1994 Volvo 460 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1994 Volvo 460 DL 1.8i from Denmark

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 kilometres
Most recent distance141000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable day to day transportation

Faults:

Heating in drivers seat doesn't work.

General Comments:

Not the fastest of cars when equipped with the 1.8L mono-point injection engine (B18U). Massive amounts of torque at low Rpm's makes for effortless driving even when fully loaded.

Handling is great with the 175/65R14's I use during winter, cornering suffers somewhat when 195/65R15's are fitted during the summer - on the other hand acceleration improves.

The seats are excellent, with the added bonus of adjustable lumbar support and heating in the two front seats.

When properly maintained, this car will start and run in all types of weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2005

1994 Volvo 460 1.7 i from Denmark

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance155000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

Living room on wheels

Faults:

Nothing much other than service parts

Renewed the spark plugs and cables

The engine is running fine, but haves an erratic idling.

The seat heating in the drivers seat is broken.

General Comments:

Very reliable and comformtable car to drive.

I have just fitted new leather seats in the car, looks and feels great.

The car is very economic on fuel. The fuel consumption is 14 km/l I average.

Due to the low weight, the car handles and accelerates great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

18th Feb 2006, 03:29

Think these are prone to inlet manifold leaks. Mine is the same on idle and fine on full power.

Cheers

Clive.

8th Aug 2006, 02:20

There is a solution for this, a electronic device made by Volvo after it became known that there were problems. Also the 1.8 GLE made in 1994, model year 1994, has this problem. I haven't solved it yet, no time, but in the near future I'm going to the dealer to buy it. If it is without results, they will get the unit back.

10th Aug 2006, 02:17

Please, if this part works for your car.. tell us about its name and details so we can all solve our problem... I am from Egypt and I am facing the same problem in my car.

1994 Volvo 460 GLE 1.9 TD from Belgium

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TD Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 kilometres
Most recent distance198000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Economical, practical car with powerful engine

Faults:

The dealer installed a fairly new gear box, engine (70 000km) and suspension. However, the dealer technician forgot to put oil onto the gear box. I drove 600km this way, untill the unhealthy noises made me worry and get the car checked up. Oil was put on, and it sounds OK now, but I guess the gear box is not as new anymore. Upon a second check up, it will be replaced if necessary.

Engine runs out of fuel right before the red zone on the indicator. Keep this in mind! I had to push my car for 30m only, but I was lucky.

General Comments:

Positive :

Powerfull engine. Pulls well and uphill you will notice this car doesn't lack torque. The Turbo awakens a bit late, but when it does you can feel it. Because of the car's low weight it will be tough competition for quite some TD (C) I's of today.

The economy is excellent! It took me 54.5L to move this car for 1000km along city roads and highways.

The electric open roof is silent, even on highways. Obviously good designed.

Spacious, good lit trunk. Enough leg room for passengers. I like the mid-console. Plenty of space to store CD's, easy controls, and good positioning of the car stereo.

Negative :

Noisy engine when cold and at higher revs (around 3000). For instance on the highway.

Sometimes difficult to get into the first gear. Inertness in first gear. You have to work that clutch.

Handling and suspension is adequate.

The seats are a bit too soft, besides the lower back support. It could have to do with the age, though. Also the interior rattles now and then.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2002

10th Mar 2004, 17:28

My second VOLVO 460,This being a k-reg 460CD turbo, a great car, but a lot of turbo lag! I have a dump valve for the car, but I'm unable to find a fitting kit? Any ideas please!

Also when the car is warm it tends to over rev at near 2000rpm, is this common?

9th Feb 2007, 15:28

I don`t understand why you are so happy with a car that had to be the engine rebuilt at 70000 km, or I understood wrong?

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews