1989 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1989 Volvo 740 SE Estate 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired116216 miles
Most recent distance166500 miles

Summary:

Big nipper, it can move

Faults:

Boot lock/opening mechanism.

Main fuel pump.

Steering rack.

Horn.

Propshaft bearing.

Brake pads.

Brake fluid leak.

General Comments:

A good car for a large family; we have rear facing seats in the boot, the children have now outgrown them however.

It is a good car to drive, but it has now got to the stage where it is costing a lot to service - even if one avoids rip-off dealerships like Lloyd's.

The interior still looks good despite receiving endless abuse from small children with juice, crisps, beer etc.

It handles well, never under/over steers (apart from when my wife drives).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2001

18th Oct 2001, 04:54

When my wife drives, I also find handling problems. How fast can you get to 60?

23rd Jan 2002, 05:21

When my wife drives, we only seem to go round square corners, never managing to get out of 4th gear? I can't see this being a problem with the car itself.

18th Jul 2004, 11:00

When my wife drives... I never let the small children have beer with their juice and crisps. :D.

1989 Volvo 740 GLE 2.3 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired350000 miles
Most recent distance379990 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

This car is one of Volvo's finest and will go on forever

Faults:

The alternator brushes and front bearing needed replacement.

The water pump needed replacement at 370000 miles.

I replaced the steering rack at 379980 miles.

Apart from that and the usual items, that is all that needed replacement.

General Comments:

The car is great and with 379990 miles on the clock it is a bit tappy on start up, but runs and drives like new.

I have never needed recovery or missed an appointment because of the car.

It tows very well and manages 25 miles to the gallon towing a two horse trailer with two ponies in!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

12th Nov 2004, 06:51

25 mpg while towing a loaded horse trailer? You must have meant 25 k/pg (I know that makes no sense). My 740 (it was a turbo which affects mileage) got about 20 mpg at best. Usually I got about 15 mpg driving around town. Then again maybe my Volvo just sucked.

1989 Volvo 740 Turbo Wagon 2.3L turbo 4 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

A great car for little $$$...beware of high repair costs though!

Faults:

Front and rear windshield wiper motors burned out.

Driver-side windshield washer nozzle stopped working.

Some clip that holds the exhaust to the bottom of the car broke, so now the exhaust system rattles at idle.

Many interior pieces (mainly dash and door trim pieces) have broken or fallen off.

Both driver and passenger-side lumbar supports broke and are no longer adjustable.

A small amount of black smoke comes out of the exhaust at start-up.

General Comments:

In the 17,000 miles that I have owned this car so far, it has been very reliable for me. No matter how hot or cold it is outside, it always starts right up for me!

It's an incredibly comfortable car for traveling. The seats are very comfy and dash controls are easy to see and reach...yes, even the stereo!

The only major complaints I have with my car are that the interior is very poorly assembled. Pieces on the dash and door panels are loose and rattle, if they haven't already broken or fallen off.

The cost of repairs is quite ridiculous. I accidentally broke the front, left turn-signal light cover and it will cost about $100 to replace. Even if you bring your Volvo to a good independent garage, repairs are still incredibly expensive, so keep that in mind when considering a Volvo.

Another complaint I have is that my Volvo gets very poor fuel economy. I never get more that 21mpg on the highway, with the A/C off. That's terrible for a 4-cylinder powered car! The lowest miles per gallon I got on the highway was 19mpg...terrible! My 4-cylinder powered Plymouth Acclaim on average got 35mpg on the highway and about 20-25mpg in the city. Much better!

My last complaint about my Volvo is that the 4-speed automatic transmission shifts very hard most of the time. It literally bucks into each gear... very annoying! I don't know if the transmission computer is starting to go or what, but it shifts very hard some days, and pretty smooth others.

Overall, I'm very satisfied with the car though. However, my previous car, a 1992 Plymouth Acclaim was also very reliable for me. I was able to put 182,000 miles on it before it was totaled in an accident. I did have to make more serious repairs to my Acclaim as compared to my Volvo, like replacing the radiator, alternator, head, and shocks, but all of these repairs (except for the head, $600) were quite cheap to fix. Replacing the alternator was around $100, replacing the front and rear shocks cost under $150, and the radiator was around $200. All of these repairs were made somewhere between 100,000 and 160,000 miles. They were much cheaper in comparison to repairs on Volvos. A friend of mine had to have the A/C fixed on her Volvo. It cost her around $700! A few months later, the A/C decided to go out again. This time it cost her around $900! Crazy! I'm happy to say that the A/C NEVER stopped working on my Acclaim! I have a feeling that I'll be switching back to another used Acclaim soon, simply because they are much cheaper to own in the long run, and are actually better cars for traveling because they are quieter, more fuel efficient with the 4-cylinder or V-6 engines, and shift a lot smoother!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

11th Jan 2002, 09:08

The shifting-problem is not a computer malfunction, but you should check your kick-down cable.

Ask a dealer for the settings.

On a Volvo 740 GLE auto, the kick-down cable should be come out 5.5 cm in full throttle.

I had the same problem. After the new setting it shifts very nice.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 48 reviews