2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


I can't recommend this car.


Lets skip to the chase:

My mass air flow sensor failed on the way to the beach.

My glove box broke, the cost to fix was 250 dollars parts and labor.

Rubber coating on door handles coming off, also ash tray covers broke.

Turbo sensor and turbo hose problems, we paid the dealer to fix.

Gas gauge comes and goes, my wife has to use the tripmeter to be safe, for example, the gas gauge said she had a half tank full, when she filled up it took over 10 gallons of gas.

A/C comes and goes, took to the dealer and they could not find the problem, even though it stopped working on them too.

The car stalls for no reason, this is the most disturbing problem to date because it's a safety issue.

General Comments:

I will be selling this car soon. I also feel it is to unsafe for my wife to drive, especially after reading all these other complaints. If this car is in a wreck, how do we know the air bags will deploy properly? Good luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th October, 2004

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GL from North America


Great engine, but spend your money on something else


Driver and passenger side door locks replaced.

The CD player has been replaced four times.

The glove compartment has broken twice.

The cup holder has broken twice.

The trunk no longer opens.

The front bumper has started coming off with me not hitting anything!

General Comments:

The car is great when it comes to handling, and I have no complaints about the engine. However, everything else in the car that could break has. CD players, door locks, trunk latch, cup holders, dash lights, glove compartments have all had to be replaced, some more than once.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2004

29th Oct 2004, 17:39

Hi, I have had the same problems that you have had. And I just started to fix them. I have a 2000 jetta GL also. well just wanted to share the info. I wish the company would fix this problem with out cost to us at all.

25th Jan 2005, 14:39

Wow it looks like I'm not the only one with these problems I had a 1996 jetta and never had 1 problem, but my 2000 model just suck always have problems and that stupid check engine light never comes off.. VW used to be known for quality, but that has all changed.

4th Jun 2006, 17:15

We are buying my fiance a used 2000 Jetta GLS 5 spd.

Funny about the cup holders, glove compartment, etc...

The car has a broken cup holder in the front, it just slides out and onto the floor.

We had the dealer guy fix the glove compartment before we decide to buy it because the latch was broken and the whole thing was broken off the hinges...

I am wary of buying this car for him, but he really wants it and I can't talk him out of it.

I am scared...

13th May 2009, 10:11

We have a 2003 Jetta and took it to the dealership for free inspection as we had a coupon for it. So it was free: however, when it was returned to us: the glove compartment was broken. I've read several comments on the VW Jetta and agree that the car handling is great, but the inside parts are terrible.

28th Aug 2009, 09:10

I agree totally with everybody; the parts on the Jetta are really terrible. I own an 05 and my glove compartment broke. My son drove the car, got a flat tire, and when changing it the jack fell and put a dent in the car. That jack is a complete awful design.

2000 Volkswagen Jetta VR-6 from North America


The car is beautiful to look at, but incredibly frustrating mechanically.


The engine fan only worked intermittently, causing overheating in the car.

Both front windows fell and quick working on two separate occasions before being fixed properly.

The back, driver-side window occasionally will not work.

The ignition coil had to be replaced.

The front fender fell off on the freeway, tearing the other underside covers and requiring $500 of replacement work.

The MAF sensor had to be replaced.

The remote keys do not always unlock the doors.

Another engine sensor needs replaced and the car is now in the shop for that.

The paint has come off the inside door-handles.

The air meter was faulty.

The engine started miss-firing on the freeway, causing instantaneous loss of power.

Car occasionally won't start unless jumped, even though the battery and alternator are supposedly fine.

General Comments:

This car has needed major repairs approximately every six months from the day I purchased it new.

The warranty is insufficient given the numerous mechanical failures that keep occurring in the car.

So far, I have not had problems with the glove box, center console hinge, drink holder, or seat belts, but I am very nervous after reading the many other comments.

The car does not get very good gas mileage for such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th October, 2004