1992 Volvo 960 Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1992 Volvo 960 2.9 Straight-six from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.9 Straight-six Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carBMW 318i

Summary:

Not your average European sedan

Faults:

Various engine bay leaks.

General Comments:

Volvo are the masters of making people-friendly cars. The 960 sedan has a seemingly limitless usability aura - the interior is almost too practical, while remaining serious about it's elegance at the same time.

The 2.9L in line six Volvo engine howls as your accelerate past 5,500rpm. Words cannot express how satisfying it sounds.

With around 200hp at higher revs, the engine is about adequate to pull a car full of adults through steep open-road bends.

Because the car weighs so much, it tends to hug the road impressively. This gives the driver a bit of compensation for the body-roll through tight corners.

I have very little to touch on when it comes to negative aspects of the 960. You'll find that there really is a lot to appreciate when you get to understand the design characteristics of these machines.

Basically, the 960 strikes a strong balance of usability, safety, performance, and elegance. A shining model of European design and engineering excellence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

11th Sep 2006, 23:09

Could not agree with you more. A really great car.

1992 Volvo 960 sedan 2.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Dollar for dollar, a used 960 is an outstanding value

Faults:

Radio antennae belt failed at 106,000 miles.

Park/neutral switch replaced at 122,000 miles.

Passenger side seat belt receiver replaced at 128,000 miles.

Water pump had total failure at 129,000 miles.

Brakes pads have short life cycle.

General Comments:

Features and performance similar to my E320 but with less "over engineering".

Coachwork, seats, drive-train built to last.

Interior door panels and console are cheap appearing plastic.

Have had no problem with sun roof, power windows and seats, or instrumentation.

Comfortable and sure feeling on the road.

-

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

16th Aug 2004, 08:57

I have a 92 960. The only problems I have had is when I close the sun roof I have to Push down the rain shutter about 1/4 inch so the roof will close tight. Also the right rear shock seems to sag. This is shock #2. Otherwise the car is great.

Bill.

17th Oct 2006, 00:50

Curiously, I also had a rear right shock absorber fail, and the corresponding coil spring, which no longer had help, broke before the problem was detected. (Since I'm in England, the car rolls rightward when making the tighter left turns because we drive on the left.) This resulted in some impressive and scary "wobbles" when simultaneously accelerating and turning. If this happens to you, check your suspension...

28th May 2008, 18:20

My 960 is on its last legs due to chronic problems with the speedometer head. Apparently the problem could be fixed through used parts (ie the full instrument panel), but those are now impossible to find. The only fix is a $1000 new speedo head that might or might not work.

31st Mar 2011, 19:16

Can't you just check the wiring for the speedo? I'm sure you could fix it like that.

1992 Volvo 960 Wagon V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance181000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Old faithful!

Faults:

Entire AC system replaced about 3 years ago with a "freon free" type.

Replaced alloy wheels with steel ones in 1993 or 1994. NY pot holes dented them too easily.

Engine replaced at 52K miles (1995). The block cracked and was replaced free of charge by Volvo Cars.

Car was broad-sided after 2 weeks of ownership. Was repaired and have never had any problems.

In 1997 was hit by a pickup truck. Had the entire car repainted to avoid fading problems from the Arizona sun.

Replaced radiator in 1998.

Car lacks the power it had when new. This started showing up at about 150k miles. It appears that the transmission is failing, but don't seem to be able to get a Volvo replacement tranny. Dealership has been of no help here.

Brakes are expensive to replace, but they always work flawlessly, so worth the extra bucks.

General Comments:

After 10 years of ownership, and over 180k miles, I am amazed at how well the car has held up. Both the exterior and interior are beautiful.

If you can find a good 960 with reasonable mileage, go for it! Overall, the car holds up quite well. It is comfortable, reliable and safe.

Still has the smallest turning radius of any car I've ever seen. Nothing today, in this regard, can compete.

The trick to owning a Volvo is to find a reliable mechanic. Our dealer in NY was great, but our AZ dealer was unsatisfactory. And I'm not sure that Ford is helping in this regard.

Overall the car has met our needs quite well. Am hard pressed to find a suitable replacement. Am not convinced that the XC is going to be as reliable as the 960. Am considering leasing the XC as a lemon hedge, but have not decided. I shouldn't have to think about this at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2002

17th May 2005, 14:01

I also had a free replacement engine in 1995 at around 50,000 miles. same reason, and was told that the cracked block was a congenital engine defect. Car has been perfect since.

Love this car and will try to keep it on the road as long as possible.

Had several relay switches go at once, lately...wipers, turn signals, etc.

2nd Aug 2006, 19:12

I'm the third owner of a wonderful Volvo 960 Wagon - have to get new brakes and the AC is starting to go, but overall I am thrilled with this car. It's a Volvo - safety, reliability, and craftsmanship- and it's the perfect vehicle to tote three large dogs around in - they each get a window! And come hurricane season I know we can all evacuate together if need be!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 10 reviews