2004 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 7 of 16

2004 Volkswagen Jetta from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Unreliable

Faults:

Some days my car won't start it turns over, you can hear the fuel pump kick in, but it won't stay running it just dies, like there is no gas in the car. Then other days it starts and runs perfect. It has a mind of its own, but it is not reliable. I can't get stranded with my children, because it decides not to start.

General Comments:

It's fun to drive when it works.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2007

29th Oct 2007, 14:57

Could be the fuel pump is defective or over heated? I had the same problem with another VW.

8th Dec 2008, 08:24

I am having this problem now as well...

2004 Volkswagen Jetta gls 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Fun to drive disaster

Faults:

Clutch, Clutch, Clutch, Clutch.

General Comments:

We bought the car from the previous owner who was irritated over an early clutch replacement which the dealer refused to honor under warranty. We had to replace it again at 38,000 miles, and now again for the car's 4th clutch at 42,000 miles. The internet is right, this car has a poorly designed and problematic clutch. I also was peeved at VW because the 100,000 transferable warranty is only transferable if you do it in a ridiculous 15 day deadline after purchasing the car. I did not even get the title for 30 days which I needed to transfer the warranty. Obviously VW is just wanting to squirm out of their warranty obligations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2007

2nd Sep 2007, 00:26

I know that some of the 1.8T clutches are bad, but having to go through four clutches in less than 42,000 miles?

I would say that driving style is at least partially to blame in this situation.

8th Oct 2007, 14:14

2004 Jetta, the first clutch went at 18,000 because "I don't clutch and shift correctly" I complained so VW paid 50% of the repair. 44,000 second clutch gone. I guess the first 35 years of driving standard transmissions without a problem was a fluke.

15th Apr 2008, 05:26

Make sure you use synthetic oil in your 1.8t/tdi, and do not use OEM clutches or brakes from those clowns at VW! Use first line higher end after market stuff and you're good... not to mention it's cheaper.

17th Feb 2014, 01:11

We have had ours since new, a 2004 TDI wagon. 244000km, original clutch, lots of city driving.

Bummer about your clutch, maybe it was assembled on a bad day?

2004 Volkswagen Jetta from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Poorly manufactured

Faults:

The front windshield cracked, not because it was struck with a rock or anything like that, 3 times.

When opening the trunk one day, the hinge broke off and the trunk door pinched the rear glass causing it to shatter.

The most recent issue - driving on a busy road, the car just died. It turns out that the electrical harness failed according to the dealer.

Strange sounds come out the rear of the car. The dealership insists that there is nothing wrong. They insisted that nothing would happen again after each incident I mentioned above also. I'm just waiting for the next issue to see what they will say.

This car has had several recalls and needed to be returned to the dealership for correction.

I have had it with volkswagen.

General Comments:

Too many issues for a car that is used on a minimal bases. I clock 12,000 miles or less a year. In new york, even though you own a car, you use the subway a lot more.

I am done with Volkswagen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th August, 2007

2004 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Solid, quick, comfortable and economical

Faults:

The brake light switch began turning on the brake lights about 6 months after I bought the car. The dealer mentioned this had been recalled and replaced it for free.

After a few more months the driver side door did not close properly because the metal strike plate had become loose. The dealer adjusted and tightened it when I had it in for an oil change and has been fine since then - almost 3 years ago.

General Comments:

This is the Jetta TDI wagon version of the car. These were assembled in Germany which likely differentiates them from the Mexican assembled VWs. It has been trouble free with the exception of two annoyances. I can't call them issues because they were so small and were taken care of so effectively.

This car has been amazing. Very good gas mileage even after 46000 miles. The pickup is really amazing especially when you consider that diesels in the past were not very sporty. This car has a lot of power from such a small engine. Passing on the highway is such a pleasure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2007

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 50 reviews