2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America


The Jetta is a true Honda-Eater


Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The 2.0 may only have 115 hp, but runs very well and easily passes Honda's and Toyota's that have a little more power than the Jetta.

The forth generation of the Jetta and Golf is very sleek looking and easy on the eyes. The Jetta stands out in the crowd from all of the other cars, even though some manufacturers seem to be copying Volkswagen's looks. Inside and out my Jetta looks absolutely stunning; everything seems to be manufactured with armored-car construction.

The driver is always the center of things in this car; the seats are very comfortable and never make you sore like Ford's and Honda's. The seating position is high and very adjustable; you always feel in control.

Most of the controls are simple to use and the lighting is the most impressive in the industry. There was attention to detail in every aspect of this car's design.

Some owners give Jetta's and Volkswagen's in general a bad reputation because they've either experienced poor service at the dealership or are over-exaggerating the severity of the problems they experience. Many of the problems noted in other reviews are caused by abusive driving ("ragging") and would cause similar problems in all cars. The most common issues with Jettas are 1. window regulators (which were recalled on most models), 2. Ignition coils (which were recalled on most models), 3. Brake light sensors (which were recalled on most models), and 4. Mass air-flow sensors (which I've never known anyone with this problem so I'm not sure if it was recalled). Don't let over-exaggerating owners deter you from purchasing a Jetta; Jetta's and Volkswagens have been in my large family for years with no problems what so ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

18th Jul 2004, 03:28

I wonder how someone can exaggerate over a broken MAF sensor or an ignition coil. Either it is broken (and in the worst case you are left on the emergency lane) or it is not. People who have changed MAF twice or more during the car's life, or have been left stranded 4-6 times with a bad coil just cannot be overreacting: there are cars not suffering from such faults, and they happen to be japanese. Now could one argue that people who buy VWs rag them, whereas people buying Honda's do not? Based on the number of blue faces in this site and some web search, I think the answer on the above question is no.

18th Jul 2004, 12:09

The vast majority of VW owners who have posted comments about on this list are unhappy with their cars and the service from the dealership. Some might be over-exaggerating, but the unhappiness of the owners seems to be borne out by other surveys (such as Consumer Reports). VWs have less poor reliability. By the way, I have a 2000 Honda Civic with 93,000 miles on it. Nothing as of note has gone wrong with it. Why don't you report back when your car has done 93,000 miles, and we will see how happy you are then.

23rd Jul 2004, 16:12

Frankly, I'm borderline insulted that anyone would suggest the problems I've had with my VW Jetta are because of the way I drive it. I treat this car better than 95% of the population treats their vehicles. I've never raced it. I've never even red lined it. I had no problems with my previous cars (Toyota Camry, Honda Civic). Everything points to this car being piece of garbage.

And that's before we even consider the after sales service you're likely to get at VW vs. Toyota or Honda...

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLX VR6 from North America


Piece of junk


Transmission lurches, two to three second delay before engaging.

Ignition coils had to be replaced three times.

Window regulators broke.

Power seat broke.

Light bulbs all too frequently burn out.

On board computer pixels burning out.

CD player works intermittently.

General Comments:

This car is plagued with problems. Every week there is something wrong with it and it usually winds up costing a lot of money.

Volkswagen customer service is the absolute worst corporate down to the dealers.

Do yourself a favor and do not buy a Volkswagen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

15th Apr 2005, 15:34

You are absolutely right. I just wish there could be a class action suit filed against the company for the faulty cars they sell and the downright unethical customer service practices they engage in!!

11th Jul 2006, 02:02

I have the same problems with my car. I also had both driver and passenger windows fall into the door. Plus my check engine light decides to go on and off when it feels like it. I finally paid the car off, and I'm trading it in for a Toyota.

19th Sep 2006, 16:53

I am very disappointed with this car. I bought it used last October and have had to put it in the shop seven times with different issues each time. In August, I replaced a motor for the cooling fan, belts and added a tune-up. Today, Sept. the 19th, I was told that it needed a new thermostat and catalytic converter. The work last month was right at $900.00 and now its going to be another $700.00 plus. I just can't do it. Is the only answer trading it in? I guess I really messed up by trusting the VOW name. Call me sorry that I ever got the car.