Volvo DL Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1982 Volvo DL from North America

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles

Faults:

Replaced windshield (leaked).

Replaced muffler.

Replaced tailpipe.

Replaced U-joints.

Replaced motor mount.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced shocks.

Air conditioning doesn't work anymore.

I have replaced many other small things, the above are the major problems.

Am having a problem the last few months where it will just not start after driving it around for a while. If I wait 45 minutes or so it will start right up. Since it won't do it for the mechanic I haven't been able to have it fixed. I was, however charged a pretty penny to have my mechanic tell me this.

General Comments:

I bought this car for $1500, and have spent just as much on repairs alone.

Up until about a year ago it has been a good car, and has only left me stranded (for real) on the side of the road once.

This car does have a lot of miles, but it has just gotten to be such a burden lately that I am selling it.

I have noticed that this particular Volvo wagon doesn't seem to be as common as others. Do others agree that this year and model is not so great?

I would buy another Volvo if I could afford to get one much newer, which I don't see happening anytime soon, so I will probably have to avoid Volvos for a while.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2001

22nd Jul 2001, 13:15

Have your mechanic check for any hairline cracks on the solder of the relay/s that control the fuel pump or fuel injection system. Happened to a previous car I had. No problems since.

15th Oct 2002, 19:11

No, it is not the year. The 240 series had an excellent engine. Though there are minor things you have to keep up with, a well taken care-of 240 can go for ages. (Mine went to the yard with 307,000 miles and that was due to rust. It burned almost no oil at all!)

Sounds to me like you purchased a car that was in good, but not great shape. Most 240's I see (I'm looking for another) that are under $1500 seem to need a lot of attention. The best car in the world quickly deteriorates into a lemon if not well looked after.

17th May 2004, 14:06

My '82 had a similar problem of not starting after driving a while; it would almost, but not quite turn over. The problem happened to be a fuse (#13 if I recall.) This particular fuse operates the electronic ignition system, and it had been replaced with a glass Buss-style European fuse versus the older colored ceramic European fuses. Apparently, the glass ones are just a tad too short; they rattle around and make poor contact. Replaced the fuse with the proper type and problem was solved. Hope this helps.

7th Oct 2004, 09:09

My 1994 Volvo 850 has the same problem. It will not start after being on the highway for a while, but will start right up after about 15-20 minutes. The weird thing is my 1988 Acura Legend used to do it too. Since both have over 100k, I'm wondering if it's fuel pump or fuel injector related? Tekron doesn't help however and since I'm in AZ, it may just be heat related. Any advice?

Frails@hotmail.com.

1985 Volvo DL 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Mini

Summary:

Great little car, shame about the image

Faults:

Problems with the ECU - previous owner had replaced battery, alternator and distributor to try and correct starting problems. I replaced the ECU with a secondhand unit (£15) and this cured the starting problem.

No other faults.

General Comments:

I found the car very reliable and whilst a bit of an eyesore, I found it perfectly acceptable. The car was in very good condition and was showing no signs of rust or rot.

Avoid main agents for spares where possible scrap yards and independent specialists can help keep running costs low.

If you can live with the looks and lack of cudos then the car won't let you down. I'd buy another one. The 360 especially after 1985 is a good buy with reasonable performance and refinement.

The 1.4 is the old DAF engine, the 1.7 is a Renault engine and the 2.0 is a genuine Volvo lump. The 2.0 if serviced will run for 200,000. The 1.7 has been know to have problems with water pumps. The 1.4 is a bit noisy, but generally reliable with no known major faults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 14:04

The 1.4 is a Renault unit too! Daf always sourced their water cooled engines from them.

1982 Volvo DL 2.1 petrol (?) from North America

Year of manufacture1982
Engine and transmission 2.1 petrol (?)
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

The o-rings for the fuel injectors rotted away, the overdrive needs to be rebuilt and the alternator died. Besides that, in the 40,000 miles I've put on the car since I bought it, it has only been normal wear items (tires, battery, shocks, headlights, etc.).

General Comments:

Good car for the price (only paid $1700 for it) three years ago. Currently seeking a silver 90-93 240GL Turbo Wagon with black leather interior.

rands28@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews