2005 Volvo XC90 T6 T6 from North America

Summary:

Do not buy

Faults:

Design flaw in the transmission. Just started to fail. Dealer tried recommended service and software upgrade to no avail. Problem has been known for years.

General Comments:

Volvo said to be reliable and safe. Unfortunately, the XC90 is not reliable, and therefore not safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2009

2005 Volvo XC90 5 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Nice when working... major risk on drive train

Faults:

In less than 70k:

Braking module.

3 wheel bearings.

2 angle gears.

General Comments:

Angle gear is a major problem... very expensive. It is being replaced for the second time... just 17k miles on second one. First one failed at less than 40k.. but discovered around 52K with front wheel spin in snow. I purchased an extended warranty, so repairs covered by warranty agent first time and Volvo parts second time. Dealer says it is made by GM... and I thought I was buying a Volvo... of course engineered by Ford. This car is not close to reliability of prior Volvo's I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2009

11th Mar 2009, 08:56

I too am having to replace the angle gear in my 2004 XC90. It is going to cost 2100.00 and my Eagle extended warranty will only cover 1000.00.

Let's see, I have had to replace the gear shift, tires at every 20,000 miles, and other numerous problems, so that in the little over 1.5 years of ownership I have spent out over 4000.00 on this used car (can see why someone else wanted to dump it).

I will NEVER buy another Volvo. I know Ford makes some of the parts, but I have never had a problem with any Ford I ever owned. I would tell you DO NOT purchase this car unless you have thousands of cash on hand to pay in upkeep.

12th Oct 2012, 13:21

There is nothing wrong with changing tyres every 20k - in fact that's very good for such a heavy vehicle!

2005 Volvo XC90 Summum D5 diesel from Belgium

Summary:

I don't trust the reliability in the long run

Faults:

No problems so far, back bearings replaced during recall, the same for the steerings brackets by Volvo at no cost for me.

General Comments:

Car made for US Highways, not for European traffic.

Unpleasant to drive in the city.

Gearbox not pleasant, since no breaks from the motor above 80 km per hours.

Consumption under 10 l/100 kms.

Plastic of low quality.

No possibility to connect an I-POD or MP3 player.

Rather noisy motor when accelerating.

Globally comfortable on highways to cruise.

No automatic de icing of external mirrors, you have to connect the rear windscreen to get the external mirrors to de-ice.

Cruise control not controlling the speed when you drive down hill, the car accelerates because of its weight.

Mile away from the quality of my previous Mercedes.

My next car will be an electric one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2008

30th Oct 2008, 08:17

A very odd review. How can you not trust FUTURE reliability when you have not had any real problems? It is a very big car hence not designed for towns - motorway a plus. Quality is good, but you obviously forgot to sit in the car before you brought it. Sorry, do you own this car?

7th Nov 2008, 06:05

Yes, I am the owner of that car, If I am not confident about the future, it is because of the problems occured to other owners.

I do not like failure and unexpected cost.

7th Nov 2008, 08:05

Volvo XC90 125,000 miles. No problems. What a wonderful car, you just can't get a more reliable and practical car! Mine is a D5, so no transmission issues!!! The Diesel is by far and away the best engine - and I regularly get 35mpg!

21st Dec 2008, 08:27

No problems; but you don't trust it..?

21st Dec 2008, 19:41

It sounds like you are trying to justify to yourself wanting to buy a new car when the old one is still basically working fine. (The old thing just won't die so I can go get something new.) It's okay - we only go around once in life. If you find your car unpleasant to drive in city traffic, that is an excellent reason to buy something you like better. Let us know what you get.

22nd Jan 2011, 14:18

After 100.000 kms and flushing the gearbox oil, still the same "klong" when the box down shifts unexpectedly.

Recently I was told by another dealer that some element should have been replaced under warranty when new, that was not said to me previously. Now it is apparently too late.