1993 Volkswagen Passat GLS 2.8 VR6 from North America

Summary:

Good bang for the buck

Faults:

The radiator cooling fan stopped working. After some diagnosis and no help from the dealership, I replaced the defective unit for a total of $50.00, thus saving any future issues with having to replace the "head gasket."

General Comments:

This car is a very smooth performer on the highway, the seats are comfortable for long trips, and the gauges are large and easy to read.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2010

27th Jun 2012, 20:50

I too have problem with radiator fan. Where did you find your replacement?

1993 Volkswagen Passat GL 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Summary:

Piece of CRAP

Faults:

Where to start? Everything you can think of, it's the third engine in the car; front end keeps falling apart, turbo failed on it. Pretty much everything falls apart.

Gauges never worked. Took it in to get it fixed, never happened.

General Comments:

Don't ever ever get one. Parts cost a lot, same with repairs, and it drive like a brick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2009

29th May 2009, 08:38

The Volkswagen Passat you guys in the USA get is built in Brazil, which is why it is of inferior quality, they are actually good reliable cars elsewhere (the German built ones most other countries get).

29th May 2009, 11:34

We get the German ones too, please check your facts.

1993 Volkswagen Passat GLX VR6 from North America

Summary:

Piece of crap to avoid at all costs!

Faults:

Transmission went.

Heater core went.

Heated seats quit.

Sunroof leaks.

ABS sensor quit.

Fan control switches quit.

Auxillary water pump leaked.

Camshaft broke and engine is no more.

General Comments:

When running this car is very peppy,handles well and is very comfortable.

Unfortunately the repairs far outweigh the happy running time. More has been spent on repairs than the car was worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2008

1993 Volkswagen Passat GLX 2.8 from North America

Summary:

One and only

Faults:

I had to buy some kind of Oxygen regulator for the car which cost me $300 Canadian, Also had to do some minor rust repairs. Handles froze on me during the winter had to oil them u.

General Comments:

Over I am satisfied with the car, not many real problems, compared to what the other users had to say. Overall I enjoy this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2008

1993 Volkswagen Passat from North America

Summary:

Horrible money pit

Faults:

Heater broke at 40,000 miles.

Sunroof broke at 50,000.

Auto trans broke at 60,000 and not fixable - it's computer controlled, and very expensive and complicated. This year of VW Passat is a lemon.

Dealer service beyond bad. Very few independent shops that will work on late model water cooled VWs in Southern California.

General Comments:

Fun when I first bought it, and quickly became a nightmare. I will avoid VWs of all types from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

1993 Volkswagen Passat GLX vr6 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Elegant and ritzy with money

Faults:

First got it with needed new ignition switch, 3 pieces. took about $400 with labor and parts. then eats oil up at about a 1000 miles, had oil change with full tank of oil, and almost burned out engine. check for oil. water hose broke, needed to replace, or use proxy patch for leak, may increase engine temperature. good as long as its stable or below 240. door handle broke, replaced with new screw. sunroof broken off track, can can Dclose manually by pulling on metal while closing on the track. window tilts inward on passenger side, may need new regulator. can take the keys out while car is in drive sometimes, parked, as soon as you put keys back in its moving, dangerous if you put keys in and quickly get out of car to check engine. always check antifreeze level. smoke from any part of heater hose is climate control, but antifreeze connection makes matters more serious. can't tell if previous owner did not maintain it or not, but is rare car, but parts are available if you look or order. a bit expensive to maintain, but a car with a 50000 dollar look with some nice wheels, maintenance, and a fresh paint job if you got the money. could be a lot cheaper if your get the parts yourself and maintain it and replace it ahead of time to keep it up to date. BMW competition if upgraded for half the price with the full look in its own way. You can HAve THE INDIGLO RACING GUAGES INSTALLED, can see the blue glow from 3 blocks away with tints, if thats you. nice look.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2006