2001 Volkswagen Cabrio Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Volkswagen Cabrio GLX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Economical convertible

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong is the interior door handles have peeled and been replaced twice. Other than that the car has been flawless.

General Comments:

The car has done we have expected it to do. Very reliable and really a fun car. We have taken it on several long trips (1000+ miles) and didn't have any of the problems the other reviews refer to. Leather is still in excellent shape, as is the top. We live in the Pacific NW, lots of rain, no leaks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2003

25th May 2004, 13:30

Consider yourself very lucky if you get a working Cabrio that lasts without major repairs. My 2001 GLX, with only 24,000 miles, has died twice and been towed to the dealer. Constant random computer and electrical problems, weak idle, faulty windows, and major engine problems seem to be the norm with this darn cute car. I'll take reliable over cute next time.

2nd Aug 2004, 00:49

We have had good luck with the 2001 Cabrio.

Problems?

1. Front tire blew and bearing gone - Dealer replaced same day, no problem.

2. Handles peeled - Dealer replaced, no problem.

3. Engine light comes on. No solution so far, but has been doing this for a couple of years with no consequence.

Purchased new - 15 miles on it, has 30K miles now. Reliability is very good, never left us on the side of the road. We live in British Columbia - big hills and severe weather extremes. We have also taken it on long trips.

You seem to hear a lot of unhappy owners out there, but I have a feeling there are more happy ones than unhappy.

Is there a way to know?

10th Dec 2006, 18:39

My door on the inside handle peeled... didn't know I could get it replaced! I missed my chance.

31st Mar 2013, 08:44

My 2001 VW Cabrio has had major electrical problems, and it has caused the transmission to fail twice, making me replace the transmission. Now the second time even Volkswagen can't fix it... It has been in the shop for over 6 months. It seems that these cars coming out of Mexico are garbage, and Volkswagen will not take the responsibility for it.

Electrical wiring faulty... started with windows and progressed to major systems failing, up to transmission and starting components. Wiring harness was replaced before two times, but parts from Volkswagen are bad also.

leeandhenry@yahoo.com

If you can fix it yourself, good luck, but for us that can't, you're gonna be broke and walking.

2001 Volkswagen Cabrio GLX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Unreliable Transportation

Faults:

The check engine light illuminates for no reason.

The interior is poorly made and is falling apart.

The passenger side rear bearing needs to be replaced at 19,500 miles.

General Comments:

Volkswagen looks like a nice car.

However, the warranty is worthless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2003

2001 Volkswagen Cabrio GLX from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance12400 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

The Cabrio is just one headache after another!

Faults:

I bought my VW Cabrio because I always wanted a convertible. After having owned the car for 3 months the first of may electrical problems started. The blower for the heater and air conditioner would work when it wanted to. I had to bring it back to South Shore Imported Cars in Hanover, MA 3 times before the problem could be fixed.

After having the car for 9 months the passenger side window decided that it would do what it wanted. I would put it down and when I tried to put it up it would then go up and down. I would have to try about 3 times to get the window to stay up. It went into the same dealer again and it took my brining it back 4 times to get this problem fixed. They finally ordered a new motor for the window and put it in and since then it as been fine.

After owning the car for a year I brought it in for it's annual inspection and it failed. It had failed because I did not have brake lights. Considering I don't drive behind myself ever I don't know how long it had been like this for. So back to the dealer I go and for once it was fixed in one visit. It was a faulty switch for the brake lights.

Shortly after my visit to the dealership for the brake lights I started having the same problem with the drivers side window that I had with the passenger's window just a few months before. I brought it in again and had the dealership look at it and they said that the inside of the door by the window was dirty and cleaned it. Seeing as I had the same problem with the other window only a few earlier one would think that they would just replace the motor. Well here I am and the window still does what it wants from time to time.

Owning my 2001 Cabrio GLX for 14 months now I was driving to work this morning and the interior light decided that it would just like to stay on. Now it is off again, but I am sure that it will come back on and stay on again some day soon.

General Comments:

For all that are considering purchasing a VW please think again. I have always dreamed of having a convertible ever since I was little and when I first bought this car I was going to drive it forever. Now all that I want is out. At any cost!

I have spoke to other people who have owned the Jetta, Golf and Cabrio and all have had serious electrical and/or mechanical problems.

My previous car was a Pontiac Sunfire and I had 2 basic problems with the car in the 2 years that I had it. I can't even drive by one now without feeling like a jerk for getting rid of it for the hunk of junk Cabrio I am driving right now.

If given the option buy American or Japanese.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th September, 2002

23rd Sep 2004, 12:27

I had exactly the same problems with my 2000 Cabrio - 21k miles on it. Trying to get rid of it now - gorgeous car, but not worth the hassle. Non-stop electrical problems, and warning lights always on, then off, then on again. As with the A/C, cruise control, windows. Brake lights also stay on all the time.

2001 Volkswagen Cabrio Convertible from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great, other than the darn electrical problems

Faults:

Electrical problems have been the downside of this car. All the guages (speedometer, tachometer, fuel and temperature, and idiot lights) go on and off intermittently. More often, now.

The engine light started going on within the first month, which took many trips to the dealer to correct.

The gauge problem followed that, and the dealer has not covered with warranty.

We have three other friends or family with late model VW's, including a Cabrio exactly the same as ours, and the gauges are all doing the same think. Yet, VW isn't issuing a recall.

If you want to join a class action against VW, contact me at Mike@SnowfireYM.com.

We love the care, OTHER THAN THIS PROBLEM!

General Comments:

The Cabrio is a perfect car for us... handles well, is fun and comfortable, plenty of power even in the mountains.

But the electrical dash instrument problem is just awful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd June, 2002

26th May 2003, 15:02

I've had my VW Cabrio since 1998. I bought it brand new. I have had wiring problems with mine as well. Everytime it rains the car goes haywire. I've had most of the wiring replaced and the coil and it still happens. Nobody seems to have a clue what to do with the problem.

On beautiful days, I love my car. When it rains I want to kill myself. It's a good thing I have AAA 200 mile towing because I've made ample use of it in the last two years.

2nd Dec 2006, 15:49

How did you fix the lights going on and off PLEASE.

28th Aug 2009, 21:40

Yes, please share. Was it user-fixable or how much did it cost to fix? Did you have to replace the whole instrument panel?

2nd Oct 2009, 12:25

I have the same problem. Snauve86@yahoo.com somebody e-mail me with some help.

Average review marks: 5.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews