:

Despite all the problems I've had with this car, I wouldn't change it for anything. It's a damn good car to drive.

I love the way it looks and the roar of the engine (it has a very loud stinger exhaust and merged header manifold) this also helps greatly with the performance over a stock set-up.

I would advise anyone who wants an "old-style" Beetle to study the following:

Budget for repairs.

Learn how to do the repairs yourself (easy once you get started!)

Never ever ever buy a Volkspares engine (I recommend a Vege 1600cc re-con unit, it's never let me down!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

1972 Volkswagen Beetle Super 1302-S 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Little gas-saver with much

Faults:

Fuel pump died 3 years ago, cost 5.00 (US $) for replacement, did it myself in front of my college dormitory.

Both heat exchangers rusted straight through twice letting a little exhaust in the cabin until I finally replaced them with Swedish heat exchanges.

Brakes had problems for several years until I got a good "Air-Cooled" Beetle mechanic.

Minor electrical skirmishes - but easy to fix (like wiring a pocket radio).

Can't seem to get rid of a fuel tank odor when the tank is over 1/2 fuel (it has a brand new tank) - strange.

Heater is only good over 60-MPH - bring blankets.

Blesses your driveway with little oil spots.

General Comments:

You cannot kill this car - well... unless your name is rust.

For such a small engine, this car will still smoke the tires for several feet (because of the 4.125 factory axle ratio I guess).

However, between 45 and 93 MPH it doesn't feel quite so fast.

Good A to B transportation for even the slightest do-it-yourselfer.

I like the Super Beetle power but prefer the look of the standard Beetle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

17th Apr 2007, 21:50

I consider it to be an honor just to own a classic Volkswagen.

1972 Volkswagen Beetle 1200 1.2 from Singapore

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen 1200

Summary:

Reliable shiny love

Faults:

Battery dead after leaving A/C on at my wedding dinner.

Major head-on accident... lovingly repaired at large cost to the 3rd party.

Carpets, seats, linings, renewed so VW is like new.

General Comments:

Exceedingly reliable & quiet (this one).

Old owner never drove above 50 kph for 25 years.

Paintwork and body and engine maintained like new. Easy in Singapore since mechanics are cheap.

Sold for US$15,000 (the going rate in Singapore).

The Singapore COE is killing the new owner.

A/C works very well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

1972 Volkswagen Beetle GT 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1972
First year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles

Summary:

Great fun to drive

Faults:

Replacement of the fuel tank, carburettor and rear brake hub.

General Comments:

The car was in a remarkably good condition for a 27 year old car, though I have had the car fully restored.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

1972 Volkswagen Beetle from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1972
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Just about everything - including having one of the wheels falling off whilst moving!!!!!!!!!!!

General Comments:

It's unreliable, cranky and downright annoying at times, but it has such character that I couldn't never even think about parting with it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

9th Jan 2001, 09:45

1972 Volkswagen Beetle 1200cc.

Absolutely fantastic!! I've never had a serious problem yet and I've had mine for 5 years now. If you are thinking of buying one my only advice is that there are lots out there so be choosey, don't buy the first one you see!

If the car has been looked after then you should be fine. Beetles are poor liars so if something looks wrong then walk away.

Mechanical parts and body parts are in abundance with not just the choice of supplier, but the choice of manufacturer too.

Go ahead and buy one. If you look after your Beetle it will look after you! (oh, and women love them!)

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews