1997 Volkswagen GTI Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1997 Volkswagen GTI VR6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome+-

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car. It's a wonderful piece of machinery and really enjoyed driving it. Unfortunately, let the old man take it for a ride and he smacked it up.

General Comments:

Great car, ran great, looked great would recommend a VW to anyone. Quite expensive to fix if anything does go wrong. And it is a GTI VR6, so it's hard to find parts for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

14th Apr 2006, 13:23

You have trouble finding parts for a GTI VR6? There are tons of sites online that have any VW parts you need. Also, www.vwvortex.com is a forum site that can give you any information you need. I don't see how you have that much trouble. However, I will agree, if you love VW's, then you get used to the little things.

14th Apr 2006, 17:57

What is a GTI VR6? I've only heard of a VR6, is it better or worse.

10th Sep 2007, 15:35

GTI is the model, not the engine.?It's a golf with 2 doors. GTIs have a close ratio transmission, and came only with a manual trans. The suspension is stiffer and lower as well.

21st May 2009, 07:40

Hi all.

There is no GTI VR6 FYI. Each is a specific model and yes there are four and two door GTI's. The VR6 is just that - V six engine of 2800 cc. GTI is normally 1800 cc turbo charged engine.

1997 Volkswagen GTI VR6 VR6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance81430 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Fast, fun, and functional, a great car!

Faults:

Ignition switch @ 63k.

Right ball joint @ 72k.

General Comments:

This car really has been a pleasure to own. Sometimes the maintenance costs can be a bit high ($135 for brake pads), but if you can't keep up with the regular maintenance on these vehicles don't bother buying one, because your going to have problems. This is the most versatile vehicle I have ever owned. It's a blast on the highway, yet it's an awesome city car. Camping for a weekend is no problem, the car will swallow anything you need. The only thing which ticked me off was the ignition switch. The problem was that because the headlights come on when you turn the vehicle on, the headlights wouldn't turn on when you needed them. But if you played with the switch they would come on. I've heard some not so positive things about the newer models, too bad, hopefully they get it worked out. My paint and interior are both in good shape, as I am pretty meticulous about it. My recommendations for anyone looking to buy one of these would be to buy from a respectable source, and don't buy anything which you can't talk to the previous owner and get its maintenance history. A true VW enthusiast will love to talk about his previous car. There's a lot of pounded GTI's out there, but a keen eye can pick out the right one easily. Now VW better get their act together so I can buy a new one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2004

1997 Volkswagen GTI 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

I Like It Dude

Faults:

Left wheel bearing @ 10k

Hand brake cable @ 30k

Key-lock (trunk) @ 35k

Battery @ 40k

Speedometer @ 40k

Key-lock (driver side) @ 50k

Water pump @ 60k

Starter @80k.

General Comments:

Suspension is crapping out at 80k, but I think driving over a bridge to work and back didn't help (those damn expansion joints on the bridge are rough).

The locks freeze up in winter. Same problem on my last Volks. Totally sucks.

I like my car. It's got great highway speed performance, had nice handling (gonna get the suspension redone soon), and seemed pretty reliable overall.

Interior is great and doesn't wear out.

I think I'll keep it as a winter car when I get my next one (BMW, SAAB, or a Corvette :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

14th Oct 2003, 18:34

Far out dude. Have you driven a 60s Beetle or Kombi? Bulletproof reliability, easy on the environment. That's what its all about, man. BMW? SAAB? Vette? Think of the flowers and Dolphins dude. Don't you think? Chill out man. Peace man. (Cue: puff of smoke)

8th Sep 2004, 22:47

Some wd-40 works for the locks.

25th Dec 2007, 06:40

Can y tell me a little bit about the performance, horse power, top speed acceleration etc.

31st Oct 2011, 18:35

Never use WD-40 for locks, use graphite.

28th Mar 2012, 21:39

Graphite for locks is correct!! Never WD-40!!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews