2000 Volkswagen Jetta V6 from North America


I tell all my friends to stay away from VW Jettas!


Passenger side window regulator broke after original warranty was up.

Mass air flow sensor had to be replaced at 32,000 (after original warranty was up).

Passenger side door lock sticks more often than not.

Throttle body needed to be replaced at around 40,000 miles.

Lubricant from the door leaks year around leaving unsightly goop both inside and outside of the car.

General Comments:

This car is a joy to drive when it's in full working order (which hasn't been the case for the last 20,000+ miles).

Currently, it is actually dangerous to drive because the car dies when downshifting -- especially dangerous when making a left turn in front of oncoming traffic. The engine also just dies when idling at a stop light or when waiting in a drive-through.

I had to wait three+ months before my authorized dealer could even get a replacement mass air flow sensor because demand for that part was so high!

I will never purchase another VW again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

19th Jan 2004, 19:40

I bought a pre-owned 2000 Jetta, and my mass air flow sensor broke at almost exactly 32,000 miles as well.

14th Jul 2004, 13:08

(Original reviewer here now)

Well, guess what -- the passenger side window regular broke AGAIN last night. The window wasn't even being used at the time -- it was already rolled down about two inches when we were heard something like plastic break/snap loudly. We couldn't figure out what it might have been at first and then it occurred to us that maybe it was the window again. Luckily we were able to "push" it back up manually.

Somehow I don't think VW will refund parts/labor or extend the warranty on this AGAIN :p.

18th Aug 2004, 13:16

I am actually proud of my VW Jetta. I bought it used, as have others that have commented, and it now has 85,000 miles on it. The mass air flow sensor has just now went bad on it.

I see know other problems with my Jetta and I will continue to buy VW automobiles. I am a very satisfied customer.

8th Feb 2005, 20:59

This is my first VW Jetta and probably my last. I love to drive it, most solid you can get, but owing it for only five months with numerous problems with the front seats, Mass Air Flow, Coil Pack and now Traction Control. I don't know if I should cut my loses now being the extended warranty is up come Aug. 05' or give it a chance. The total bill had it not been for the warranty would have been $1200.00 a lot for a car with only 45,000 on it.

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS TDI 1.9L TDI from North America


Nice to look at nice to hold, but it will break


Oilpan damaged twice during normal driving. The pan is cast aluminum, and not forgiving of the slightest bump. Also the car is so ridiculously low you cannot avoid striking the pan just going into and out of parking lots, driveways, etc.

The last time the pan was damaged, my turbo was destroyed by oil starvation caused when the oil leaked out.

Everything inside the car breaks.

General Comments:

I love this car, for travelling, for city driving it is comfortable, and surprisingly quick and agile.

I hate the crappy cup holders, the cheap fittings inside the cabin, and the radio's poor reception.

I am a longtime VW owner. I didn't think VW would make anything worse than the A3 Jetta. Now I see that the A4 is better in operations, but it's is a flimsy and weak pop can with milk jug plastic fittings inside that break if you look at them the wrong way.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


A train wreck


Where to start:

Driver's and passenger's windows fell down at 7000 and 9000 miles respectively. Driver's window fell again at 12000, replaced with metal retaining clips as a result of recall.

Mass air flow sensor went bad twice, triggering a check engine light at 13000 and 17000, replaced under warranty. Check engine light came on again at 26000. Hm, Not under warranty anymore.

Overhead lighting switch just decided to fall out while on the highway at 14000 miles.

Exhaust leak at 27000 miles.

28000 miles: car doesn't accelerate correctly, it is jumpy during acceleration, and doesn't shift properly.

28500 miles: when the car starts in cold weather, I stare in terror as the idle RPMS bounce back and forth between 600 and 2500 for about 5 minutes before settling out.

Best one yet, 29500 miles. Car will not shift from park. The locking mechanism that makes you push the brake before shifting will not disengage. The brake needs to be pumped anywhere from 6 to 130 times before the mechanism disengages and lets you shift.

General Comments:

This car is 3 years old and has under 30000 miles. At the time of purchase, I was under the impression that Volkswagen was the pinnacle of reliability and craftsmanship. After all, you still see old beetles and Jettas on the road today. Apparently I was sorely mistaken.

This is a sharp looking car, easy on the eyes and has clean lines. It is unfortunate that beneath the appealing surface, this car is a maintenance and workmanship nightmare.

There is no excuse for putting out an automobile that is this unreliable after only 3 years and 30000 miles.

Time for me to start shopping around again.

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I know it got a little lengthy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st December, 2003

15th Jan 2004, 13:05

Thank you for making me laugh. I'm so ticked off at Volkswagen right now (Air Mass Flow Sensor).