1993 Volkswagen Passat vr6 2.8L from North America

Summary:

I think the V.W. would have done better

Faults:

Paint started to wear out.

Coolant hose burst.

Ac compressor went out costing S1,400.

Temperature guage does not work.

Seats heater doesn't work.

Ac fan broke.

Ac switch panel broke.

It came with a wrong spare tire.

Sun roof broke.

Rear view mirror fell during adjustment.

Sometimes the car just turns off while driving.

General Comments:

I think the car is not a good model, It's easy to handle and fast, but it's not a very strong car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2004

1993 Volkswagen Passat vr6 V6 from North America

Summary:

Terrible Car

Faults:

Dead Battery.

3 new batteries in 2 years.

2 weeks in VW dealership.. they could not solve the electrical problems.. Their quote to me the last time I was their.." this model year was known to be quirky"

Mass Airflow Sensor went out $450 new. $225 used.

Replace Heater Core $500 parts and Labor.

Had to jump over 100 times in 3 years.

General Comments:

I will never buy a VW again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 22:59

I currently own a '93 Passat GLX VR6 and I have to disagree with this negative review. Sure, I have had a few problems, i.e., ft. passenger door handle sticks, catalytic converter had a rattle that developed into a hole, ignition switch that has multiple personalities (sometimes she go, sometimes no), but I must say that overall I am pleased. My VeeDub has approx. 130,000 miles when I got her, but good golly, miss molly, she STILL gets up and goes!!! I have owned 6 vehicles in my 12 years of driving, ranging from compact cars to luxury vans, and I have never found a more pleasant driving experience. The VW ads say "Drivers Wanted", and until I owned one, it never made sense to me. But now I know. She sticks to the road in the wettest, tightest curves; she throws me in the back seat at take off if I want her to; she doesn't cost me an arm and a leg in gas. Parts are hard to find and EXPENSIVE in my little one horse town, but I will never own anything, but a VW again!!! (If there is a God, I will get a '00 VW Jetta GTi)

You must have gotten a ride that had been mistreated. Get your Passat some counseling and a massage (inside and out), and then get ready for the best relationship a human and a machine can have!!! Harold W.

1993 Volkswagen Passat GL TD 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Summary:

Excellent Engine

Faults:

Update on my car!

I have recently Replaced the Crankshaft gear at approx 430,000. I am told this is a common problem with the 1.9 litre diesel from 93-99. THe vibration from the engine causes a bolt to come loose. Recommend everyone check their Crankshaft pully for looseness. Nothing major has gone wrong in the last 100,000 km. Regular oil changes and mainenance was done.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2004

1993 Volkswagen Passat GLX 2.8L vr6 from North America

Summary:

Costly repairs because it is a rare car, but good car in the long run

Faults:

New alternator, new battery, new ignition switch.

General Comments:

This car is a dream on the highway, very good power for 172hp, and it handles great at high speeds, had a bit of a stalling problem at low speeds, but I got a full tune-up and that was taken care of. It had a irregular idle after racing the engine, but the isn't a problem after that tune-up.

The interior is very roomy, and the leather is solid, not a hint of thinning or ripping.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2004

1993 Volkswagen Passat GLS VR6 2.8L from North America

Summary:

Very fast and reliable It is overall a great car

Faults:

The reverse gear bearing broke, so I could not shift into reverse. cost about $140.

Pressure plates went and some kind of seal in clutch cost about $860 to replace from Volkswagen dealer.

Typical rust around trunk and on emblems.

Clear coat on paint starting to wear off.

Drivers side brake light burnt out.

Material on inside roof coming loose.

General Comments:

This car is fast, handles great and is very fun to drive.

It's sporty and has lots of room.

It's reliable. I Never have to worry when I'm behind the wheel.

I have had a few things go wrong with it, but for a ten year old car it's great.

There are things with an import you just can't get out of a North American car, and the extra repair cost is worth it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

26th Oct 2004, 11:53

Hi I was wondering if anyone knew anything about the transimissions in VW passat VR6 GLS?

3rd Dec 2004, 02:37

$140 dollars for a reverse gear? How much to pay someone to get into the transmission and fix it?