1987 Volvo 360 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1987 Volvo 360 GL 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance77500 miles
Previous carDaewoo Matiz

Summary:

A solid performance car

Faults:

The car has had a fuel starvation fault.

The front valance needs replacing.

The passenger door handle is inoperable.

General Comments:

This car looks like the sensible slow family car, but with the 2 litre engine it handle more like a sports saloon. It has surprised more than one sporty car driver before now.

The interior is well put together and is not likely to fall apart and has more features than some executive saloons.

The heater is a blessing in disguise, you can have cold or hot air on demand.

The boot is enormous for a car of it's size.

The car is built like a tank, even though it is 17 years old I believe it is safer than some modern equivalents.

The only downside to this vehicle is the higher than normal fuel costs, but all in all it is worth the sacrifice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

1987 Volvo 360 GLT 2.0 petrol injection from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 kilometres
Most recent distance152200 kilometres

Summary:

It's unique, it's rare and it's a bargain

Faults:

General rattles and squeaks.

Nothing major, very reliable.

General Comments:

Great car, it feels sturdy & solid.

A bit of a heavy fuel drinker for its size. But it makes up for this with power.

Lacks power steering, but handles quiet well.

Fully loaded with extras and so comfortable, the big plush seats hug you.

Plenty of passenger and luggage space.

Unique design and rare, it stands out in the traffic. Nothing too glamorous, but it turns a few heads.

This little pocket rocket is rear wheel drive, so you can have some good sideways times in the gravel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2001

1987 Volvo 360 GLEi 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carVolvo 340

Summary:

Sturdy, reliable stayer

Faults:

Water pump at 70,000miles.

Three exhausts in five years.

General Comments:

This car has got to be one of the best all rounders ever made. It is built like a tank, has a good performance (engine) and generally doesn't cost a lot to run. Bad points are it handles like a House brick, is heavy on gas and the fuel pump can be noisy. The one I have has gone through four MOT's without failing on a single thing. I can deal with the heavy fuel consumption because of the cheap MOT's it has rewarded me with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2001

1987 Volvo 360 GLT 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Maestro

Summary:

I love it but don't tell my mates. My wife drives a more modern car but I prefer the Volvo

Faults:

Corroded fuse/fuse holder for the petrol pump leading to erratic reliability until the problem was solved by re-fitting.

Rear exhaust rattled on bumps - solved by weld strengthening.

Rear shocks had to be replaced.

General Comments:

A wolf in sheeps clothing above 3000rpm.

Heavy handling at low speeds.

Very high petrol consumption at high RPM (bit obvious!).

No street credibility - less chance of being stolen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2001

1987 Volvo 360 2.0L petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance152000 kilometres

Summary:

It's a tank, but don't worry, it's far from slow with a 2.0L EFI it does well! 9/10

Faults:

Noticeable squeaks throughout the car (mostly door latchs).

General Comments:

This is my first car, although I have driven a few other cars of the same age (Cordia, Celica, pulsar and Laser) and this was the best! (for the price comparison anyway) Worth $4500, I paid $3000.

I never thought I'd own a Volvo, but when I bought the car only a few months ago I was far from disappointed. The only problem I have is my friends often laugh "it's a Volvo".

It's a solid car and the 2. 0L EFI pulls it along nicely. It's a bit of a slug until it reaches 2500rpm, but once it's going it's smooth and very comfortable!

I'm very impressed, and believe the Volvo 360's have potential!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

7th Apr 2001, 07:11

I believe the Volvo 360 has a mechanical fuel injection system, not an electronic one.

So it would be MFI or something like that.

I also own a 360 and love it!

18th May 2001, 07:38

It has a mechanical valve in the inlet to steer the injection. If you can find a spare one you might do a little experimenting. Take off the black top of the injection air valve and mark the position of the spring. Loosen the spring 2-3 notches, a Volkswagen GTI will be slow at the traffic lights, but it will use quite a lot of gas.

Tighten the spring 2-3 notches and it becomes grandpa's old car, but the fuel consumption is lowered by 10-15%.

3rd Sep 2001, 07:16

Like you, I thought I would NEVER own a Volvo, mainly because of the image (old people's car and such...) Surprise surprise, I now have had a 340 DL for almost two years and it's great!! Apart from the irregular engine stops once in a while (a VERY common problem of all 340's and 360's apparently), the car has never let me down. And you can move ship loads of stuff in it: from people to catering equipment to hardware supplies. Just throw it in! (be careful with people...) And of course for bargain prices, especially when you can do some repairs by yourself.

1987 Volvo 360 GLE 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10

Faults:

Front suspension wore out a number of parts, including steering rack, strut bushes, and spring top holders.

Master cylinder became blocked by the sealing rubber used to locate the reservoir, causing minor braking loss.

Alternator brushes wore out at 198K.

General Comments:

This car still looks new from a distance, and most work colleagues think its less than 5 years old.

The engine was severely abused, as was the suspension by me, despite this the car always started and ran sweet.

Amazingly reliable, possibly helped by continuous use and abuse. These cars don't like to sit unused.

After 200,000 miles its burning a little oil at just over 6000 rpm, so I thought it might be time for an overhaul. So it's in the garage while I bought a spare 360 GLT low mileage (120K) for £550.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 1998

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 11 reviews