1996 Volkswagen Golf Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1996 Volkswagen Golf VR6 2.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired46900 miles
Most recent distance51000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Nice car, crap high speed handling

Faults:

Bump Stops

Shock absorber

Tyre punctured.

General Comments:

Nice car really, really torquey, you can pull from 15mph in 5th.

Really does accelerate although struggles for grip in the wet.

Handles like a pig, especially on the limit where it wallows and rolls badly.

Built for m-ways though and will cruise forever.

Very long gearing (105mph in 3rd).

Comfortable faster than you average 'RST' (you know who you are - 125mph is that it!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2002

13th Jun 2006, 21:53

If you own a VR6, you should be informed that Golf have a rather crappy suspension. Try Bilstein and it will beat other car in the winding road. My 1995 VR6 handle better then my Prelude and Lexus GS400.

1996 Volkswagen Golf GT 4 cylinder, 2 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder, 2 litre Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

A well handling, quick money pit

Faults:

In the first year of ownership, my golf was in the shop over thirty times for things like paint defects, bad door locks (which caused the alarm to go off while I was driving) etc. The first years, the warranty covered all the repairs, but it was a pain to be at the dealership so much. After the warranty expired, I continued to have problems, but I had to start paying and VW parts are not cheap. I just paid $600 to have the throttle body replaced and the car has started to leak coolant and oil. I have always maintained the car, so I know that it's not a maintenance issue. My husband and I are convinced the car is junk. "Hitler's revenge" is our pet name for my car.

General Comments:

On the whole, the car is decent. It is comfortable and the interior has worn well for it's age. The car handles well and it pretty quick as long as I am the only one in it. More passengers=slower acceleration. The only thing that would make me buy another VW is if they lowered the price of parts or extended the warranty because with a VW, it's not IF your car will break down, but WHEN.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

19th Aug 2007, 19:49

Sounds like you got a lemon... or you beat the crap out of your car.

13th Sep 2012, 15:34

Yeah... sure. Because a VW never breaks down? Keep on dreaming.

1996 Volkswagen Golf GTi 2.0 8v from Spain

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres
Previous carAudi 90

Summary:

Excellent multi-purpose car. Too expensive even when second hand

Faults:

After having made an original VW key copy (with the programmable chip inside), the car started to fail to ignite all the time.

I took it back, and they discovered a malfunction in the receiving unit that was repaired within minutes.

NOTHING has gone wrong ever since.

General Comments:

This car could do with more power, but the 115CV are enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

1996 Volkswagen Golf TDI CL 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Excellent car, but after 5 years - starting to wear

Faults:

Engine Management System failure light came on - got us worried - only to be told it was not a biggy and easily fixed. Apart from that and the fact that the dealer (Caffyns) lost our service book for three months, the car has been absolutely brilliant.

General Comments:

Handles brilliantly, lots of "oumph", and would not hesitate to buy another VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

1996 Volkswagen Golf CL 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carBMW 318i

Summary:

A well built, good performance economical hatch

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Brilliant car, originally purchased for motorway travelling. Good performance, solid chassis and excellent fuel economy. Diesel noise level is minimal. Worth paying a little extra for the TDi over the TD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

1996 Volkswagen Golf GL 2.0l from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 2.0l
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10

Faults:

Door trim panel has come off.

Gas pedal broke.

General Comments:

Very fun car to drive. Keeping this until I can get a TDI....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 1999

1996 Volkswagen Golf Driver 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10

Faults:

Electric window N/W.

General Comments:

Good car let down by terrible service from the dealer and from VW UK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th December, 1997

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 30 reviews