2003 Volkswagen GTI Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2003 Volkswagen GTI 20th Anniversary 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance2300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Faults:

None to date.

General Comments:

The car has got some serious pep and is not afraid to show it.

The seats are very comfortable and I feel safe while driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2003

2003 Volkswagen GTI 20th Anniversary Edition 1.8 turbo Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Gas Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance2300 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Refinement, speed, agility, quality and beauty all wrapped up in a great price tag.

Faults:

Nothing has occurred to make me believe that there are any problems whatsoever with the car. It performs flawlessly and is beyond anything that I could have expected.

General Comments:

As far as refinement, sport, and quality and price go, no other manufacturer can compete with Volkswagen. This is quite possibly the most versatile car that I have ever been in direct contact with for less than $25,000. The interior has a build quality that evokes a much more luxurious marque, suck as that of BMW or Mercedes, and yet has a sportiness that emulates the cockpit of a jet fighter. The outside appearance is slightly understated compared to others in this field, but still most obviously a sporty car. As far as performance goes, the car is equally capable on the twistiest of roads as it is flat out on the highway. It is smooth, precise, and very, very quick. By far a real performance bargain.

All that and it still gets 30 miles-per-gallon!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2003

2003 Volkswagen GTI 20th anniversary 1.8 T from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance1500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A high performance

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This car is fitted with 18" Michelin Sport tires (225/40ZR18) and it handles like a racing car.

The Recaro seats are great.

The "JAZZ BLUE" color makes a lot of heads turn.

The 6 speeds gearbox is very precise.

The large front & rear vented disc brakes make a huge difference. This car stops on a dime.

To avoid much tire wear I decided to have the only option available: ESP (traction control).

Compared to my 95 Golf that I inherited from my brother this car is a Sports Bentley.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2003

2003 Volkswagen GTI 1.8T from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired112 miles
Most recent distance4850 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A masterful performance machine with all the luxuries

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. In fact it is in perfect condition. I am taking it for my service in about 200 miles. I got a new sound system installed, though people say and reviews say that the car has "electrical problems" I HAVE FOUND NONE!

General Comments:

Fast car. My Insurance didn't consider it a "Sports Car". The 8 airbags dropped the insurance alot. The suspension is quite amazing around the turns, the Anti-Skid Regulation is fun, helps in races, if you turn it off then after you launch turn it back on so you don't spin in every gear. The seats keep you in, the original sound system was amazing, but now its MUCH BETTER! I wish the shifting was better, but short shifter must be purchased now!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2003

2003 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance2300 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

A very sporty inexpensive Euro coupe!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

After considering many small compact cars, I decided there were no other fine values as the VW GTI 1.8 turbo!

It has more than enough horsepower and very decent handling capabilities. The seats hold you in place well and the 5-speed tiptronic transmission is exceptional.

In addition to its fine performance attributes, the Monsoon sound system provides excellent stereo sound.

I would highly recommend this model over the too expensive, soon to be released R32 model. Why spend over $10 thousand extra dollars to get to 60 mph in only.5 second faster?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

2003 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Good balance of features

Faults:

Plastic covers over screw heads and nuts pop off.

Performance tires make a lot of noise on coarse pavement.

General Comments:

Excellent driving position.

I have not been able to get this car to loose traction. Electronic Stabilization Control works well.

Excellent seats.

Power moon roof has many operating options.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2003

2nd Mar 2003, 06:05

Wow! You have done 160000 miles in a year?!

2003 Volkswagen GTI 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired103 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

Refined, classy and sporty... a pleasure to drive

Faults:

Had the car for a day and a half and the steering rack broke.

General Comments:

The dealer said that the car had a defective part which they have now ordered, but it has been 5 days since I dropped the car off and that is very stressing considering the car was driven for only a day and a half. The honeymoon is all messed up.

Besides this problem which may be just a freak thing, the car is amazing. I have friends who own older model Golfs and they all agree that the 03 GTI is a different car. It's comfort, fit and finish and smooth ride make it seem like a much more expensive car. Oh, and if you get the two tone 17" wheels, the car is classy yet sporty.

One thing to note is that if you get the black interior, finger prints and pretty much everything else shows up on it. The glove box grabs finger prints like NYC cops.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 16 reviews