1989 Volvo 740 Reviews - Page 5 of 12

1989 Volvo 740 Turbo intercooler from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.5 / 10
Distance when acquired205000 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles

Summary:

It was an interesting ride.

Faults:

The alternator went 3 times when I owned it.

The car used to have to accelerator stop working properly. Would not be able to floor it in emergency.

General Comments:

The car gave me quite a few problems.

The brakes were amazingly sensitive.

Clutch was a little sticky from time to time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd January, 2006

1989 Volvo 740 GL 2.4 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 265

Faults:

Not too many things have gone wrong with it. However the things that have were not major.

Overdrive solenoid.

Engine mounts.

Roof lining.

General Comments:

This car is extremely reliable, it has never missed a beat.

It has been on dirt roads most of the time and only now has one of the shock absorbers is wearing out.

The solenoid for fourth gear has failed meaning that our top gear is third and does 80 kilometers per hour at three thousand revs.

The motor is very good, its quite happy to run at three thousand revs for 26 kilometer's twice a day.

Even though the cars not as fast as others on the road, it keeps up with traffic with no problems.

This car is very comfortable on long trips, however it can get thirsty if you push it hard.

I would buy another Volvo, But it will be a 760/960 GLE.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

25th Jul 2005, 11:04

How expensive are the repairs? Is it difficult to find someone to repair these?

Blessedone10@hotmail.com.

6th Apr 2007, 20:45

Hi, I have a 740 GL that I adore for the last eight years,1989 model, it replaced a 244 GL and we have just bought a S80 2.0.T, we are still going to keep the 740 as our second car. Like you we also have sagging roof lining, one day will get it fixed. Our car also has a sunroof and heated seats. They do say that once you have owned a Volvo, you won't buy anything else and I think I agree.

31st Jan 2009, 15:46

I've had a 740 for about 7 years now, this car is unstoppable, it has 330000 km and the only serious problem has been pitting in the head that was welded up about two years ago. Like others, the ceiling lining went, I pulled it out and just painted the backing card. I'll be keeping this car for a few more years yet.

4th Apr 2009, 19:56

Bought a used Volvo 740 for $1,700.00 in 2002 from an aunt who purchased it new in 1990. It had 159,000 miles and now have 256,000 miles on it. Great car!!! Had a few minor problems, mostly hose leaks, and of course, the falling ceiling liner. Have driven it comfortably across several states, never stranded. Thinking about sinking a few thousand in it and keeping it for another decade. Engine just won't stop!!!

1989 Volvo 740 G.L.E 16 Valve 4 Cylinder 16v from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 Cylinder 16v Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance210000 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Faults:

Timing Belt.

Radiator.

Odometer.

Wiring

Co2 thing.

General Comments:

It was a major workhorse hauled around a band for about two years.

Would buy a different model of the 700 series.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

1989 Volvo 740 Turbo Intercooler 2.3 turbo from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

I would trust this tired, old car with my life

Faults:

The only non-maintenance item (I consider brakes and exhaust system repair as normal maintenance) that I have replaced in my five years of ownership has been the starter.

Original starter replaced.

General Comments:

This car has never failed to start nor has it ever left me stranded. All of the car's mechanical "issues" give plenty of warning before failing.

The car's interior is a strange amalgam of well-built ruggedness and poorly thought-out design. The leather seats will seemingly wear forever, but the headliner and plastic trim parts always need attention.

The Turbo engine is a jewel. It is as strong as it was when I bought it, with only one oil change a year, oil and gas when it needs it; no other maintenance. I mean NO OTHER MAINTENANCE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2005

5th Mar 2005, 12:26

Good for you! I believe firmly in no/low maintenance. one oil change a year is fine. A car shouldn`t need anything else. Keep the tires at right pressure and the windscreen washer reservoir topped up. That should cover it!

12th Feb 2010, 07:07

I HIGHLY ADVISE that nobody follows this dangerous "low/no maintenance" strategy.

You could lose your life or kill others in a thoroughly neglected car when highly important steering/suspension/brake components fail.

It is also VERY bad for a turbo car to only have its oil changed once per year.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 47 reviews