2001 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 7 of 83

2001 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Drivers window, glove box, armrest, headliner, coils - the coils were cheaper at the VW dealer than at the auto parts store.

General Comments:

Otherwise a great car. Keep up on the maintenance, use Mobil 1 and Shell, and run forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2010

2001 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.2 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Horrible!!!

Faults:

Bad turbo from day one; dealer claiming ignorance.

Engine blew shortly after.

General Comments:

We bought the car for my 19 year old daughter. 2 days later we brought it back; engine light on. Dealer would not return the money.

Well long story short, we replaced the turbo, only to find out the car had an oil compression problem all along, which blew the new turbo. Dealer knew it, but he didn't want to be responsible for the engine. That's why he insisted that it was just the turbo.

Turbo was not covered in the 90 day warranty. Right now it's in the shop. We're looking for new engine. $4,000 possible cost!!

VW Jetta - worst car ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2010

12th Jan 2010, 14:24

You should have had a 3rd party mechanic inspect it before buying. Now you are paying for it. This is such a sad story. I have had good luck with my Volkswagens.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta VR6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Cheaply made, and the dealers act stupid and fight you on anything that needs fixed!

Faults:

Right away the transmission started slipping and I had to fight the dealer to replace it under warranty. They supposedly fixed it, and 5 years later it's already slipping and doing the same thing.

The right side window fell down and the dealer made me pay for it. It was later recalled.

Middle arm rest broke.

Front of the car must have fallen off 20 times.

Plastic door cover is broken off the right side door.

When I put the heat on, it smells like maple syrup.

The ABS brakes are no good.

Check engine light stays on.

Both electric seats wobble, and brackets are broken.

The glove box broke off.

Basically these german cars are built cheaply to fall apart in hopes that you will get a new car every 3 years. These cars fall apart.

General Comments:

Cheaply made cars. Volkswagens are only good for 2 to 3 years, then unload.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2010

12th Jan 2010, 13:41

Gee, I had a Jetta last for 228,000 miles.

I had a Beetle that I traded in when it was 29 years old and still got $2500 for it.

My last Volkswagen was still running like new when I sold it 4 years ago - it was a 1993.

3rd Feb 2010, 16:06

I'm looking to purchase a used well kept inside 2001 VR6.. but it's for using for work to home purposes.. for a 1500-2000 price. Is this gonna be an alright decision? Please let me know.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLX from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Everything at one point or another has needed to be fixed or replaced in this junk. I hate VW. Each year for the past 4 years I dumped $5000 - 6000 at the dealers and other places to fix this piece of...

Transmission, batteries x 4, alternator. Everything has broken, even though I only drove 80 000 km in a 8 year time frame. What a piece of junk. VW can keep it's overpriced eurosnob cars in Europe.

General Comments:

For my next car I purchased a Volvo instead of a VW or Audi because I will never buy VW ever again. The way the service was handled as well, I will also never buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th December, 2009

19th Dec 2009, 07:12

It's not a lemon... it's a VW!

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Faults:

At this point, nothing else can go wrong.

I have replace the mass air flow meter, $300, the cheap interior such as the glove box, $120, rear cup holders, $150, and the other cheap plastic items in the front, about $150.

I spent over 2600 when the A/C compressor, thermostat, A/C dryer and timing belt decided to go out all at the same time.

The car drinks oil like water, no oil leaks though. Then one day the trunk stopped opening for some reason, so I had to pay almost $200 for a plastic piece by the trunk.

I have replace the battery over 6 times, for some reason even when I put a brand new battery in my VW, it always comes back to the dealer with a bad cell. And right now the check engine light has come back on... and now it is the catalytic converter... Gratefully there is a recall on this, so I will be spending $0.

After replacing practically every major part on this car besides the engine, I got smarter and decided to buy the VW fix it yourself book at auto zone. And realized how ripped off VW customers are. I was told I would have to pay 200 for a fan to replace the cooling fans... and was pissed off to buy the fan for 30 dollars and find that all I had to do was remove 3 screws and a plug in!!! I am a girl and I DID IT MYSELF...

I am a college student and the last thing I need in a car is reliability issues. This is my first car and I love it despite the problems I HAVE EXPERIENCE.. BUT VW NEEDS TO GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER AND STOP SELLING BS... IF NOT I WILL TAKE MY SERVICES ELSEWHERE. THIS IS MY JR YR IN COLLEGE, I WILL BE BUYING A NEW CAR NEXT YR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2009

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 270 reviews