1986 Yugo GV Reviews

1986 Yugo GV X 1.1 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Chevette

Summary:

The right car for the right situation, just not a "do-everything for everyone" kind of ride

Faults:

Muffler mount broke.

Pinhole leak in gas pump seal.

General Comments:

My Yugo GVX was a great urban car. It could park anywhere, handled nimbly, and was just right for keeping up with city street traffic. The few times I had to go off-pavement were no sweat either as it had enough ground clearance to jump curbs and ignore most small obstacles.

It was just not designed for US highways as it was a tad too light to make being passed by 18-wheelers comfortable and it's top speed of about 80 (at least that's what mine was) meant that the engine sounded like it was being thrashed by evil engine demons at "normal" (65+MPH) highway speeds.

The interior was really bargain basement in finish, but I didn't expect luxury appointments for what I paid. It was reasonably comfy in the front seats and typical for its size class in the back. Headroom was good for 6-footers and below. Instruments were spartan, but at least there was a temperature gauge and not a "Hey, your engine's melting" idiot light.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2006

1986 Yugo GV from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

It was the best buy I ever made for $4000

Faults:

I couldn't keep the after-market air conditioner running and finally left it un-repaired. The water pump had to be replaced at about 50000 miles.

General Comments:

I enjoyed driving my Yugo. It handled well and was very dependable. If Hurricane Andrew hadn't blown my carport down on it I'd probably still be driving my Yugo. Its gas mileage (about 40 mpg) was great for me because I was an outside sales rep. I never had trouble finding a parking place when making sales calls because it was so small it would fit almost anywhere. The cargo space was excellent for such a small car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

1986 Yugo GV from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

Can't kill this one

Faults:

Front end needed replacement.

Need to replace the switches for the heater and defrost.

Leaks oil a little bit.

Gas gauge doesn't work and the speedometer broke.

Clutch cable broke also.

General Comments:

This Yugo is a real great running car. For all the miles it has on it, it starts right up every time. I get such great gas mileage, almost 45 to 50 mpg.

It is a little cramped with more than one passanger, but I am keeping it forever. I believe it will last that long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

20th Jan 2006, 19:37

For the guy who thinks that a Yugo should be in the salvage yard. Or thinks that they are easy to find parts for, or that they are cheap to maintain. We all have choices in this life. If we choose to own a Yugo, then it's our choice. I own an 88 Yugo GV. My mother bought it new. It's been reliable, dependable, and easy to maintain. As fuel prices continue to soar, the Yugo will become more and more attractive.

I also own a new Mustang GT. I enjoy driving them both, because both are fun cars. Laugh if you will, but my Yugo has 200,000 miles on it and runs as well as the day it left the showroom floor. Oh, did you forget that Yugo is a Fiat design? And Fiat makes a well built automobile.

Also for your information, Yugo will begin importing their new models in the next couple of years. Zastava only imported the cheap model to get into the american market. There are nicer models coming, so get ready.

30th Jan 2006, 16:03

I was excited about Yugo returning too, but its not happening. Malcom Bricklin broke off negotiations with Zastava and closed down his NUCARCO company that was to have imported new Yugos. The reason given is that he is now devoting his full time and resources to Visionary Vehicles Inc., his new company that plans to import cars from the Chinese automaker Chery.

As for the 1986 Yugo, I find it really hard to believe that anyone is getting 40-45 mpg out of one of those cars. When new, they were rated about the same as the old 1970's VW Beetles, or about 26mpg on the highway. Decent, but not that great for such a small car.

19th May 2006, 14:34

Just a comment on fuel economy, check the EPA web site and see what they are rated at. Compared to car of about the same size, the fuel economy of the Yugo is horrible.

That said, I am looking for a Yugo to help start my ugly car collection along with an AMC Pacer, Pontiac Aztek, Ford Pinto and any other misfits of automotive styling. If anybody has any of these cars in near mint shape that you want to give me, let me know. If the body, interior and engines are in perfect shape, I might even pay $10 for one.

1986 Yugo GV 1.1 SOHC carb from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 SOHC carb Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance275000 miles
Previous carRenault Alliance

Summary:

Really a great car! Indestructible and cute!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car. This car is fifteen years old, and has required normal maintenance. I've replaced some parts under ordinary wear and tear, (alternator one time, starter one time, brake caliper one time) and I make sure that all the maintenance is up to date.

In light of 275,000 miles, at 40 mpg, I consider the cost of the replacement parts free.

General Comments:

I love my Yugo!! I was skeptical, I'll admit. This car won me over and I'll NEVER part with it. I can't say enough good things about it, and I wish Yugos were still available here. I'd buy a new one today!

It goes everywhere, parts are cheap and widely available, especially on-line, but also at the corner parts store. My high scores of 10 relate to other cars of its size. I paid $50 for it from a guy who believed the negative publicity and was eager to part with it. He bought a new Ford Escort instead - it had a way better reputation, and died five years ago - cooling pipe rupture! It is a little loud inside the car on the freeway, though - just turn up the excellent factory Yugo stereo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2001

27th Mar 2001, 04:02

The YUGO is a great car! I have owned two, in Yugoslavia, a 1992 Yugo Koral 55 (in the USA that would be something in between a GV and a GVX). And then I owned a 1996 Yugo Tempo 1.1i (same as the Koral 55, but under a different name and EFI motor). Both cars were great, and I would love to import one to Australia, as that's where I live now!

Thanks!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews