1995 Volkswagen GTI Reviews

1995 Volkswagen GTI VR6 from North America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance138000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

This car is WORSE than an american car

Faults:

My sunroof no longer works, dealer quoted about 400-600 dollars to repair.

Drivers and passengers side windows have failed dealer quoted 400-600 to repair each.

Electronics have been a nightmare.

New shocks about 800-1000 dollars.

Actually running out of room for rest.

General Comments:

To continue, electronics have been a nightmare, quoted about 1200 for new wire harness just to diagnose computer code error messages.

I have stopped trying to put on the side plastic panels they keep falling off.

I have spent more on rotors and brakes than the entire maintenance for my previous car, a honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

4th Nov 2005, 14:25

I am 100% agreed with you! Besides the engine, this is a piece of junk! Wait until you have the coolant leaking problems! you should get rid of it when it is still movable.

4th Nov 2005, 22:00

The car is ten years old, and electronics do wear out. Buy aftermarket shocks...$800 to $1000 means you're getting ripped off. If these are your only problems, the car really isn't that bad then, now is it?

11th Nov 2008, 15:24

I agree they are junk. I am a VW mechanic and I would always tell everyone to buy a Honda; my Integra GSR is still better than any VW out there.

1995 Volkswagen GTI VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A performance bargain

Faults:

I have had only one problem: the sunroof frame jammed up at 18,000 miles and had to be replaced. Otherwise, this car has been very reliable. It still even has its original battery after 9 years!

General Comments:

A performance bargain! It packs a silk wrapped punch, is quiet, and comfortable.

Extremely well equipped for the price (at just around 20 grand when new).

I have received many good compliments about the car from total strangers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2003

1995 Volkswagen GTI -VR6 2.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Fun car that is not worth the expense

Faults:

Front brake rotors right after I purchased it.

3 oxygen sensors over the years at around $500 a pop.

Ball joint in steering assembly.

Rear left quarter panel is rusting very badly even though I had it ground out and repainted about 3 years ago.

Clutch is going (understandable, though).

Driver's side power window motor died. Had that replaced. Now the passenger side window motor is starting to act up.

Later the window whole track assembly chewed itself up. That was fun figuring out a way to keep my window up.

The check engine light comes on intermittently. I ignore it at this point.

The antilock braking system has given out.

The electrical system in the dash is acting up. On a recent road trip it just died. The needles all zeroed out and then came back on a few minutes later.

The AC system has a leak.

General Comments:

The funny thing is that this car has never died in traffic or on the highway and it gets great mileage for a 6 cylinder engine (30 on the highway with a K&N air filter).

It is fun to drive. The first and second gears are very powerful in the low end and fifth gear pulls like crazy. I can blow by a tractor trailer on the highway at 90mph without even batting an eye.

Space-wise it is huge. I have fit desks, hardware supplies, 5 people, etc. in.

But I've been really disappointed with the little things that are hard to ignore (like windows that won't go UP and engine hesitation due to yet another dead oxygen sensor). I have owned the car nearly 6 years and the maintenance costs averages out to around $110 per month that I've owned. And that doesn't include payments on the car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

4th Dec 2003, 16:50

Great review, VW is generally piece of junk. The TOC is way too high. I really hate how to protrait happy VW owner on TV, but in reality most VW owners are not happy with the maintaince cost.

16th Jan 2004, 08:52

You say that maintenance cost you $110 per month over six years. So that's $7920? Doesn't sound right! Surely you can't have spent that much in repairs on a mass production car? Why didn't you return it to the dealer when the warranty ran out?

25th May 2005, 23:40

I had one of these from 1996 until 1998. Lots of small problems - keys sticking in locks, trim falling off, dead window regulators on both doors. But the VR6 engine never let me down and the car never left me stranded. I sold it at 60,000 miles... Seems like a good time to sell a VW...

24th Sep 2008, 20:05

I have had this car for 3 years now, and it runs fine, 13 years old.

The only repair I needed to do is the clutch, which is great, for any old car.

The moon roof is broken, and the dash lights are out, but other than that, this car runs like a beaut.

1995 Volkswagen GTI VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Hard to beat the price/performance ratio in this one

Faults:

Nothing until recently (125,000 + miles)

One power window stopped working, alarm arms when you try to raise or lower it.

Heater fan switch went out.

Cruise control relay broke.

ABS failed, but the fix was pretty cheap.

General Comments:

This is my second GTi, and both have required little maintenace beyone wear items like brakes, shocks, etc.

It's fast, cheap to insure, gets great gas mileage and is all-around fun to drive.

VW's aren't always as trouble-free as some of the Japanese cars, but everyone who drive it or rides in it is surprised at what a great car it is for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 4 reviews