1993 Volvo 460 Reviews

1993 Volvo 460 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

If you can handle the old fart image, buy one

Faults:

Ignition fault in wiring harness immobilised the car at 50,000 miles.

Suspension failed for MOT a 55,000 miles.

Dog ate the back seats at 54,000 miles.

There's getting to be some rust on the wheel arches that I have to keep at bay - but it's getting on, and we salt roads - so what?

General Comments:

Low mileage, bought from a retired bloke who used it to collect his pension. These cars are not driven by loonies. Generally.

The car handles like it's on tank tracks. It's a tank. Tanks along all day feeling as solid as a rock.

Brill seats, even with my bad back.

Designed by a 7 year old child with an etch a sketch. Not a curve to be seen, but if you're inside the car it really doesn't matter. Zero street cred - if this bothers you buy something else.

Starts, goes, stops. In a word "reliable" - Parkers guide says it's Volvos nightmare. I've had lots of nightmare cars - this wasn't one.

Cruises at anything you want - though I've not gone past 90 as I like my licence.

Makes a lovely booming roaring noise from the exhaust when it's cruising. The BMW I also drive is much more subdued.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2009

3rd Mar 2009, 12:45

You don't say what engine your 460 has, it just says manual in the details, anyway, I'd be very surprised if it cruises at "anything you want", having owned a 440 with the 2.0i engine (the 2nd most powerful they ever did in these cars), about 90 mph is as fast as most people would ever wanna go in one.

Have a look at my write up, it's under 1996 model year and titled "widowmaker round corners" if I remember correctly!

5th Mar 2009, 20:34

"Dog ate the back seats at 54,000 miles."

Was it something going wrong with the car, or the dog?!

30th Jun 2009, 12:21

It's a 1.8 engine. I commute 64 miles a day and if the road is clear I put my foot down and it goes up to an (indicated) 90 quite easily - the speedo might be a bit out, but it seems to keep up with fast traffic quite well.

I don't know why anyone would feel dubious about travelling at speed in this car. It tracks like a train.

The mileage is less than 70,000 and the engine is quite healthy. I get about 35 mpg, which is the only thing leading me to a more up to date motor, as I don't think that's very good economy., but it works and is very reliable.

Still looks dreadful though. Volvo designer's (if there are such things) were stuck in a 1979 time warp.

1st Jul 2009, 07:28

"Was it something going wrong with the car, or the dog?!"

I really don't know. The dog just seems to find them tasty, so it first ate the covers and then proceeded to the foam.

1993 Volvo 460 GL 2.0 injection (B20F) from Norway

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 injection (B20F) Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired182500 kilometres
Most recent distance187500 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

It's a cheap 2nd hand car, and seems to provide great value for money

Faults:

I know that the engine was changed for a new one at 64000 km.

There has been some repair on the brakes, due to rust, on norwegian salty roads.

It was difficult to start in cold weather and high moisture, but this is OK after I changed the rotor and it's cover.

The lambda sond had to be replaced due to high CO emissions (> 0.65 %).

General Comments:

It's fun to drive due to the quick 2.0 litre engine, and the handling is good.

On snow and ice it is very good, and will climb hills where it's not possible to go with other cars like my Vectra B.

The seats are very comfortable, even when compared to brand new cars of today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2007

1993 Volvo 460 GLi 1.6 Gasoline from Portugal

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Gasoline Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 340

Summary:

Remember that owning a Volvo is a question of identity, taste and peace of mind

Faults:

The only thing that is bad in the car, is the plastics, the seat plastics, the buttons on the dashboard and even some parts of the dashboard reveal that the model was a economic class made by Volvo, but still a great car, worth every penny...

General Comments:

Volvo 460 GLI.

If you don't like to drive very fast, it is quite economic car. She will do over 200km/h, but this will cost you every penny, and she does not drive well over 150 km/h, the back is a little unpredictable.

The car accelerates well, she is quick and responsive. But be careful with the curves because the back tends to slide a little bit when you are driving over 150 km/h.

It is a very comfortable car, you will love the seats, just like your sofas at home, and the air conditioning is very efficient, its practically like a moving living room.

It's a very safe car, the ABS brakes very well and the absorption structure is very good, once a truck hit my car in the bumper, and for my surprise it didnt break anything!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2003

19th Apr 2004, 11:55

I own same car, only it's 1994. If you have original radio in the car, you just have to wait for two hours and then re-enter your code.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 5 reviews