1998 Volkswagen Passat Wagon from North America



The most recent, the turbo engine, had to be replaced.

The sunroof has been replaced 3 times.

There was a problem with the fuel line, it took three dealers and countless hours to figure out and fix.

General Comments:

This car car is extremly unreliable.

I have had just about every major component replaced and it only has 40,000 miles on it!

And I have been to all the service depatments within a 30 mile radius of my house and cannot find one that was helpful or would answer the phone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

1998 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Drives great, extremely unreliable


Clutch went out at 45,000 miles.

Coolant tank needed a replacement at 25,000 miles.

Thermostat needed a replacement at 60,000 miles.

Vents did not work on delivery.

Sun-roof needed a replacement at 60,000 miles.

Trunk latch needed a replacement at 55,000 miles.

Trunk light needed a replacement at 40,000 miles.

Car does not start intermittently, especially in hot weather.

Vacuum hoses cracked at 55,000 miles, causing the "Check Engine" light to come on.

General Comments:

Although the car handles and looks great, it has been horrible in terms of reliability. I have had to replace many components, and the car only has 65,000 miles on it.

I am planning on trading it in for a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2001

1998 Volkswagen Passat 1.9 TDi (110 hp) from Slovenia


Engine needs lots of oil (1.5-2l per 15000 km). Comparing to my previous car (Honda) it didn't need any oil to be added, which has now 165000km.

Air conditioning condenser fan suddenly got very noisy and will probably need to be replaced soon.

Mirror adjust lever broke, regardless I handled it gently. Warranty didn't cover repairs.

Steering arms were replaced under warranty (recall).

General Comments:

I've been very satisfied with the roominess and it's nice to drive (the diesel engine has high torque).

I get very good mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

1998 Volkswagen Passat S 1.8 20v from UK and Ireland


Fast, comfortable, classy car


New oil pump at 70000. Oil pressure was low at tick over. Fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Great car for space, comfort, performance, and distance travel.

Feels safe and handles really well.

Maybe a little soft on corners, but it's not designed as a sports car.

Loads of head and leg room in both the front and back.

Loads of boot space and with the folding rear seats, can accommodate some really big loads although the bulkhead can get in the way sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

1998 Volkswagen Passat SE 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland


Great car



General Comments:

Excellent car. Very happy to own it.

Very stable on the motorway, this car is not upset by the slipstream from heavy lorries.

The automatic climate control is great; just set the temperature and it does the rest.

Very spacious and comfortable inside.

Lots of room in the boot.

Car looks good.

Can drive long distances without tiring in this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2001

2nd Feb 2001, 11:11

My two week old Passat 2.0 SE has already had a broken door handle (which made it necessary to open the window & use the external handle to exit the car), broken mirror adjuster & no drinks holder (which the brochure states is a standard item on the SE). If this wasn't enough VW say I need to wait three weeks to have them fixed as their mechanics are too busy.

I'm not a happy bunny.

1998 Volkswagen Passat TDI Sport 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


German engineering at its very best for an affordable price


After collection of the car from the dealer, which had been thoroughly valeted and serviced I noticed what seemed to be a bearing whine. The dealer (Wayside of Towcester) took the car in the next day and replaced all the tyres under warranty. This resolved the problem although the tyres (225 * 16) did not show signs of excessive wear.

I accidently snapped the electric mirror control on the driver's door. This was replaced under warranty by said dealer with no hassle.

Slight sticking of the boot catch resolved at 30k service..

General Comments:

The Passat TDI Sport is one of the best all round vehicles I have owned, its performance and economy are fantastic. I will be replacing it with another when the new Passat becomes available in the UK and would maybe even consider the 2.5 TDI.

The Passat is a stylish, comfortable family saloon that has put the pleasure back into driving long distances, giving overall around 55 mpg returns, which after running a 5.2 Jeep that did around 10mpg, what can I say?

I have not driven the non sport version but I imagine they have the same superb grip even without the sports lowered suspension and very comfortable seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2000

16th Dec 2004, 18:45

Absolutely outstanding!

My Passat is now at 137K miles and I can say that the TDi with 110 bhp is THE strongest diesel money can buy.

I travel to France at least three times a year and at every journey to and from, she returns 470 miles to 1/2 a tank. OK, I don't drive fast, but I can't help being very impressed.

I've had some trouble with it, (Cambelt gave in, tensioner bent forward and alternator tensioner gave in on the motorway... very scary moment) in total £1500 in repairs after buying her at 121K miles.

Apart from that, I will definitely shed tears of grief the day I sell it!