1992 Volvo 440 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1992 Volvo 440 Turbo 1.7 turbo from Germany

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance127000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Fantastic!

Faults:

Nothing special. Just the usual things over the last 127.000 kilometres.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic! If you really like the 440 design, don't think twice and get this Volvo! Superb performance, great comfort, and excellent reliability. All this quality for a great price, I assure you!

The only thing that could be better, it is the fuel economy, but hey! - it's a 1.7 gasoline car from the start of the 90's with excellent performance! As long as you control your speed, this car won't drink much gas. You'll make 8 litres at 100 km/h which is very good.

I feel like I can make 1 million kilometres with it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

8th Apr 2001, 01:28

Hi,

I've just bought a 440 TURBO INTERCOOLER, and I was wondering, if you could help me with some questions:

The car itself has 116000 km and was made in 1990!It's in great shape!!

I have some questions about it, though!

What kind of fuel should I use for my car (unleaded, leaded...95,98 octane...)

What kind of oil type is recommended for my car.

What is normal oil consumption (if any)

I thank you for your kind answers!

My email:

videspor@yahoo.com.

With best regards, Andraz from Slovenia.

26th Apr 2006, 17:12

Sounds like I have an identical car, except mine is 1994.

1.7 Renault engine, assembled in Holland - it is a Volvo 'in fancy dress' as my old mate used to say. Metallic silver, half leather heated front seats etc. A great comfortable ride, especially on long journeys.

I had some problems with electrics - the battery seemed to run flat often. Finally, after replacing the alternator, the problem was sorted by replacing a fuse for the alternator system. Sorry, I'm not a mechanic so cannot be more specific about which fuse - but if it happens have the electrics checked before replacing the alternator. As for oil consumption? I bought a five litre drum for my old Vauxhall Cavalier 2.0li. It used about 2/3 of this and I still have a dribble left after four years with the Volvo. In short it doesn't seem to be using much at all although it's regularly changed at its annual full service. It would be wise to check it regularly anyway - you never know!

Happy driving! And change the timing belt every 45,000 miles!!

Des, Dumfries, South West Scotland.

1992 Volvo 440 Turbo 2.0 turbo from Austria

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance159000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 244 DL

Summary:

A very fast and cheap car

Faults:

One bumper on the left side.

Rear brakes.

General Comments:

A very good car. Very fast (I have won a race with a BMW Z3) and cheap.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2000

1992 Volvo 440 Li 1.8 single point from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 single point Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFiat Strada 70cl

Summary:

Nice car that soldiers on well

Faults:

Nothing serious, that's what's good about it.

General Comments:

Always starts and always goes but you almost always have a list of little mechanical things that need doing once it gets beyond 5-6 years old. Good for a DIY mechanic. Steering tends to wander, needs new rack once or twice a lifetime. Often a bulb somewhere that needs replacing. Not fast really but surprisingly vigorous if you want it to be - can catch you out if you're lulled into thinking it's sluggish, loads of torque at low revs. Drive it gently and the economy is amazing for a 1.8.

No luxuries on basic Li except heated front seats. Without power steering it's a beast to park, but good exercise!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2000

30th May 2001, 13:53

It's a Volvo, they are not cheap.

27th May 2002, 08:34

Is there a warning light on the dash to warn of blown bulbs?

If so where about on the dash, and what does it look like.

Is it possible that you have an owners manual that you could copy for me? If you can I will supply my address.

19th Apr 2004, 08:44

I own a 440 Li and I think it's a lovely car, but I've got a dashboard light that stays on (no... not the sidelights!) it looks like an orange goldfish bowl with a cross through it.what is it!? thank you.

27th Oct 2004, 07:14

Hi Guys.

Volvo parts are quite often made in the UK, shipped off to Sweden, put in volvo boxes and\or stickers applied and shipped back. Guess who pays for this?? :)

German and Swedish car parts or Eurocarparts are just as good - and cheaper. (example: New Catalyst box £100 with VAT)

Cheers - Dan

1992 Volvo 440 GI Europe 1.8 single point from Austria

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.8 single point
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10

Faults:

Cooling system leaks, clutch is too hard - sticks, back suspension gone after 60,000km, front brakes gone at 70,000km.

General Comments:

On the whole a good car, I'm thinking of buying a used '94er 440 TD in the Sport - edition.... but where can I get chip tuning for this car done???

gercis77@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1992 Volvo 440 Xi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Alternator.

Bulb holder rusts due to water dripping in when boot is opened.

Radiator leak.

Boot trim weak.

Gear box really poor (Renault!). Difficult to get into 1st.

General Comments:

Solid and safe feel.

Good acceleration and relatively economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 1998

15th Jan 2001, 10:20

The problem getting into first is a symptom of a badly worn (or incorrectly adjusted) clutch. Adjustment is quite easy (from what I remember of a 440 Turbo I had about 5 years ago) - get a Haynes manual and you can do it in about 10 minutes. If the clutch is badly worn, Volvo will happily relieve you of £400+ to fit a new one. That's why I got rid of mine...

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews