1990 Volkswagen Polo Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1990 Volkswagen Polo CL 1.0 SPi petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.0 SPi petrol Manual

Summary:

"Boring" but bomb proof - a lovely city car

Faults:

Whoops, the spellchecker deleted my "one sentence opinion" / subject line but i clicked "submit" before realising

General Comments:

I've written it in again below.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2005

1990 Volkswagen Polo CL 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired104986 miles
Most recent distance105030 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

A good bargain for small journeys

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. I have known the owner of the car for three years and has sailed through all mot's.

General Comments:

Quick off the mark. quite economical. the small petrol gauge confuses you about how much fuel you have used though. I always check by using the odometer at the same time to work out mpg. the whole car is well built and is very rust proof. the interior is very basic, but a car this old is just to get you from a to b.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2004

1990 Volkswagen Polo CL Bel Air 1.3 petrol from Spain

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 kilometres
Most recent distance150000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 18

Summary:

A good first car that will impress you!!!

Faults:

I've got problems with the front seats, especially with the driver one. It make the car especially uncomfortable when you drive for a long time.

The clutch died when the car was over 100.000 km, but it wasn't too expensive to change.

There is a "flood" in the glove compartment every time it rains.

I've problems with the oil pressure gouge, one day it starts to sound and after change the sensor it still sounds some times, but the engine works well.

I change the shocks and brakes disk and now the car ride very nice.

General Comments:

It's a cheap, little and handle car, perfect like first car.

It has a big and useful boot, bigger than you could think of these car.

The 1.3 engine is hard and works very well. You can get a good rhythm on highway, but theme it sound very hard too.

I'm thinking now in buy another car more comfortable, but my girlfriend have start to cry when I said. I think she loves the car more than me. We have made some travels over Spain whith the Polo and never has failed us. And our first kiss was on these car...

Sorry for my English, I'm Spanish!

BYE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

1990 Volkswagen Polo Country 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance73701 miles

Summary:

Reliable First Car

Faults:

Petrol tank started leaking at 70000 miles, had to be replaced.

Gearbox bearings worn, causes noisy operation, not bothered to fix problem.

Heater wiring coil burnt out, causing only one speed of heater motor to work. Coil replaced at 72000 miles.

Fan belt replaced at 71500 miles and 73000 miles.

Gearbox "CLUNKS" when put into reverse. Unfixed.

Car sunroof leaks, sealed shut with silicone sealant by previous owner. I hope to have an attempt of fixing during the summer.

One spark plug misfiring when engine first started up, engine floods easily. Not fixed due to spark plugs overtightened, fear of them breaking.

General Comments:

Quick car, perhaps too quick seeing as the acceleration is poor. 0-60mph in 18 seconds when thrashed, 0-60 in 26 seconds under normal gearing.

Great petrol consumption (not sure how many mpg though)

Car feels better with tire pressures at 27psi instead of 26. Make sure you put front tires back down to 26 during winter months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

25th Nov 2003, 04:35

Addition from owner: car was finally replaced after 79,500 miles (October 2003) when the gearbox failed. 3rd gear wouldn't stay engaged, decided it was too costly to repair.

1990 Volkswagen Polo Fox 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles

Summary:

A great first car which is cheap to run and cheerful to drive

Faults:

The wire that allows the drivers side seat to pull forward has snapped.

The tracking has been straightened twice.

The exhaust scrapes the floor when driving over humps with heavy loads.

General Comments:

This car has never let me down.

The interior and extras are basic, but it doesn't effect the way the car drives.

It drives very well and the steering isn't as heavy as in other cars I have driven.

There isn't much space inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2002

1990 Volkswagen Polo C 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired57988 miles
Most recent distance60001 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Great fun, in a straight line!

Faults:

Has been a pain with the fuel tank; which keeps blocking its breather pipe.

Carb needed cleaning every other day, for the first few weeks.

Noisy wheel bearing.

General Comments:

I bought the car from the original elderly lady owner. Who had put it into her garage in 1996 and not used it. The little car passed its MOT with no problems, but the garage roof had been leaking onto the paint which had turned green. After a good 'T-cut' the little car looks like new!

Fab on petrol!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews