Yugo 101 Reviews

1979 Yugo 101 1.3 from Bosnia and Herzegovina

Model year1979
Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 kilometres
Most recent distance12550 kilometres
Previous carYugo 101

Faults:

Electricals, plastics, some rust on the floor...

General Comments:

It's a very good car after years of use.

It's still can be useful in the short races on public streets.

It's perfect for young couples to enjoy on picnics or something like that :P.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2009

1983 Yugo 101 GT 1.1 from F.Y.R.O. Macedonia

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership1983
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance320000 kilometres

Summary:

There is no and will not be any better car for that price

Faults:

The Clutch had to be replaced on 130000 Km and never again after.

Exhaust needs replacing on every 2 years.

Minor mechanical problems now and then.

Rust, but all rusted parts are really easy to find and replace.

General Comments:

This is my best friend I have driven this car for about 22 years now.

The engine has traveled over 320000 Km still has the power inside.

It spends over 10 litres of petrol in city (13 or more in winter) and it does not have economical 5th gear.

This car just refuses to die, I have fiat Punto mk2 and Citroen ZX 1.9D, but I won't sell my flag untill she can roll her self on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

1980 Yugo 101 Confort 1.1 petrol from Serbia

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Comforts are best 101's ever built by Yugo factory

Faults:

All four doors and tailgate were replaced due to rust after 10 years.

Car went for only £100 in 2000 due to corrosion body damage beyond repair, which is hardly surprising for a 20-year old car.

General Comments:

The seats are extremely comfortable - "confort" trim.

Genuine Fiat engine never let me down. Superb acceleration for its body size.

Not to be driven beyond 120 km/h due to rattles and squeaks.

Plastic wheel archers improve corrosion resistance of front wings.

Low-mileage/rust-free Confort is a bargain and is sought-after even now, after 20 years of obsolence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

1979 Yugo 101 B 1.1 4 cylinder. gassoline from Serbia

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.1 4 cylinder. gassoline Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance196000 kilometres

Summary:

Good old fellow

Faults:

General engine crash in 1995.

Transmission blocked in 1993.

Windshield and front hub crash due to a storm in 1992.

Almost all glass broken due to a bombing shock waves in 1999.

Completely roasted and repaired in 1996.

Two Gas pump breaks in 1992. and 1999.

And more...

General Comments:

The seats are uncomfortable.

The suspension is exhausted.

Brakes are too "soft" i.e. pedal must be pressed very hard.

Always need to be cranked twice when outdoor temperature is below 20C.

Gear shifting is a very delicate operation, sometimes it takes more than 5 seconds to put the handle in proper position.

Spare parts are cheap and easy to find.

Can be bought for less that 150$.

I love that car...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2002

1979 Yugo 101 Comfort 1.1 petrol engine from Bosnia and Herzegovina

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership1979
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol engine Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance176693 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

Too old to rock'n'roll, but still young to die!

Faults:

- Electric parts.

- Front suspension (sailing like a boat).

- Plastic parts, and plastic on the dashboard (except very good plastic on the bumpers!)

- Lights on night driving.

- Aerodynamics (cx= 0.48!)

- Some rust on the front doors.

General Comments:

- Engine and gearbox are best parts of the Zastava 101, these "old - Italian-school elements" make me happy with the sound (engine) and easy handling (gearbox).

- It's still a good car for smaller families and people who loves Italian cars from the seventies.

- Running costs (300 DEM per year!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

24th Apr 2003, 02:48

I must to write this, because that text is not correct and it will be unfair if I do not comment it. The part of this text (½- It's still a good car for smaller families and people who loves Italian cars from the seventies.½) is incorrect because it is not a Italian car. Zastava 101 is a Yugoslavian car, manufactured in Serbia.

M, Croatia.

27th Dec 2006, 18:18

People who drive our homeland piece of junk should kill themselves before Yugo does it.

30th Dec 2006, 20:38

Hmmmmmm, very strange logic. Perhaps you should set the precedent.

30th Jan 2007, 03:23

Oooooh sounds like daggers there. All over muck cars!

29th Mar 2007, 16:08

Yugo is the type of car from witch everyone can gain benefit. With our dear Yugo welders, automehanics and car electricians can never stay out of work and happy owners can never have peace of mind. Welldone Zastava welldone Italians.

2nd Oct 2007, 10:59

Zastava 101 is often overrated in exYu countries, as everything else that was produced in exYu. Though, some cars deserve the fame as being "good", the zastava does not, although it was most encountered car on exYu roads. In 70s it was a entry level vehicle built on a fiat platform. Today, it is a nostalgic oldtimer.

5th Jan 2008, 22:14

Well, my dad was born in Yugoslavia, and now since the war has obviously broke it apart, it's called bosnia. And I am 9 years old and I love cars, but I don't get why some of you say that these cars were built in like the 70s and the 80s. I think that these machines were grateful back then.

1985 Yugo 101 GTL Coupe 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10

Faults:

Everything but the engine including seats, window lifting, the gear shift left in my hand once.

General Comments:

After five years the car was total wreck but the engine starts first time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

21st Dec 2000, 18:00

I am from Yugoslavia and when I lived there before we moved to New Zealand we owned a Yugo 101 and it went fine!

It went perfectly fine and I give the car 8 out of 10.

Zastava/Yugo make good cars.

7th Aug 2001, 09:30

I still drive Z101 confort from 1979. The car is in perfect condition, with 90% original parts, and original engine and gearbox. Engine compression is still 9.5:1 after 172.096 km, and all mechanical things are O.K! I'm very satisfied with gearbox and sound of the engine.

I also drive an OPEL KADETT from 1991, and this car is very problematic. After seven years I must buy a new engine, and 50% of the other mechanical things. Plastic in the Zastava is not very good, but in the KADETT it's terrible!

Zastava's engine and sporty feeling make this car better than Opel, which is a car for old people!

Krojf, Bremen.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 6 reviews