1999 Volkswagen Passat Reviews - Page 10 of 19

1999 Volkswagen Passat 1999 passat turbo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Good buy.. cheap price andstill classy

Faults:

Dashboard lights don't always come on when starting car, have to hit dashboard...

General Comments:

Car drives great, fast also standard so I have more power only thing is it needs more lighting in front at night... no problems, at all starts up everytime so far...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2006

1999 Volkswagen Passat 1.8T sport estate 1.8 20 valve turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 20 valve turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance114800 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Blindingly quick and comfy estate car!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing,This car just won't break down!

4 sets of tyres and 2 sets of brakes along with the usual servicing.

General Comments:

If you need to shift a grandfather clock in a hurry then this is the car for you!!

Estate cars shouldn't be made to go this quick and this isn't even the top model in terms of engine size!! God only knows how quick the 4.0 W8 engined 4motion estates like!!

I've managed to see the speedo reach round to where the 14 has a zero on the end of it (on a track of course) and it still averages 30 M.P.G.

Very comfortable with all the toys inside and the cruise control is great on long journeys, Just sit back and devour the miles in comfort and safety.

Very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

10th Apr 2006, 16:48

You have been lucky mate. Mine gave lots of bother.

1999 Volkswagen Passat Trendline 1.9Tdi 110 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.9Tdi 110 Manual
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carRenault 19

Summary:

A Miser on diesel, but elevated additional service costs

Faults:

Air intake flow meter replaced.

Front Suspension link arms are consistently requiring replacement. Have probably replaced six at this stage. Am currently getting better results from non VW replacements.

Track rod ends on both sides at least twice.

Coolant hoses leaks.

Fuel line leaks.

Door handles failures.

Electric window switch has developed a problem and only works if repeatedly pressed.

General Comments:

The front suspension in these cars is constantly requiring attention. I don’t do much motorway driving, but I reckon that all the suspension was designed for.

I have NEVER brought this car in for a service that it didn't need extra work for rattles in the front.

The guy in the auto electric shop who replaced the air intake meter said that 25% of his work was modern VW cars.

Admittedly it is economical and drives/handles well. This however is outweighed by the constant elevated service costs.

Having previously owned both a 1986 Jetta diesel & a 1989 Golf diesel I had high expectations from this car and unfortunately it hasn’t come close.. VW need to go back to what they were once excellent at... Solid Reliable Basic Motors that went and went and went, you only brought them for a service when you felt guilty!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

6th Sep 2011, 20:33

My 1999 1.9 TDI Passat will travel for miles on a small suck of diesel.

1999 Volkswagen Passat GLS V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carFord Taunus

Summary:

Smart, speedy and super comfy

Faults:

As with other owners of this car, I needed to replace the brake pads. This apparently was a common problem due to the very thin rotors.

The tail signal lights in the front seem to pop out relatively easily.

Sometimes the keys to the radio controls get stuck. They appear to be quite sensitive. Also the 6-CD changer is prone to skipping at times.

General Comments:

Overall, this is a fantastic car to drive. It is very elegant and great for trips with friends and family, but also sporty in its own way. Super comfortable (especially when it has the loaded extras like leather seats with warmers). It handles the road great and accelerates fast. Cruise control works great. Definitely a reliable car, but change the oil frequently for best performance and only use the recommended synthetic oil. Of course my mileage was low when I purchased the car.

The mileage is very good for highway driving. Not so good for stop-and-go city travel. Also the car is big, so don't buy if you live in a city where parking is scarce.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2005

1999 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles

Summary:

I always make sure I have money saved up just in case something goes in the nearest future.

Faults:

When I first saw the VW Passat, I like the way it look and because of it has a built in turbo. I didn't get the dealership warranty because I have been told that German model car are very reliable. After putting 3500miles on it, the ABS and BRAKE warning light came on. I had to get it fix because I was scared of loosing my break and it cost me roughly $1500. And then its good again and then the next 5000miles the engine light came on, but then it disappear. My glove compartment broke, but it was an easy fix I just had to put super glue. The arm rest also broke off and its still broken. The mirror adjuster broke off which I hardly even use. My fuel meter is acting up after putting 15000miles. Its not giving me accurate fuel reading. So I make sure I always put gas before traveling long distances. The warning signs lights up once in a while, but it disappear again.

General Comments:

I like how it runs, but I don't like the demand this car wants for its maintenance. I wouldn't buy another German car in my life the parts are hard to get, hard to find, you can only find them at the dealership for very expensive price. I didn't even mention the Labor the dealership charge.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

10th Apr 2006, 16:58

I agree entirely with you. Mine was an absolute pig. It cost me a fortune. I will never buy German again.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 59 reviews