2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America


If you want to form an intimate relationship with the tow truck man, buy a Jetta!!


Transmission blew out.

Headlights burnt out.

Brake light recall.

General Comments:

I went in for an oil leak and left $811 poorer after all spark plugs were replaced, apparently oil was spewing all over the inside. And several minor adjustments the shop was a little vague on describing.

The second mechanic replaced my engine speed sensor for $270, after I was left stranded on the side of the highway.

The third mechanic, a week and a half later, is currently replacing the transmission, after my Jetta once again died.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2007

2nd Mar 2007, 07:23

I would have to disagree with the previous comments made. I own a 2000 VW Jetta 2.0L and the car runs just as good as when it was driven off the lot. I have a history or babying my cars. It's oil is changed religiously. It has had all its scheduled maintenace. It is however, a 5 speed manual transmission. I have heard about many problems with automatic transmissions since a family member works in a transmission shop. However, the only problem I have encountered was the loss of use of the power mirrors. That's it. I have been completely satisfied with the performance of the Jetta. The cost of the parts is another story. But hey, it's a German car. I guess it's a lot cheaper than a BMW or Mercedes, right?

2000 Volkswagen Jetta gls TDI from North America


Awesome takes a beating


Mass air flow sensor is the only mechanical issue I have had.

General Comments:

Awesome car just need to maintain it properly and you will never have any issues. My car is rattle free no interior damage except cup holder. All else on the car is normal wear and tear. I am amazed as I have a tendency to destroy cars.

I drive them very hard without mercy still on original clutch which is amazing to me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2007

2000 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 2.0 from North America


Piece of German Crap


Electrical Issues since purchased.

Check Engine light on all the time.

Water leak into interior.

Burns oil.

Dash lights have gone out.

General Comments:

Cannot wait to trade this car into the dealer. Currently enjoying the massive headache of trying to locate an interior leak on a car that is 6 years old. Ridiculous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2007

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America


Great car!!


Nothing, just the clamp for the exhausted broke last week, but exhaust is great, the clamp broke cost 20 bucks for replacement at midas.

General Comments:

Car was built in germany and has been to 35 states and 4 countries so far. I get 46 MPG and its not even a TDI its gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2007

2000 Volkswagen Jetta from North America


A true waste of money.. good engine, but the car falls apart around it


Cracked oil pan (it's aluminum not steel)

Broken key system

Broken door locks

Broken mirror

Driver side window mech broke Twice

Brakes light on all the time

Several oxygen sensors

Two thermostats


Cup holder is cheap and broke almost immediately

Glove box is garbage

Heating on seats broke

Now the transmission is slipping with only 70k on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th January, 2007

2000 Volkswagen Jetta turbo diesel from North America


Piece of junk


Air conditioning wasn't operable the day we picked it up.

Driver's side power window failed. took it to dealer and they repaired at no charge. three weeks later the passenger side window failed. we took it back in and this time they told us that there was a recall. we asked them why they didn't fix both windows when we brought the car in the first time.

Brake light switch burned out twice. stranding in a parking lot. had to be towed.

Headlights and brake lights burn out frequently.

General Comments:

Never have been able to focus on anything positive about this car, have had to spend so much time having it repaired monthly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th December, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8L turbo from North America


Poorly crafted automobile


Smells like Crayon.

Rubber Coating on door handles and radio dials started to wear after a couple of months.

Windows fell inside the doors.

Console latch broke.

Glove box latch broke.

Oxygen Sensor went out several times.

Turbo has been repaired.

Timing belt broke, which cost $3,500 to repair.

Brakes don't work properly.

Front fender has been torn off 3 times... and that is about $150 repair.

Be prepared to say no to the Service jerks at the dealership... they will always have about $400 of repairs that they try to sell you every time you take the car in.

I hate this car.

General Comments:

Volkswagen is the IKEA of automobiles... they look cool, but beware...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2006