1998 Volkswagen Passat SE 1.8 from UK and Ireland


Untouchable in its class


Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever had. Probably the best car I have ever driven - it really does rival the lower range BMW's and Merc's.

Frankly, and I have had a few cars, the car is currently untouchable in its class (Mondeo, Vectra, 406 etc) and is now also becoming affordable second hand.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2000

16th Feb 2001, 18:28

I have to agree.I have bought an R reg Passat 1.8 T petrol at a very good second hand price, and what a car! Better than a brand new Vauxhall, Ford or Japanese whatever....

15th Mar 2004, 15:27

I recently swapped my 2002 TDi 130 SE for a Mondeo TDCi 130 Zetec-S and guys, I have to tell you, the competition is way ahead. The Ford is just as nicely finished, smoother, noticeably quicker, and more frugal. As for handling and dynamics, I can barely bring myself to mention the two cars in the same sentence - the Passat is well outclassed.

Badge snobbery and residuals - the only two reasons anyone would consider the VW in my opinion. And they'd be doing themselves out of a better car if they went for it.

1998 Volkswagen Passat Sport Estate 110 TDi from UK and Ireland


A well sorted car with great detailing and flashes of absolute brilliance


Trim around central console became detached.

Power steering developed at fluid leak.

General Comments:

Great car. Best I've ever owned. You can drive at high speed for hour after hour in superb comfort and it has a very reassuring solidity about it.

It tends to look nicer in lightish metallic colours and my Futura Yellow is very distinctive. Gives what otherwise might be seen as a middle aged man's car a bit of street cred.

It's running cost in terms of fuel consumption is nothing short of astonishing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

1998 Volkswagen Passat GLS V6 from North America


I love my car, not reliable, the warranty is good for nothing


This is the third Volkswagen that I have owned or that a family member has owned. A GTI, a '94 Passat, and a '99 Passat. Each one has had water leakage just below the windshield into the car's electrical system. All 3 of the cars did not start and the electrical system went completely dead when it rained out. I still have the 24,000 mile/2 year warranty on my '99 Passat and Volkswagen will not cover the damage. They are insisting that is not covered. My car is NOT driveable. They are insisting that the problem, caused by rain, is not a defect in the car, but is due to "nature". Thus, it is not covered under the warranty. So, I guess what they are saying to me is that you can't drive a $30,000 new car in the rain?? It doesn't make sense to me. What good is Volkswagen's warranty? I also paid over $800 for the extended warranty for nothing.

My windshield also cracked after 6 months of owning the car and it did not start a few times during the winter.

General Comments:

Volkswagen needs better customer service and warranty protection. It seems that the warranty covers nothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2000

18th Jan 2001, 15:56

Maybe the water is coming in where the windshield cracked?

23rd Jul 2001, 16:39

Are Volkswagens in America actually manufactured in America? Because I see so many posts from Americans complaining about the reliability of their cars, while everyone else seems content!

25th Jul 2001, 04:24

Hi there, I am sending this comment from Europe, and I am telling you that Volkswagens are very reliable and affordable cars. It's just that you need to have a slight idea about using and maintaining cars because most of the problems is due to drivers' ignorance more than physical defects. I bet you haven't even looked to see where the water is coming from, to use a bit of sealant and to stop water protrusion to the ignition system. But it's easier to claim warranty, isn't it?

1998 Volkswagen Passat TDI 110 1.9 Turbo Diesel from France


A multitude of minor but irritating electrical faults, principally because it was one of the very first production models of the latest Passats. Problems include replacement Immotronic immobiliser, electric window switch, broken driver's seat back, interior lights failing ... Nothing mechanical, though.

General Comments:

The best car I have owned so far. Will do 100mph all day long and returns between 50 & 60 mpg. Very comfortable, though dampers could be better.

I just ordered a new model - the 115 TDI - with all the options.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 1999