2003 Volkswagen Golf GT TDI PD 130 1.9 TDI PD 130PS from UK and Ireland


Crap car with a fantastic engine


Terrible build quality - squeaks and creaks from all over the place.

Drivers seat doesn't always catch properly on the runners.

Gearbox is sloppy.

Intermittent problem with warning lights coming on at random, glowing dimly and going out again.

The passenger side window regulator came off the door the third time the window was used.

Power steering level kept dropping mysteriously until we discovered a hose hadn't been properly tightened at the factory. Back again to dealer for the problem to be fixed, and the system drained, refilled and bled.

Central locking acts up every time it rains.

General Comments:

Goes superbly and is very economical. Everything else is awful and an insult to the Volkswagen badge. Driving experience pleasant enough, but mostly down to that excellent TDI engine. The rest is very ordinary.

This car has build quality and reliability issues that you wouldn't find on most cars costing half this much.

Dealers and VW "customer care" (a misnomer if ever there was one) compound the problem by blatantly not being remotely interested. Good warranty (thankfully).

Don't waste your money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2004

5th Jul 2005, 06:11

Can't agree with any of this, apart from the car having a great engine. Bought mine new in 2003 and after 18 months (+) and 30000 miles absolutely no problems at all.

Think you must have had a friday afternoon model!!

19th Sep 2005, 07:46

Glad yours has been reliable, but I have to say the thought of it being a Friday car is not much consolation when you've spent UKP 16,000 (with options) on a small family hatchback.

Looking at the other reviews and comments on here on balance, it seems VW built a significant proportion of Golfs on a Friday afternoon.

Overpriced rubbish for the gullible in my opinion. And I don't mind admitting that was me two and a bit years ago.

2003 Volkswagen Golf TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


Dull, dreary unappealing forgettable



General Comments:

Turbo lag and sloppy handling mar a well built if terminally dull car.

There is nothing about this car that makes it in any way desirable. As an estate car it lacks any real practicality, as a drivers car it is moribund as a status symbol- well give me a break!

A car only for those who have no interest in driving, but believe that VW's are somehow more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th November, 2004

10th Nov 2004, 12:46

Did you actually test drive this vehicle before buying it? Did you have a look at it, or did someone blindfold your eyes and said:

"Give me money, and I'll pick out a car for you."

If you do not like the way it looks and drives, WHY DID YOU BUY IT? If it's because of reliability, I can assure you there are other reliable cars out there.

15th Nov 2004, 14:27

Who said anything about buying it? I just drove the thing from Hastings to Kidderminster as I was collecting it back from a former employee. Good grief I wouldn't be daft enough to buy one.

22nd Nov 2004, 12:27

I have never owned a VW, but over many years of driving I have sampled 3 examples. The first was the legendary beetle. This was a car more horrible than the Morris 1000. Then I had to evaluate a Vento. This was one of the dullest cars I have driven and I have driven the Marina, Allegro assorted Viva's, Hillman Hunter and heaven help me once owned a moggie traveller!

My latest experience was in said diesel estate golf. I do not like it and I just wish that VW's cars were as good as their adverts.

2003 Volkswagen Golf TDi 100hp 1.9 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand


Go drive a TDi


Front speakers were crackling ever since I took delivery of the car.

Lights on the dashboard flicker occasionally and for no apparent reason.

Windscreen wipers always shuddered across the windscreen since I took delivery.

General Comments:

When I mentioned to a friend that I was looking at selling my Impreza WRX STi and getting a diesel Golf, he cracked up laughing. I then took him along to the showroom for a drive, and I never heard another smart comment out of him.

I am very happy the amazing performance provided by the diesel. In total contrast to my Subaru, the turbo comes in almost straight away and pulls strong up to about 4000rpm where the power suddenly drops off.

With my occasionally heavy right foot, the Subaru would happily munch through a tank of Super Premium over a weekend. My Golf can go for two weeks on a tank of diesel. The lower price of diesel also means it costs about half the price to fill than my Subaru.

The only downsides to my Golf ownership have been my experiences with often rude and useless Volkswagen dealerships. I have experienced one particular service dept refusing to fix my faulty audio system under warranty, (despite the car being less than one year old).

The other dealership agreed to fix the fault, however after the car being there for 3 days, I picked up the car to find one speaker replaced and the other still crackling.

I find the suspension wallows a bit like a 1960's Cadillac (compared to my Subaru anyway). I have ordered a handling kit which the manufacturer promises will tighten up the whole package.

All in all however, I have no regrets in purchasing my Golf. The best car I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2004