1999 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews - Page 13 of 13

1999 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carHonda S2000

Faults:

Battery failed at 24,000 miles, and then again at 30,000 had to be replaced by the dealer at an expense of $190. The design is so poor when the negative terminal is removed the engine computer loses critical programming that can only be recovered at the dealer. When there they actually have to remove much of the headlight assembly to get at it in addition to resetting all the computer codes!

The cars transmission bucks, kicks, and misses shifts. It holds onto a gear too long under moderate acceleration. The dealer refused to deal with it.

Many electrical problems - the car runs with the key out, the alarm sets without locking the doors, the radio stays on after removing the key.

Window switches failed on both sides, windows were stuck in the down position.

Burns a lot of oil, refill it every 2-3 tanks of gas or you will be surprised.

Paint is low quality, chips and scratches too easily.

General Comments:

Lots of features, nice looking, economical, roomy interior.

Resale falls like a rock.

Wouldn't trust it on a cross country drive, we have been stranded twice.

In our opinion there are too many other nice brands to buy to ever consider a VW or Audi. We will stick to Honda, Acura, Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, or BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2003

1999 Volkswagen Beetle TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8149 miles
Most recent distance35500 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Poor reliability and poor Volkswagen customer support make this a poor choice.

Faults:

The car would not start at 18,000 miles, diagnosed as a fuel filter blockage.

The car would not start at 19,900 miles, diagnosed as carbon buildup.

The car died on the road at 35,500 miles, diagnosed as carbon buildup again.

The turbocharger needed to be repaired at 35,400 miles.

The taillights have blown out twice, the headlights have blown out once.

The rear defroster had to be repaired at 26,500 miles.

The engine light came on repeatedly, with "no concrete problem."

The mirror control knob had to be replaced three times.

The fuel filler door repeatedly jammed and finally required replacement of the actuator cable.

General Comments:

Although the car was fun when it was running, the repeated need for repairs made it exceedingly unreliable.

Safety became a concern when the car began dying in the middle of major highways.

Volkswagen has refused our request for assistance, because we are not the original owner, despite the fact that the car has less than 36000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2002

6th Jan 2004, 21:57

I have a 1999 TDI Beetle, and my problems sound similar too many here. My biggest issue has been with poor service diagnosis of problems. I had an issue with my TDI dying on the hiway... and they initially diagnosed it as a clogged (coked-up) intake venturi. (whatever it is called) It cost $400 as a part, and I was told it cold NOT be cleaned and this is why it was replaced. I had ased for the old part, and upon examination... found it was not as restricted as they said. When I asked what happened, they said it must have been cleaned... something they said was not possible!

Anyways, it died the same way the next two days, ab\nd I told them to keep the car until it was fixed. A few days later they figured out that it was REALLY the fuel pump relay overheating and opening! This was only a $40 fix... but did they do anything for me to rectify the $400 repair that was NOT needed...nothing, but argue with me.

I love the car and mileage, but the reliability and service stinks to high heaven. (IMHO)

1999 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2800 miles
Most recent distance26500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I STILL LOVE my 1999 BEETLE

Faults:

Well I love my car. I have had it since August 2000 when my brother in law passed to me. He bought the car brand new in August of 1999. The problems barely started last month in August 2002. The car for some reason had one of its fuel injectors pop out that's when the check engine light came on. I got the problem fixed, but then during the process I noticed that one of the fans is not working which is the fan for the A/C. (still not working). Well after that the car started pulling and they went ahead and changed the gas filter which then the car started running fine again. A week later after the car filter was changed spark plugs changed and wiring changed the check engine light came back on. This car used to give me up to 250 miles per hour and in that week it only gave me 110 miles. The car is also making this noise inside the motor as if something was hitting inside. You can also still hear the noise that supposedly is made by the fuel injectors. HELP...

General Comments:

Well my car easily gets dirty inside since its black. Also the hand brake the little button broke off, and also the door handle through the inside the grey handle plastic started to come off right away. I sometimes have trouble closing the trunk it close it hard and it sometimes stays open.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

1999 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles

Summary:

The coolest and safest car ever

Faults:

Tires blew twice in 6 months.

VW logo on tire wore off.

Irritating blind spot.

General Comments:

The car is a dream on the road and an A+ where safety in concerned. It handles turns and corners exceptionally well. I am short - about 5 ft. - and have a problem driving most compact cars as I sit too low and can't see the road very well. But for a small car this gives me a great view of the road and the sides and is splendidly roomy inside. The only irritating thing is the amount of blocked space or blind spot especially when you make a left turn. Otherwise it's smooth, cool, fast and reliable. Trust me I know as I was in a huge accident that crashed my car into the guard rails at 60mph and I don't have a scratch on me though the car got totalled! So it's very very safe and sturdy. I will never buy any other car after driving and loving a Beetle. And what's more, it makes heads turn!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1999 Volkswagen Beetle Sport 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired22222 miles
Most recent distance24222 miles

Summary:

Cute as a bug, just like me!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It's a most stylish auto which fits my personality perfectly. Just the right amount of panache and performance!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2001

Average review marks: 5.8 / 10, based on 39 reviews