16th Feb 2009, 09:00

As a driver of a Jetta 1.8t, I have never had these problems myself. As for the car "jumping" into gears when accelerating, that is common since the car is a turbo. It will automatically drop shift to third to build RPMs so it can accelerate faster and spool up the turbo. And I'm sure every driver has thrown themselves forward when they let off the gas suddenly after accelerating.

6th Mar 2009, 11:36

I think you probably have a lemon car. I had a VW Jetta GLI. It had a few fixes, but that is about it.

Just trade it and get something else if you are really having a bad luck with your VW.

24th Mar 2009, 18:29

I am having similar problems with my car! I have had my car for almost 5 years and it was great till a couple of months ago. The problems I am having are knocking when I am making a u-turn, I feel like it jumps from gear to gear or loses power when accelerating, the check engine light comes on and off, I just replaced both brake lights, and my headlights look foggy like there is something on the plastic! I am so mad because my car will be paid off in August!

1st Jan 2010, 17:38

Well I agree the engine seems bullet proof, I have a 2000 Beetle TDI, the power windows have been fixed, I don't know how many times, and are broke now, but UP, so I leave them there, (touch that switch I'll break yer arm).

Now I'm having the dead battery - radio doesn't work problem, which the dealer acts like he's never heard of it, but enough people on here have.

Brake light switch is changed regularly... about the same as an oil change.

My 2004 Jetta TDI has the back doors work when they want to, so you have to leave people out, or not, you never know... and I can't wait until the radio starts acting up on this one... only a matter of time from what I've been seeing on here...


13th Apr 2011, 16:44

Having been a VW owner nearly my whole life, I must disagree with your assessment of VWs in general.

I've owned 60s Bugs, 75 Scirocco, 84 Quantum, 84 Jetta Wolfsburg, 84 Rabbit GTI, 86 Golf, 2001 Jetta TDI, 2003 Passat.

The two Jettas that I've owned have been my favorites. The first went over 100,000 miles before being totaled in an accident. The second is still going strong with over 200,000 miles on it. Neither ever had anything other than ordinary maintenance issues due to age/mileage.

20th Jan 2012, 19:58

Really, because you guys are lucky then. I've read a lot of these reviews, and most aren't positive. I drive 3 hours a day, mostly highways as a commuter. Me and my wife bought ours, a 2004 TDI, about 3 years ago. Let me tell you, it's been a nightmare. I knew their weak points, but wow, mine is a big mudder fuggin lemon.

I bought it for 17 grand. I have put another 8600 in just to fix one problem. Flickering power. Sensor after sensor, relay after relay. We have in 40 000 km have had 6 power relays replaced.

They did recalls on the brake thingy that set off the EPC. That was at least paid for, but glow plugs got replaced twice. First time we paid for it. Basically what our major problem from day one is, is that the power flickers so bad it's stalled out the car. Light turn out on the highway. Tried switching alternators. Hands down a crap car.

I was so excited to get this car. So so disappointed. About 600 to 800 km per tank. Wow, who cares when you have to drop so much in repairs.

If had to do it again, I would have never bought this car. My Focus got me 250,000km before it got smashed, and it cost me maybe tops of 3000 the whole time I owned it, other than maintenance.

Oh, and if I'm making VW look bad, tell 'em to call me. They were supposed to get back to me 8 months ago. They make themselves look bad.