Volkswagen Gol Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2006 Volkswagen Gol Comfort Line 1.8 from Ecuador

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Gol

Summary:

This new car is bad

Faults:

My car is a Volkswagen Gol 1.8 year 2006. When it rains, the water goes in it. Why? My car is "new".

General Comments:

The car is seriously bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2006

2004 Volkswagen Gol Basic 1.8 gasoline from Venezuela

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Matiz

Summary:

Great Brazilian Car!

Faults:

The reverse lights never work. Dealer fixed under warranty.

At 36.000km started leaking engine coolant. Dealer fixed too.

General Comments:

This is a great car. In handles very well and smokes every other car in it's category.

It's also very economical. An average of 500km per tank.

It's very roomy in the interior, the best in it's category too.

This is an totally reliable car, never needed anything, but it's regular maintenance.

I added a set of 15 inches rims with low profile tires. Got better taking tight corners.

Its brakes are powerful. Althought the anti-lock brakes were not offered in my country it's hard to lock the rear wheels.

The engine it's great. In third gear, traveling at less than 40km/h in a hill it maintains and recovers speed very easy.

I would recommend this car to anyone is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2005

14th Apr 2011, 01:14

TY, bro. I want to know if in Venezuela replacements are expensive and hard to find?

2004 Volkswagen Gol GTi or Sportline 1.8 Gasoline from Colombia

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance513 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 280C

Summary:

Fast, maneuverable and cheap

Faults:

The car is relatively new and nothing important has gone wrong with the car, however, I had to take it back to adjust one of the light bulbs inside the stop light. Except for that, nothing else.

General Comments:

The car is very fast and the acceleration is great, as a matter of fact it can outrun almost every car in its segment. The gear box is awesome and the car is pretty comfortable. Handling is very good on tight turns due to the suspension it has; the down part is that the hard suspension causes noises inside the cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2004

26th May 2006, 15:40

The car you own is not the GTI version, the GTI is a 1.0 turbocharged car that as far as I know can only be bought in Brazil. The gol is a pretty good vehicle, and fast, its faster than the so called MK-III Golf GTI.

22nd Jun 2007, 18:14

Well, you are a little mistaken to, the GTI is a 2.0 liter 16v (engine made in Germany) and the 1.0 turbo 16v is simply another model. The 1.0 turbo 16v has 112hp and the GTI HAD 145hp, but sadly the last model was 2002. The 1.0 turbo I thought it was cancelled circa 2003.

I put a comment on the 1.0 8v model and I agree it is a reliable car.

2002 Volkswagen Gol 1000 1.0 2valve gasoline from El Salvador

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.0 2valve gasoline Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42 kilometres
Most recent distance26000 kilometres

Summary:

Pretty, economical, practical, small and good for the price

Faults:

After 1 year of owning the car, fuel consumption went down to 35km per gallon when the air filter component was dirty and clogged with dust. It was changed and the problem solved.

Once I had to drive off road and the car started to make squeaks and rattles that were never cured.

The rubber protecting the co-driver door began to fall apart in pieces after 1 year. It seems most people rubs its body against it every time they get in the car.

The steering wheel has poor quality and it seems it gets destroyed by the sweat of my hands (this is a tropical country and you should know that)

General Comments:

At the beginning, the fuel consumption was usually 50kpg+ on city-driving conditions. It gets almost to 60kpg on highway drives.

After almost 2 years, one time the air filter component, sparks, oil were changed, the car did get 60kmg on city and 70kmg on highway! On a highway run the car would go much more than 900kms on a full tank! It is now on a usual 50/60kmg.

The car is not fast nor powerful, but it gets the job done. Get 4 people inside and the car will put you anywhere you want in comfort.

Nice handling, nice brakes while on my own, but a little more effort is required when more weight is on the car.

Roomy trunk.

The engine is quiet most of the time, except when you use the a/c, it gets noisy.

The car feels stable at up to 120kmh with 4 people. It gets nervous at 160kmh with just me on it.

Great lights.

Never had an electrical problem so far (1 year and 10 months with 26000 km)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2004

4th May 2004, 16:53

Hello buddies, I am from Mexico. Maybe you know Gol in Mexico its called Pointer and has a 1.8 Gasoline Motor. I got one of them 3 months ago and I believe is a good car. I am living in the border of Mexico and the United States. I used to full my car's thank with American gasoline, (not diesel, due to the fact of there are many reasons to full the thank in USA. 1.- it is cheaper than Mexico 2. The quality of the octanes is better than Mexico, whatever. The main point here is when I bought this car 3 months ago I fulled the thank the first time, and I get approximately 750 Km per all the thank, but now I am gettig just around 600 Km per thank. Some body that can tell me something about it??. I have already been with the volkswagen dealer in my city and they told me that it is totally normal this happens, this car specially has differents gas kilometers per thank.

I was trying to get information about this car, but was not possible for my found anything, due to the fact comes from brazil.

Besides, I agree with some comments that somebody did before, about the weird noises that the car does. I took it to the car service in the volkswagen and they did not find anything. I do not know what should I have to do, regarding this issue.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 6 reviews