2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS VR6 2.8L V6 from North America


A fun ride, but very high maintenance and repair costs


Cruise Control switch broke at 4,772 miles.

Power mirror switch snapped off at 22,600 miles.

Low coolant light came on at 23,500 miles; the water pump had to be replaced.

Water was leaking onto the passenger side floor at 30,000 miles. Problem was the pollen filter and cover was broken and had to be replaced.

Passenger side window fell into the door at 30,000 miles. Window regulator was replaced. Had to be replaced again at 40,000 miles.

Glove box lid broke at around 35,000 miles.

Temperature sensor stopped working at 40,000 miles.

Check engine light came on at 48,000 miles. Had to replace air valve and catalytic converter.

At 50,000 mile service it was determined that the main cooling fan was not working and had to be replaced as well as a cracked serpentine belt.

Center console lid latch snapped.

General Comments:

This car's performance is great and it is a ton of fun to drive. The V6 engine has great low-end torque, and even retains some acceleration power in 5th gear at 70 mph. Handling is great, although you do pay for it with a bumpy ride on a rough roads or when you go over speed bumps.

The interior of the car was very nice when the car was new, but is now starting to show some wear with peeling plastic, etc. I haven't had any troubles with rattles and squeaks, which I have been happy about.

The biggest complaint I have about this car is the maintenance and repair costs. I knew when I was purchasing it that it wouldn't be as reliable as a Japanese car, but I figured if I maintained it well, I could minimize any problems I had. It has been to the dealership every 10,000 miles for scheduled maintenance since I bought it, and had the oil changed every 5,000. Unfortunately, this has not paid off in fewer repair costs. Also, because it is a German car, it is difficult to have even simple maintenance done anywhere but the dealer. Even changing the oil requires an Audi-made in-pan oil filter, which requires me to call ahead to any oil change place in advance to verify they have my filter in stock, as they often do not. I understand this is unique to the VR6 engine.

My only advice if you are considering buying a Jetta, is to be aware of the high costs to fix anything. I love the way it drives, looks and feels, but the maintenance costs have really been adding up, and I am becoming doubtful that I will be able to afford to drive it for 10 years or put 150,000 miles on it, like I had hoped when I bought it new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd August, 2004

14th Oct 2004, 12:07

Interesting, I thought I was reading my own review here. I had similiar problems. Very true that many car repair places can't fix them, VW doesn't release the OEM codes to the public.

16th May 2005, 17:03

This sounds like my own vehicle as well. I own a 2000 VR6 and the repair costs are really adding up. I maintain my vehicle down to the car wash, with an oil change every 3500 miles. It has been in the shop constantly for coolant leaks, that never seem to be the same part leaking, so it has been quite pricey, and list of other problems would take far to long to write. I love to drive it, but am cautious about driving it to much longer for fear that it will break again. I never had any of these issues with my previous Asian made vehicles, and most likely will go back to them after this vehicle.

6th Dec 2006, 19:24

You can search the web for any recalls on any car for free. you find the recall that happend on your car you take it to the dealership and they HAVE to fix it for FREE!

7th Jan 2009, 15:49

WOW! My 2000 V6 is in at Volkswagen right now being fixed for similar problems.. My coolant has leaked twice now in the past 4 months, even after being fixed the first time. Two days after I bought it, the glove box handle snapped off and shortly after the cup holders followed. I take good care of my car and it has been a complete nuisance from the moment I drove away with it. Shocks needed to be replaced, it has no block heater and always dies in winter. I refuse to ever look at purchasing another volkswagen again!!

12th Jul 2010, 13:40

My experience has been similar to the previously posted comments. In April or May, I had repair work (replace cross over pipe) on my Jetta VR6 and it was quite pricey. This month another problem arises with a hose leaking and I am disappointed. It is a nice car, but the repairs are astronomical. I am just venting.

18th Oct 2010, 15:17

I am at my wits end with my daughter's 2004 Jetta. It has a leak on the passenger side, and I have brought it to 2 places, and no one can find the problem. One guy told us to change the windshield, and we did. She has mold growing under her seat from the water, and she has ice on the inside from the wet floor in the winter. I will never buy a Jetta again.

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLX VR6 from North America


A true luxury performance sport sedan at an economy car price


There really has not been anything major that has gone wrong with my Jetta.

The windshield washer fluid runs out to fast and the computer on the dash will keep saying "Top up wash fluid" but this is not a major problem.

Sometimes when I leave the headlights on the buzzer will not sound when exit the car.

General Comments:

This car is extremely quick and has great handling.

The interior of the car is really comfortable and ergonomically designed.

I really like all the special features this car has, several that I would not have expected a Jetta to have on it. For example memory seats, heated seats, and reverse tilting mirrors to name a few.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004