1994 Volkswagen Passat GLX VR6 from North America

Summary:

A consumer's nightmare and a repair shop's dream!!!

Faults:

The first and the last thing to have gone wrong has been the ignition switch. It went out the first time 4 months after I got the car and again yesterday. The dealership is quoting me $400 for this time. It was only $180 at another dealership the first time.

The serpentine belt and tensioner ($445) had to be replaced last month.

I got a new battery ($225) 4 months before that.

I've replaced the heater hose ($40.00?) on my own before 2 summers ago.

Right after that happened, the heater core leaked all of the coolant and was replaced ($1500).

I've also had the idle adjusted a couple of times.

I had to replaced the rotors and brakes ($400) and they told me that it needed new struts also, but that wasn't done.

There are more repairs, I just can't remember them all.

General Comments:

This car was a lemon from the day I bought it. I will never buy another Volkswagen as long as I live! The sheer cost of repairs is outrageous and the insurance is sky high too.

I wouldn't recommend a Volkswagen to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th May, 2003

13th May 2003, 01:27

How could you pay 225 $ for a battery? Do you shop around?

13th May 2003, 03:03

You are being robbed... Most of the problems you evoke are normal wear and tear in a 135000 miles car. On the other hand you are being charged at least the double for your repairs. A battery for your car should cost 100-110 $ (not 225 $), the heating radiator+work about 800 $,etc...

24th May 2003, 21:16

It is a bummer to put money into a car, but the prices you site are sky high. Did you really pay this much without researching alternatives? I replaced my battery at Sears for for my 1997 for $79---seems to work fine...

6th Aug 2003, 11:56

Belt and tensioner costs were astronomical too. Just had it done last week for a little over $200.

1994 Volkswagen Passat GLX VR6 from North America

Summary:

A curse against man

Faults:

So far almost everything went wrong with the car! I went ahead and pulled out the receipts so that I could be accurate. There's so much to list that I will just give dates and general descriptions.

04/13/01 Electrical 65.00 (not fixed)

01/23/01 Towing 60.50 (warranty repair)

12/06/00 Brakes 486.14

12/4/00 Misc parts 145.60

10/02/00 Window 261.75

05/09/00 A/C 1184.94

12/20/99 60K service 684.00

06/22/98 Battery 97.84 - (third one)

05/19/98 Bulb 3.70

04/06/98 45k service - A/C 558.09

11/04/97 Clutch slave cylinder 68.04

10/17/97 Cooling system 232.93

09/03/97 Clutch master cylinder 74.61 (semi warranty)

And 9 other receipts that were covered under the warranty at no cost to me, except for my time. All this totals to 3920.14.

I also have a few things that still need to get fixed, like since the brakes have been replaced they squeak badly.

The headliner has began to fall as well as the leather is de-laminating from the doors.

I also have several unique electrical problems that appear intermittently, such as the check engine light glows ever so faintly like the radio in the movie Christine. Not to mention the windows that work only from the switches in the door, none of them can be remote controlled via the driver's switches.

I also get an interesting ground short when it rains and can hear a nice whine through the stereo. I figured out, by accident, that if you turn the car completely off and remove the key, then restart the car, the whine will go away (just in case this is a problem for some other unlucky soul!).

Oh, and one last thing, all of the rubber is deteriorating on the outside of the car. Arrrrgghhh!

I left off that the drivers rear door won't open. Need I say more, don't ever, I repeat ever, buy a Volkswagen!

Enough said.

General Comments:

Don't even think about buying a Volkswagen. Ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2001

9th Dec 2005, 22:39

I have the same problems with my Passat. My automatic transmission went out at about 111,000miles along with the computer for it. It ended up costing $3800 to have that fixed. I have had minor engine problems also, nothing major.