14th Aug 2015, 06:52

OP here.

The car was pretty abused by the time I got it. Based on my receipts, it was well loved by the first two owners, neglected by the other two. The fact it still held together well impressed me.

With the lights, allow me to repeat:

"Rear wiring to the hatch had cracked; fixed with a piece of wire that caused the "bulb out" warning to display when the brakes are pushed, worked fine otherwise"

All of the bulbs were in place and worked fine, rear foglights included.

240s have wires that go through the rear hinges on the hatch, bad design IMO, they rip and crack with age. The wires are pretty heavy duty, but eventually age will catch up.

25th Feb 2018, 19:45

This is exactly the kind of content I come to this site to read — meaty ownership stories with context and details that ‘professional’ reviews fail to mention.

Thank you for taking the time to write up your experience!

1st Mar 2018, 08:54

OP Speaking.

I'm glad that you enjoyed the review; sometimes I wish I had kept the Volvo but parts are just too scarce. An arm rest upgrade was on my to do list, but it's rare to find one that's complete, let alone reasonably priced.

With the trim I recall a specific case where I went through a car wash, at the dryer section the passenger headlight lense fell out. I drove away only to notice this later. I ran back and re installed it with new glue.

Finally I'd like to add that I tried the infamous turbo sway bars out at one point. They didn't do much, and they required​ different brackets (no one mentions this). The new bushings made a bigger impact.

28th Jun 2020, 15:02

Don't be fooled about the safety of these 240s. For their time they were great, but for today's standards they are no match. I've seen somewhere an offset crash test with one of these and boy it didn't look good. Still a very nice car, perhaps the last true Volvo, even before the 850.

30th Jun 2020, 15:40

OP who had the wagon.

I caution other Volvo fans on their safety myself; they're easy to see out of and they have decent brakes, but otherwise they're death traps compared to modern cars. My 240 had little more than an airbag and seatbelts for safety, and the ignition key always threatened to stab my knee. Then there's the aging plastic fuel lines...

IMO the Volvo 940 was the last "True Volvo", before they became needlessly complex. But I never did like those, they always looked like an 80s GM mid size to me.

1st Jul 2020, 06:01

Have driven a 940 for the last 12 years. Your comment about Volvo’s becoming needlessly complex would sum up most modern vehicles perfectly; I would say impossibly complex describes modern vehicles even better. Volvo 940 are perfectly safe without being stupidly complex, I have driven mine in places where you would not survive in your modern vehicle. Don’t get the bit about being stabbed by the ignition key; it is in a perfectly normal position. The comment about plastic fuel lines also puzzles me; mine is 27 years old, never had trouble with fuel lines in perfect condition. Most people don’t buy old Volvo’s for looks; they could not care less what you think they look like. Quality lasts a lot longer than glitz.

1st Jul 2020, 19:16

The ignition key is in a different spot in a 940 vs a 240; you sit low in a 940 vs the more European seating of a 240.

As complex as modern cars are, they're much safer than older Volvos, apart from the quite distracting touch screens.

1st Jul 2020, 22:33

Try rereading the comment. Author is referring to a 240, not a 940, in regards to safety or lack thereof.

2nd Jul 2020, 23:11

There is not much difference between a 240 and 940 safety wise; a 940 does have side impact protection. Perhaps buying a clunker as did the the original OP of this review and then outfitting it with various second hand bits including tires gave him the impression that this was a death trap. To describe a well maintained Volvo of this time (240, 740 or 940) as death trap even today is a gross exaggeration. Driven with care these cars are safe.

4th Jul 2020, 00:04

OP again.

Virtually all cars are safe "when driven right"; the problem is, even if you drive right, 67% of the motorists around you often don't.

If I have to be in an accident, I'll take a newer car over something that was designed in the 70s.

6th Jul 2020, 22:15

It's that those cars were not designed for small and moderate overlap crashes, and also not really for side crashes. However they were not that bad in full frontal crashes. Interestingly, Volvo reinforced the P2 S60 and XC90 for small overlap collisions well before the insurance companies started these tests on cars. What I also appreciate about Volvo is their P2 cars were about the rare ones not affected by the Takata airbag recalls, which means Volvo didn't trust those mass produced airbags, and went with a smaller volume company that had better product quality control. At least from 2000-2010 Volvo was quite careful with passenger protection.