1987 Volkswagen Polo Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Volkswagen Polo C 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

A real bargain and great first car

Faults:

The fuel tank was leaking slightly when I first purchased the car, this was soon sorted and no problems since.

Damp started to get into the car at 85000 miles. This was down to rust under the bonnet. This was soon sorted cheaply with no problems since.

General Comments:

This is my first own car although I have driven my parents for a few years before this. I don't really have a bad word to say about the car. It was bought for £100 after having a slight bump on the front. This cost £22 for a new wing and I was able to fit it myself. With a 1.0 litre engine it runs all day on a fiver, but can go when you need it to. The insurance was great too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

1987 Volkswagen Polo C Saloon 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

A bloody good car

Faults:

Exhaust fell off the car on the way back from London at 80,000.

Used to cut out for no apparent reason, got the carb cleaned at 95,000 which fixed it.

New spark plugs at 96,000.

New tyres at 98,000.

General Comments:

A very quick car, a lot quicker than my last car, a Nova 1.3.

Top end speed does suffer a bit, level 5 insurance group so it is a bit high on the old insurance.

I do at least 500 miles a week in this car, it is company owned but I bought it off the company cause it is a gem to drive.

Very comfy seats, excellent ride handling (possibly something to do with the extra wide tyres).

Always rips apart my mate's Peugeot 106 1.0.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2001

10th Dec 2001, 06:00

I had one of these for 2 1/2 years. I did 50,000 miles in it and sold it for only £250 less than I paid for it! You can't get much better than that!!

10th Dec 2001, 07:10

The quick bit actually means 0-30, up to 60 it is bout 14-16 seconds.

23rd Sep 2004, 02:26

I just got one off my bird as my first car and it is in mint condition, I only paid £200 for it. great car.

1987 Volkswagen Polo Coupe S 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 XS

Summary:

Thrash-tastic first car

Faults:

Core plug, due to lack of anti-freeze thus causing severe overheating, then engine head gasket blew, warping the head.

General Comments:

I only paid 150 pounds with 8 months MOT for the car so I wasn't caring too much about it. BUT no matter how much I kicked the crap out of the car it still kept going! Speedo only reads up to 100 mph but this little thing flew past that mark with no fuss. 4 people in car, full tank of fuel and it still picked away from an MG Maestro 2.0!!! at 110mph!!!

Parts are cheap!

Fuel is cheap!

Reliability is great!

Driving is fun! (even though the Polo's brakes did not come with servo-assistance!)

Insurance is very good!

If you want a small, indestructable (almost), fun, cheap car, get a Polo. Make sure it is a 1300cc though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st June, 2000

19th Dec 2000, 08:00

Your speedo must be highly inaccurate. No chance of getting a MK2 Polo with any engine beyond 90mph, even downhill.

The most I've got out of mine was 85 and then it sounded like it was about to self-destruct.

16th Jan 2001, 09:38

Polo Coupe S's are most excellent. They are the most fun Polo and they can shift too, they also burn rubber and sometimes outrun much bigger fast cars.

Volkswagen could only make it better by making the gear stick a lot bigger!!!

1987 Volkswagen Polo C 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired101000 miles
Most recent distance99984 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo Estate C

Summary:

Very cheap to buy, but very F****ED

Faults:

Brakes seized, small hole in boot section, timing belt broke bending valves.

I am told by local mechanic this is a common fault (he has 4 knackered ones round the back of garage all with the same problem.) Rust on passenger door, rust bubbles turned out to be holes underneath. Rusting also on valance, steering column needs renewed and also has a holed fuel tank.

General Comments:

The car cost me 20 pounds because of the problems. The body work and interior are in excellent condition. Mechanically it is not good but this is due to the high milage and lack of servicing it has received in the past.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th May, 2000

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 12 reviews