1995 Volkswagen Jetta GLX VR6 from North America


Fun to drive, but unreliable


Four (count them, 4!) window regulators have broken in the 6 years I've owned this car. At $600 a pop every 1.5 years, this is getting expensive.

Broken door lock. That one cost $100.

Original stereo crackled, was replaced by the dealer (with a rebuild) shortly after buying the car. Second stereo wouldn't power the CD changer. Dealer replaced this one too.

Door trim keeps falling off. I've tried every kind of glue you can imagine to get these things to stick. Now I've just covered the ventilation holes behind the trim strips with masking tape.

Various other minor problems - the button that detects when the driver's door is closed is stuck in the closed position, so the overhead lights don't come on when door is opened.

Pull strap on the rear seat came off.

Trunk lock contact was covered with grease and caused the car to think that the trunk was not closed (dealer wanted to replace a microchip at the cost of several hundred dollars - luckily we found and fixed the problem first).

Buzzing sound from the speakers when the radio and seat heater were both on.

General Comments:

The car is a lot of fun to drive.

I like the fold-down seats and roomy trunk. Seats are comfortable. Nice stereo.

BUT, the negatives outweigh the positives. I'm sure there are other cars that are as much fun to drive and a lot more reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

18th Dec 2004, 02:41

I've owned a VW Jetta GLX VR6 for a few years and have had some issues with it. But, one must know that owning a VW is a responsibility. One must take care of the car and pay attention to it. Check the oil, check the brake pad wear, don't let little kids or friends play with the power windows or slam the doors. Because at 150,000 miles I can still roast the tires off of it... with the original clutch!!!9 YEARS OLD!!! No kidding. And for crying out loud learn to work on it. Paying $600 to replace a window regulator? It takes 1 hour maximum to replace a regulator. I've done 3!!! If you can't do it or don't have the tools I'm sure a neighbor would be happy to do it for say $300.00.

12th Sep 2007, 15:23

Dude, it sounds like your car just has electrical problems

The trim; take some fine grade sandpaper and just sand a little paint away so the glue has something to grip to.

And the trunk thing sounds like you just don't wash your car that much, or it's whoever who last worked on your cars fault for not cleaning it off.

1995 Volkswagen Jetta VR6 2.8 V6 from South Africa


I just love that engine!!!


Timing chain broke after I had the car 2 months, needed three new cylinders and valves etc.

Secondary waterpump broke.

Rattles and creaks.

General Comments:

This car has a ferocious appetite for gasoline, but the performance, handling, and general feel of the car equals things out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2001

1995 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America


This car is junk!


OK now, where do I start?

Cruise control.

Power mirrors.

Dash lights fixed twice.

Driver's door lock.

Trunk alarm will not disengage.

Door side molding falling off.

Car stumbles/stalls at low speeds or idling!!!

General Comments:

Nice car when new. Lots of small details. Quality interior. Comfortable.

Car is dog slow with the auto tranny.

However, the engine and electrical need serious help.

Dealer experience is expensive.

I think VW has their stuff together now, but I'm buying a Toyota or Honda as my next car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

7th Mar 2001, 18:04

Why buy a car that wasn't in existence when they started building in 1963, ever seen a classic Toyota or Honda? All I remember of those cheap rusting cars are NOTHING? Totally barren at classic car shows except for rare 1973 Datsun Z, How many old Chevys and Buicks do you find in the 70's alone, and they go back more unlike Toyota or Honda.

Look, if you want quality, Toyota and Honda is find for the short term, but buy a nice new 260 HP Buick Regal.

23rd Mar 2001, 19:10

You must be joking!! At least I sincerely hope you are...no Buick will EVER compare favorably against a German car, even the Jetta, which is one of the least expensive Teutons. If you really want quality, shell out some extra bucks and get an Audi or a BMW--any one of these cars will more than make up for the price premium they command. I know this, because I happen to be the happy/lucky owner of a VW Jetta GLX, a BMW M3, and an Audi A4 1.8T Quattro. Unless I suddenly win the lottery and can afford a Porsche, I will always own one of these great cars.

8th Sep 2001, 18:07

I concur.