1995 Volvo 440 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1995 Volvo 440 i 2.0 petrol from Netherlands

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 kilometres
Most recent distance71000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

A waste of money

Faults:

Timing belt and front brakes needed replacing after only 69,00 kilometres. The build quality is generally poor - lots of rattles, rough-idling engine. Just recently, the engine has been overheating despite an assurance from a mechanic that there was nothing wrong. The overheating occurs within a 4 kilometre drive. The ergonomics are poor and the ride is harsh.

General Comments:

This car is a waste of money. It offers nothing to compensate for the poor quality and I cannot see any reason to buy a Volvo 440 when Japanese equivalents offer vastly improved reliability. My 1990 Toyota 4-Runner (3.0 petrol) had 350,000 kilometres on it, was driven off-road and through Canadian winters yet it was still in very good mechanical shape (no major parts replacements) despite being 5 years older and having about 6 times the mileage as the Volvo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2002

3rd May 2005, 18:59

Fully agree with you. I had so many problem with my Volvo 440Se 1005 model. The air conditioning evaporator has a hole immediately after the warranty expired, electrical problems and now, the auto transmission need to be overhaul. It is only 97000km. Where is the quality behind that name.

1995 Volvo 440 Si 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carVolvo 440

Summary:

It does a job, nothing much more

Faults:

Nothing mechanical has failed on the car, but it runs with a slight misfire (probably HT leads, ignition coil, plugs...)

The only problems have been a temperamental immobiliser, and key-code radio.

General Comments:

Very disappointed with this car.

I had previously owned an older 440 with the 1.7 litre engine. This newer car with the larger engine is far slower, and not as smooth.

Having said that it is reliable and fairly comfortable, though loud.

Also looks OK in the dark metallic blue and alloys.

An older 1.7 version would probably be a better buy, it's quicker, doesn't have the horrifically light power steering, and tolerated being bounced of the rev-limiter for a year when it already had 120,000 miles on the clock, without ever failing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2002

1995 Volvo 440 GLT 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired80500 miles
Most recent distance99700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Bargain to buy, but expensive to repair

Faults:

Central locking on all five motors were burnt out apparently for no reason - expensive fix!

Exhaust - difficult for high street fitters to locate the correct parts - job best done by a Volvo garage.

Water pump just replaced.

Rev counter fails to work during winter time - needs replacing.

Loads of bulb failures - not unusual as most of them remain on during daylight.

Sunroof rattle and very noisy when open for ventilation only (not fully open), according to the Volvo dealer, a design fault!

General Comments:

Sports pack - hence the ride is very choppy, otherwise excellent motorway performance/ride for an automatic.

Extras very handy and reasonable economy in urban driving, again the automatic gear change is excellent.

I don't know what the replacement is like (S40), but if Volvo has ironed out the electrical problems then they have a winner - the engine is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

1995 Volvo 440 SE 2.0L MPI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L MPI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 121

Summary:

Let the buyer beware, Volvo has quality problems

Faults:

* Automatic transmission seized up and had to be fully reconditioned.

* Front brake rotors seized twice.

* Rear CV joints replaced 3 times.

* Dashboard lights not working and faulty.

* Loose gasket (replaced within warranty).

* Rust in the front door (found within 3 months of buying the car).

General Comments:

The car has been an example of being a lemon. I must have spent more than 8000AUD in replacing "non regular servicing" parts and labour. At this rate I could have used the extra money to buy a BMW 318i (as a competing car in the Australian market). One of the main faults being the automatic transmission.

That said the car has good interior packaging and can fit a mountain bike and carry three people at the same time which is handy and practical. It is also relatively a good motorway cruiser and city parker.

Performance in hilly country with a full load is acceptable, but the fuel efficiency real life city with peak hour traffic is about 13.0L/100km which is not the best, but not bad either.

Steering is not light like a Japanese car, but can be a bit wooly and jittery at the centre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

23rd Jul 2002, 01:42

How can a front wheel drive car have rear C/V joints go?

3rd May 2005, 19:07

I too had problems with my Volvo 440se 1995 model. Air conditioning evaporator replaced, electrical problems and now, have to overhaul auto transmission. There is more worries than enjoyment and is only 97000 kms in 10 years.

18th May 2005, 03:50

Last time, I report on this forum of holes on the air condition evaporator, which I had to replaced. Now the automatic transmission pack up. Cost $A2500 to overhaul and is not the same as before. My volvo 440SE only had 97000 kms in 10 years. Again I ask, where is the quality and reliability? I am deeply disappointed. I will buy Japanese cars from now on.

Terry Ong.

21st May 2005, 20:02

To further continue my unlucky encounter with my Volvo 440SE, it also has problem with the front windshield water pump and air conditioning switch module at the dashboard. Volvo quoted $500 above to replace, but I took it to an auto electrician which cost me $120. Also, at 97000 kms, the seals beneath the alternator was linking, which means air conditioning is empty and not working and the seal had to be replaced for $150.

A chain of problems, one after another. Quality has given way to profit. I have learnt not to trust any well known names for quality these days. To sell at a cheap competitive price, one has to compromise quality.

One word of advice is before you buy a car, don't rely on the name for quality, also check out how many places can you take your car for servicing or breakdown. If there is only one or two dealerships, then your choice is limited. They can quote you an arm or a leg or poor workmanship, and you have to wait longer to get it fix. Think about this before you buy. As for me, I will go for a cheap Japanese or Korean car, maybe Chinese car when it is on the market. It is cheaper and plenty of choices, and is reliable. Terry Ong.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews