1974 Volvo 164 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Fantastic. Having reminisced I’m going out to find one to buy and restore

Faults:

Fuel injectors needed reclamping.

New fuel computer.

Aircon didn’t work.

Required a new alternator.

I was able to replace or repair all these things with very little effort and very cheaply.

I had to replace the rear number when someone rammed into me - but his insurance paid for the bumper.

General Comments:

I had two of these cars - both were short throw, four speed manual gearboxes. They easily thrashed 5.0 litre V8 Toranas and Commodores off - and generally beat them in most real world tests in terms of sophistication, build and drivability. Probably due to the fuel injection vs carburettors of the Toranas/Commodores.

The cutout was outstanding - leather, very adjustable and comfortable. Naturally a more (armoured) touring car, so a fair bit of body roll.

I actually flipped one end on end and walked away from it - selling it as a going vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2019

1974 Volvo 164 E 3.0 six cylinder from North America

Summary:

Much less refined than a Mercedes 280 from the period

Faults:

The fuel injection system was a mystery to most service technicians at the time.

The Borg Warner 35 auto transmission was utterly mismatched to the engine. A turbo 350 or C4 would have been better choice.

Suspension bushings were a constant problem.

The air conditioner wasn't reliable.

General Comments:

Despite problems, I have fond memories of this car. It was quick enough to smoke an 82 Camaro with either V8 Chevy offered that year.

17 MPG combined was acceptable to me, but service techs screwed it up after replacing and adjusting injectors - never got better than 13 after that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2015

2nd Aug 2015, 03:36

Good to read a review on one of these. What problems did you encounter when you wanted to replace the Borg-Warner 35 with another transmission?

1973 Volvo 164 E 3.0 inline 6 from North America

Summary:

Awesome Volvo

Faults:

Burnt points & trigger points.

General Comments:

I always loved these cars, and when I had a chance to buy a low mileage, rust-free West Coast car, I jumped at it.

Crappy gas mileage, but who cares? Automatic is a dog; I am going to put in the M410 this winter.

I think I own the only one in my city, and I always get lots of smiles and people asking me about the car.

Very comfortable car.

I am very surprised more people didn't hang onto these. Someone I talked to knew of one that is still going strong at 1.4 million miles.

I prefer the looks of the earlier cars, but it is still an awesome looking car. I will never sell this car unless someone offers me silly money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2015

12th Jul 2015, 02:32

These are great cars.

Question: are the "Trigger Points" for the fuel injection system?

12th Jul 2015, 19:33

Probably meant contact points.

19th Jul 2015, 04:09

Thanks for responding :) I was thinking that too, but seem to remember something about Bosch D-Jetronic fuel injection system needing trigger point replacement.

1972 Volvo 164 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Needed a major overhaul, as it had not been used in years. New battery, rear shocks, a small amount of welding, paintwork.

General Comments:

Bought this car on a whim, not knowing much about Volvos - well I do now, and have great respect for them. It is handsome, quiet, surprisingly fast, and has the most comfortable seats in any car I've driven. For a large car, it has a small turning radius, and the vision is excellent.

Access for repairs is excellent. There are no squeaks or rattles whatsoever, and the build quality is top drawer.

On the road it is very easy to drive, as it has power steering. Despite being automatic, it is quite sharp, and will happily cruise all day at 80mph. Downsides are the high fuel consumption; averages 20 MPG, but that's to be expected with a 3.0L 6 cylinder block. Strong understeer; again, typical of cars of this sort.

The BW35 gearbox a bit jerky - though it is simple and kicks down nicely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2012