1973 Volkswagen Beetle 1303 1.3 from UK and Ireland


A truly fun and funky family saloon!


We had to have the clutch replaced soon after purchase.

The oil cooler leaked.

General Comments:

The car is great fun to drive, it's a 'no-frills' interior but that suits my taste! - my children both love travelling in it and looking out for fellow Beetle lovers - who always give us a wave or a flash of the headlights. We feel part of a friendly group of lovers of this funky little vehicle.

I recommend them to anyone who doesn't want to be just 'one of the crowd'.

Try it and you'll never go back to that Ford!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2001

1973 Volkswagen Beetle Super Beetle 1.6 4 cylinder from North America


The Germans can do MUCH better


Engine blew a head gasket.

Starter failed.

Throttle cable broke 3 times.

Light switch replaced.

Headlights replaced.

Generator replaced.

Clutch cable broke.

Speedometer, odometer housing failed.

General Comments:

This car was fun to drive overall, but I learned quickly that VW beetles were not the "easy-to-work-on-cars" many people told me they were.

In addition, the vehicle nickeled and dime'ed me to death with all it's problems right up to the day I sold it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd September, 2001

24th Nov 2001, 10:59

Rubbish! They are very good cars.

25th Jan 2002, 14:14

VW Beetles are great cars, of course you are going to have to fix some things on a car that is 27 years old, what did you expect.

15th Feb 2003, 00:03

I think, that is you are going to buy an older car it is going to need some work. Most people skip certain inspection or replacement intervals. I myself am a professoinal mechanic. I bought a 77 Dodge pick up, and I have yet to change the front wheel bearings, but I change all of the fluids every three months, even the radiator fluid, and the spark plugs and wires. Check the car out very well before buying, and maintain it religiously. I do it to my girlfriend 73' Super Beetle as well. Love your car. Take good care of it. Even then like to tonight things will happen, like the clutch cable breaking in traffic.

1973 Volkswagen Beetle 1300 1.3 from UK and Ireland


A loveable green machine


Clutch needed replacing as soon as I acquired the vehicle.

Needs a new floor pan, replaced running boards and constantly tackling rust!

General Comments:

Took me and my mate 20 minutes to get the engine out, 15 minutes to change the clutch and 30 minutes to put the engine back in. Clutch kit cost 50 quid! The engine is so easy to work on, everybody should buy one of these cars for their children to practice on!

Handles better than most modern cars, and positively flies around roundabouts, ONLY IN THE DRY THOUGH!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

1973 Volkswagen Beetle Standard 1.6 gas from North America


This is only the best car ever made!


- Clutch bowden tube ruptured.

- Master cylinder failed.

- Upholstery was nonexistent.

- Rust on the floorboards.

- Main bearings and engine case replaced.

- Gas tank rusted out.

- Cracked windshield.

- Coil fried.

- Throttle cable broke.

General Comments:

Well, what can I say? The car had 550,000 miles on it when I bought it in 1993 for $200. I drove it over the space of three years over 50,000 miles and it never left me stranded. 400 mile trips were no problem. And my dog liked it.

All of the repairs that were done to the car over the time I owned it only added up to about $1500. So I had $1700 in it, and I sold it for $1200.

Let me break this down for you: I drove a car for 3 years and only spent $500, not including tune-ups and gas.

Would I buy another air cooled VW? Hell yes. I already have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

21st Jul 2001, 23:09

This guy is right on the mark. VW Type 1's are the best car around. But remember, the way your car works depends a lot on the person who owned it before you, and the person before them, ect. Bottom line is- take good care of your beetle and you'll do just fine. -Rob.

1973 Volkswagen Beetle Type 1 1.6 Dual Port Heads from North America


This car was manufactured with warmer climates in mind, though with minor modifications the gas heater can produce enough heat to let you drive in a Manitoba winter in your shorts.

General Comments:

This is definitely one of the funnest cars to drive ever!! Always gets looks, smiles, and waves wherever you are. People LOVE Punchbuggies! If Ferdinand Porsche were alive today I'd like to shake his hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 1999

10th Jul 2005, 13:18

I've owned a 1973 Super Beetle for 3 years now, and I'm here to tell you, once you become a Volkswagen addict there is no known cure!

1973 Volkswagen Beetle 1303 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland


Nothing much, just general wear and tear. Electrics are a bit dodgy. Used to get wet feet when it rained. Needed a new fuel pump (

General Comments:

Be careful if considering buying the 1303. A lot of the cars out there look very nice but are rotten underneath. Check carefully for signs of poor welding and especially check behind the running boards for signs of rot as this is very expensive to put right. Do not take a VW beetle to a VW dealer for repairs - they will rip you off. Find yourself a real beetle enthusiast who knows the cars inside out. Don't buy the cheaper spare parts from Brazil it is a false economy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

1973 Volkswagen Beetle 1132 1132cc from North America


Rust, rust, rust, and rust. And engine oil leaks.

General Comments:

Typical for an older Beetle, although this one had 198K miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 1998

1973 Volkswagen Beetle Type 1 GT 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland


Leaking fuel tank, startermotor failure, leaking brake.

General Comments:

For a car that is 25 years old it is in remarkable condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 1998

12th May 2001, 01:00

I'm very happy because tomorrow I will get my first bug!!I love!! my bug.. I don't know how explain.

But I'm happy very happy.