1992 Volvo 440 GLT 1.7 Injection from Spain


Safe and reliable


Oil leaking with 84000 km.

Anti-freeze leaking inside the car due to a failure in the heating radiator.

General Comments:

Generally I am very happy with this car, although it is a used car. It seems it can last forever.

Its acceleration is not very good.

It maintains good cruising speed in motorways.

Also gives the driver a very good safety sensation.

Try to avoid using it very much in the city, as fuel consumption gets up to 11L/100km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2002

1992 Volvo 440 DLi 1.8i from Netherlands


Don't always your first impression


Nothing much really, I had a dynamo problem once, and I had to replace it. Cost me about 50 pounds

General Comments:

This car looks like an old, typical Volvo car. But don't let it fool you, the 1.8i Renault engine works very well.

Also the handling in fast corners is awesome.

Top speed is around 215 km/h. I tested it on the circuit of Assen once. It really scared me.

At 160km/h the car is as quiet as a sleeping cat.

Nice and comfortable seats, with other cars, I get pain in my back after a long drive, but not with this car.


Excellent brakes.

The automatic gears work very well, I won a one on one with a BMW 320i.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2002

1992 Volvo 440 Turbo 1.7 turbo from UK and Ireland


Everything you need!


Nothing has gone wrong as yet, knock on wood!

General Comments:

I wanted something a bit nippy, but with comfort and all the extras, and I did not want a XR31 or something like all the boy racers, so opted for the 440 turbo! And it drives a treat, and with everything electric and heated seats what a bonus! As for power, it's very quick, I have just had the boost changed and the brakes up-rated, and nothing will touch it! I only paid £950 for a H plate with 77k on the clock, a hell of a lot of car for the money! A Xr31 would have cost me £600 a year to insure this cost me £290!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2002

1992 Volvo 440 GL 1.8 gasoline from Norway


Best car for the money (at least in Norway)


Generally not a lot, but electrical and transmission problems accrued.

Lately I had problems with the dynamo, but it was fixed in 20 minutes and it wasn't expensive.

Different story about the transmission. Gear change is not very precise, and nobody actually know why!??? Everything is in perfect order and it should be working perfectly...? But it isn't. But I can live with that.

General Comments:

A good car. Nice seats, comfortable.

Driving is nearly perfect for a car of this class and age.

Dynamic engine and low driving costs.

Easy to repair "small" things by yourself.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

1992 Volvo 440 XI 1.8 from UK and Ireland


A nice looking dependable slow family car


Changed the cam shaft oil seals due to oil leaking from them and into the distributor cap.

General Comments:

A very spacious solid family car with very poor performance for a 1.8 liter. If you are thinking about buying, purchase the MPI engine, not the SPI for performance reasons.

Check the cam shaft oil seals, not a cheap job to replace them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2001

1992 Volvo 440 Li 1.6 injection from UK and Ireland


Great economy buy


Idle speed control valve.

General Comments:

Pulls surprisingly well for a 1.6, handles very well, feels very solid on the motorway.

Cabin is very well laid out.

Standard fit means upgrading parts is simple.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2001

1992 Volvo 440 GLTi 1.7 multipoint from UK and Ireland


Can you find a better car for the money?


Gearchange a little stiff.

General Comments:

A very surprising car with loads of qualities.

The extra trim (alloys, spoiler, etc) improves the looks loads as does my metallic black paintwork!

It covered a huge mileage in a short period of time - it was faultless and never let me down.

I would fully recommend one - I am just about to replace with a 1996 version.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2001

1992 Volvo 440 GLT 1.7i from UK and Ireland


A good solid motorway car


At the first service I had it was noted that the rear brakes had seized up. This led to expensive £700 repairs.

The battery went dead.

I am getting leaks in the sunroof, drivers door and boot (only during the 2nd year of ownership).

The fanbelt is slipping.

Cracked plate between distributer and engine led to poor starting during this winter. Now replaced.

Drivers interior light does not function when the door is open.

Paint peeled up on bonnet during a jetwash where the lacquer had been damaged with a stone chip.

Drivers heated seat element doesn't work.

Tendency to overheat in summer.

General Comments:

Low nose has picked up a lot of stone chips on motorway.

The above list may seem like a big moan, but generally I am very happy with the car.

I am currently looking to purchase a newer model, either a 460 or 440 GLT from about 1996 (any opinions on this model year would be appreciated).

I have found it to be a great motorway car, most of the miles are on them. Very comfortable, and safe and less likely to be stolen than other cars in my area!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

26th Feb 2001, 12:50

I own a 1996 Volvo 440GS Turbo Automatic and I love it to pieces! The car replaces a 1992 440 GLT (with 156,000 miles on it!)and it definitely improves on the areas which let the previous model down. The 1996 car is more refined, better built and has transformed handling - for the better. An excellent ride and cornering ability make the car very comfortable. Very underated car - especially in Turbo form. The seatbelt warning light is very annoying though, as it is so loud!