2004 Volvo XC90 Reviews - Page 5 of 11

2004 Volvo XC90 AWD T6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission T6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

A very unreliable car!!!

Faults:

The transmission failed at 48,000 miles in Dec. 2007. The car was not under warranty at the time.

The transmission failed again at 56,000 miles in August 2008. This time it was under a 12K/12 month warranty.

The starter failed in September 2008, the same day I got the car back after the new transmission was replaced.

General Comments:

Volvo should recall the '03 and '04 models. I have heard about and read on-line about hundreds of these models having transmission failure with less than 60,000 miles. This is ridiculous. Spending so much money for a car and having the transmission fail with so few miles definitely shows that there is a design defect. When will Volvo take responsibility for this?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2008

2004 Volvo XC90 T6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission T6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Expensive junk

Faults:

Like virtually every other XC90 on the road, at 73,000 miles, its transmission began to slip. $7000 to repair except that it was a Volvo Certified Pre Owned so I have warranty to 100,000 miles. And I'm sure gonna need it based on my experience with the car. Volvo Certified? Volvo Certifiably Bad Transmissions!

General Comments:

Too expensive to buy.

Lousy resale value.

Too expensive to repair.

Needs lots of repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2008

2004 Volvo XC90 turbo from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission turbo Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance88900 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Great features, but questionable reliability/would not purchase again

Faults:

My tires wear out about every 30,000 miles; cost about $250.00 each to replace + labor.

My transmission just went at 88,900 miles. Transmission failure light went on and the car got sluggish. Do all my services at Volvo, never miss a recommended service interval. Only cost me $200.00 deductible because I had purchased an extended warranty offered by Volvo that gets me out to 1000,000; purchased it about the second year I owned car, for about $1,800 dollars, otherwise the transmission would have cost me $5,200 at the Volvo dealership, but I really question why this happened at what I consider a low mileage??

Got a Volvo factory new transmission, waited 6 days for it to come in. The extended warranty covered the loaner. Then I had to pay for the loaner for 3 days for the job to complete.

I have never had to replace a transmission on any car I've owned, and I hold onto cars for at least 125,000-150,000 miles! I think there may be a problem with this car.

General Comments:

Very comfortable for long distances, great heated seats, very versatile for flattening seats and cargo.

Purchased a third row, rarely used as my kids outgrew it and very cramped, don't buy.

Like the retractable side mirrors, since I know with other cars I would have damaged them by now getting in/out of the garage.

Decent highway mileage, fair city mileage. Spent at least $600-800/year on just basic services.

Oh, when the car drives in heavy rain, you will hear a "grating type of sound from the wheels". I noted this from the beginning and took it back to the dealer to address, but they "couldn't reproduce the sound", but it definitely happens when driving in torrential rain conditions. The car works, but the sound is rather alarming, but stops as heavy rain diminishes or stops.???

I will probably go back to purchasing a Mercedes, Lexus, or maybe a more reliable less expensive Japanese car.

I think since Ford took over Volvo, its quality/reliability have decreased.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th September, 2008

2004 Volvo XC90 T6 Twin turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Twin turbo Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carVolvo XC90

Summary:

Nice, but not a reliable, long lasting car

Faults:

Two transmissions in 88,000 miles, rear wheel bearing, lots of expensive brake jobs compared to my Chevy Suburban.

General Comments:

Don't get too comfortable if you have a transmission replaced in your XC-90. We had one go out at 62,000 miles 14 months ago, and it just happened again at 88,000. We were told that the warranty is only for 12 months, so we are out of luck. We love the Volvo's, but they are just too expensive to maintain, and will be buying a Chevy or Toyota next time. Too bad they can't step up and fix the problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th August, 2008

27th Aug 2008, 12:15

We bought a used 2004 T6 with 42,000 miles. The transmission was replaced at 46,000 miles. It was covered by the warranty and replaced free of charge. At 48,000 miles, the transmission went again as it had a major slip when accelerating. The dealer took the car back and replaced it with a 2005 2.5T as Volvo covered the difference. The dealer admitted there is a problem with the T6 and has since stopped selling them. So far, the 2.5T has been great.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 39 reviews