2007 Volkswagen Touran Reviews

2007 Volkswagen Touran 140 HP from Sweden

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission 140 HP Automatic
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance163000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Poor quality

Faults:

Poor quality! The DSG gearbox is smooth when it's working, but breaks down easily. We have had to change the control unit and LOTS of other expensive parts on this car.

Last week we changed the ABS sensor (1400 euro).

It's a practical car for us with 3 children, but over the last 2 years it has cost about 6000 euro (!!!) in repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 2013

31st Dec 2013, 12:58

There's nothing new about poor design and quality on VAG products.

11th Jan 2014, 12:57

As a former disappointed owner of a VW Touran DSG, I will never buy another VW product. I bought the car in 2008 as a nearly new (2 years) as my young family expanded (we have 3 children). At first things seemed fine; I was impressed the car could be fully loaded up and still returned circa 50 MPG on a non-stressed motorway run. However, after the warranty expired many items started to fail, and these were costly repairs like turbo and DSG mechatronic unit. Very poor quality trim too. Worst of all I was very disappointed with the attitude of the VW dealership. Never again...

2007 Volkswagen Touran S 1.9 turbo diesel (105) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel (105) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

The perfect family car

Faults:

Handbrake failed to hold car on a steep incline from new. Dealer traced problem to poorly assembled rear brake calipers. Dealer replaced rear brake calipers, discs and pads when vehicle two weeks old. Problem completely fixed.

Offside interior trim over rear light assembly came loose due to a fastener breaking off. Dealer blamed it on me changing a bulb but after convincing them no bulb had ever failed (still true) on the car they replaced it under warranty.

Part of the inside of the driver's seat belt stalk fell out. I suspect it was not relevant to the safe operation of the seat belt, but the dealer replaced the stalk immediately.

Broken bulb warning light came on intermittently on one trip, but no bulbs had failed and problem has not reoccurred.

General Comments:

Drives like a car.

Wonderful high seating position.

Easy to get in and out of, just step in, no bending.

Easy to fix ISO fix child seats, and easy to insert a child into the seat without straining your back.

Good fuel economy, 45-50mpg on back roads. 53mpg on motorways at 70mph.

Love the cruise control, use it everywhere.

Calm, relaxing interior and unfussy dashboard. No garish materials.

Seats very comfy.

1.9 TDI (105) has enough power. It isn't a racing car, but you don't feel slow either. Just right.

The diesel and six speed manual gearbox combination is incredibly smooth. With practice changing gear almost goes unnoticed. Love it.

Lots of passenger space, never use the third row of seats. A big interior for a relatively compact exterior.

Boot is a good size.

No spare wheel, but this seems true of most modern cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2009

2007 Volkswagen Touran SE 2.0 TDI 140bhp turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDI 140bhp turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance4850 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

OK, but disappointing fuel economy

Faults:

No faults yet.

General Comments:

Fuel economy is disappointing. Earlier VAG diesels (e.g. 1.9 TDI as previously offered on the Touran) had better fuel economy. I'm only getting 42-45mpg on a long motorway run at 70-75mph, pumped up tyres, no aircon etc.

I was expecting mid 50's.

Seat configuration etc is good. Not luxurious, but has good quality feel to the build.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2007

23rd Jul 2009, 06:22

I think you've got to be kidding that a car of the size and shape of a Touran would return mid-50's mpg!

I had a Golf (same engine) and returned an average of 47-48 and that is a much smaller, lighter, aerodynamic car. But I probably did drive that faster than I do the Touran.

Incidentally my Touran (same as yours but with s DSG box) returned 46mpg today on the way to work - 17 miles, mixed driving and traffic. I think for the size of it that's pretty good!

2nd Aug 2009, 02:23

Remember, it's an MPV, not a Golf.

2007 Volkswagen Touran SE TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Lots more room

Faults:

We have owned the VW Touran for one month now, and everything has gone fine with it. We had a five door Golf before, but family calls, and we needed a bigger car.

The size of the Touran is great, but one thing to watch out for is the hand brake on hills; it tends to slip when the car has been stationery for about ten minutes. Don't know why this is happening yet; we have not yet had the report back from VW. Will let you know when we do. Please email me if you have had the same problem. jkcloverhill@aol.com

General Comments:

The VW Touran is a great car with loads of room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2007

15th Jan 2008, 08:23

I have a Sep 2007 ("57") Touran 1.9S TDI. When new the handbrake would not hold the car on my driveway. At two weeks old the dealer said the rear calipers had been incorrectly set at the factory and VW would not allow them to be altered. Instead they completely replaced the rear calipers, discs and pads under warranty. Hand brake works much better now. Have heard of several people with this problem. I always park in gear anyway, a throw back to my Morris Marina's handbrake twenty years ago.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews